Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP Silverstone MotoGP History - A look Back

Silverstone MotoGP History – A look Back

Silverstone MotoGP History - A look BackSilverstone MotoGP History

Following a 23-year hiatus, Grand Prix racing returned to the UK’s Silverstone circuit in 2010.

And this weekend, the 2014 MotoGP Championship heads to Silverstone for the fifth-straight year, the circuit hosting round 12 of 18 Sunday.

The first GP was held at Silverstone in 1977, and much history occurred at the circuit.

Following are some historic stats ahead of Silverstone MotoGP (courtesy of Dorna):

  •  The Silverstone event in 1977 was the first motorcycle Grand Prix to be held on the British mainland, as prior to 1977 the British round of the World Championship had been held since 1949 on the 37.73 mile-long Isle of Man TT circuit. The move from the Isle of Man was made mainly for reasons of rider safety
  • The winners at that first Grand Prix at Silverstone in 1977 were: 500cc – Pat Hennen (Suzuki), 350cc & 250cc – Kork Ballington (Yamaha), 125cc – Pierluigi Conforti (Morbidelli)
  • The original circuit layout used for the Grand Prix between 1977 and 1986 was 2.93 miles-long (4.71 km) and the fastest lap at the circuit during this time was set by Kenny Roberts riding a Yamaha in 1983 at an average speed of 119.5 mph (192.2 km/h)
  • The British Grand Prix was held for ten successive years at the Silverstone circuit, before the event moved to Donington Park in 1987.
  • The British GP returned to Silverstone in 2010 with a revised circuit layout measuring 5.9 km
  • Kork Ballington and Angel Nieto are the two riders with most GP victories at Silverstone, each having won there on six occasions
  • The only rider who has had more than a single victory at Silverstone since GP racing returned to the circuit in 2010 is Jorge Lorenzo, who has won the MotoGP race there three times: 2010, 2012 and 2013
  • The only British rider to have started from pole at Silverstone, across all solo GP classes, is Barry Sheene – in the 500cc race in 1977

In total 12 British riders have finished on the podium across all the solo classes of Grand Prix racing at Silverstone:

  • John Williams (1977/350cc/3rd)
  • Barry Sheene (1978/500cc/3rd, 1979/500cc/2nd)
  • Tom Herron (1978/250cc/2nd, 1978/350cc/2nd)
  • Steve Manship (1978/500cc/2nd)
  • Mick Grant (1978/350cc/3rd)
  • Clive Horton (1978/125cc/2nd)
  • Keith Huewen (1981/350cc/2nd)
  • Andy Watts (1984/250cc/2nd)
  • Ron Haslam (1984/500cc/3rd)
  • Ian McConnachie (1986/80cc/1st)
  • Bradley Smith (2010/125cc/3rd, 2011/Moto2/2nd)
  • Scott Redding (2012/Moto2/2nd, 2013/Moto2/1st)


Harley-Davidson Sportster Lineup Cut For 2020

While the Iron 883, Iron 1200, Forty-Eight, and Roadster will be 2020 Harley-Davidson Sportsters, the Forty-Eight Special, Superlow, and Custom are gone.

2019 British GP Preview: No Clear Favorite at Silverstone MotoGP

Honda's Marquez has a comfortable 58-point lead over Ducati's Dovizioso, but there is no clear favorite at Silverstone due to winners there over 5 years.

2020 Harley-Davidson Heritage Classic Restyling Revealed (First Look)

2020 Harley-Davidson Heritage Classic Gets A Makeover Although black has been the go-to color for designers in recent years, the 2020 Harley-Davidson Heritage Classic is...

2020 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Limited First Look (5 Fast Facts)

2020 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Limited First Look: The Motor Company has an impressive new replacement for the Road Glide Ultra touring motorcycle.

2020 Harley-Davidson CVO Lineup First Look (13 Fast Facts)

The 2020 Harley-Davidson CVO lineup consists of the new CVO Tri-Glide, along with updated editions of the CVO Limited tourer and CVO Street Glide bagger.

2020 Harley-Davidson Low Rider S First Look (9 Fast Facts)

Harley-Davidson Low Rider S Returns Following a two-year hiatus, the Harley-Davidson Low Rider S returns to the MoCo's lineup. The 2020 model has more power and...