Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT Suzuki’s Guy Martin Earns Dundrod 150 Superbike Race Win

Suzuki’s Guy Martin Earns Dundrod 150 Superbike Race Win

Suzuki’s Guy Martin Earns Dundrod 150 Superbike Race Win2014 Dundrod 150 Superbike Results

Ahead of the Ulster Grand Prix, the traditional Dundrod 150 took place Thursday with the Superbike race highlighting the evening.

And taking the win at the world’s fastest road-racing circuit was TAS Tyco Suzuki’s Guy Martin. The Lincolnshire rider was able to overtake Padgett Honda’s Bruce Anstey – who holds the outright lap record at the Isle of Man TT.

Martin eventually finished the Dundrod 150 Superbike race 0.244 seconds ahead of Anstey. Taking the final podium position in the race that preps the riders for Saturday’s Ulster Grand Prix was Hawk Racing BMW’s Michael Dunlop, an 11-time TT winner.

Martin first took the pole, and his pace quickened as the five-lap race on the 7.4-mile circuit progressed. On the final lap, the Suzuki GSX-R1000 pilot posted a 133.313mph – a new fastest lap of the race.

On Saturday, Martin starts the Ulster Grand Prix Superbike race from second behind Anstey. In the Superstock race, Martin starts third behind pole-sitter Michael Dunlop.

Suzuki’s Guy Martin Earns Dundrod 150 Superbike Race Win“The TAS boys keep giving me a great Tyco Suzuki to ride and I’m just doing my job boy, just doing my job. But yeah, it’s a good start to the week, although we’ve got a bigger job to do on Saturday. Bruce Anstey is riding really well and I think by today’s result, it’s just going to be him and me on Saturday, but you never know what Michael Dunlop can turn up,” Martin says.

“The longer races will suit me and I’ve just got to keep the pressure on, but there’s no safer man to ride with than Bruce.

“On the 600 I think I just need to ‘man up’ a bit, as you really need to wring the neck off the smaller bikes around Dundrod. I want a result on the GSX-R600, but it’s the big class that takes priority with me here this weekend.”

2014 Dundrod 150 Superbike Results [5 laps; Length 7.4011 miles per lap]:
1. Guy Martin [Tyco Suzuki]
2. Bruce Anstey [Honda] +0.242sec
3. Michael Dunlop [BMW] +2.459sec
4. Dean Harrison [Kawasaki] +4.786sec
5. Lee Johnston [Honda] +4.904sec
6. William Dunlop [Tyco Suzuki] +5.605sec.

Fastest Lap: Guy Martin [Tyco Suzuki] 3mins: 19.860sec/ 133.313mph on lap 5

Arai Regent-X Motorcycle Helmet First Look: Evolutionary Design

Arai Regent-X First Look The new Arai Regent-X helmet is designed with creature comforts in mind, while still delivering the protection that motorcycle riders expect...

2020 Ducati Monster 1200 S ‘Black on Black’ Unveiled for +$400

For the first time since the Monster 1200 was released for 2014, Ducati is releasing a blacked-out version for the premium S model.

2019 San Marino MotoGP Results from Misano (Updated)

2019 San Marino MotoGP Results from Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli Though he only led a single lap of 27 during the San Marino Grand...

Valentino Rossi 2019 Misano Helmet Revealed (22 Photos)

Rossi Shows off Drudi-designed AGV Pista GP R at San Marino GP It’s time for the Octo San Marino and Riviera di Rimini Grand Prix,...

2020 Harley-Davidson Low Rider S Review (11 Fast Facts)

2020 Harley-Davidson Low Rider S Review Not seen since the demise of the Dyna line, the Harley-Davidson Low Rider S returns as a Softail with...

2020 Indian Thunder Stroke 116 Lineup First Look (9 Fast Facts)

2020 Indian Thunder Stroke 116 Lineup Revealed The much-rumored Indian Thunder Stroke 116 is here. It will be powering seven 2020 Indian models in the...