2014 Indy Moto2 Results

2014 Indy Moto2 Results
Marc VDS Racing's Mika Kallio
2014 Indy Moto2 Results
Marc VDS Racing’s Mika Kallio

2014 Indy Moto2 Results

Going into this weekend’s Red Bull Moto2 series event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Esteve Rabat (SP) (Marc VDS Racing Team) had a 19-point lead over second place holder Mika Kallio (FIN) (Marc VDS Racing Team) and a 50 point lead over third place Maverick Vinales (SP) (Paginas Amarillas HP 40).

Rabat’s lead over both riders was sliced by the outcome of a crash-marred contest that had to be red-flagged, re-started and shortened to 16 laps.

Kallio had a lead of over two seconds after the initial start when a crash at turn 10 on lap four involving Azlan Shah (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia), Anthony West (QMMF Racing Team), Mattia Pasini (NGM Forward Racing) and Randy Krummenacher (IodaRacing Project) caused the red flag to come out.

Pasini reportedly had initially lost consciousness, but recovered and was able to walk away from the crash scene and was taken to the hospital for further evaluation. Krummenacher’s machine was too heavily damaged for him to be able to rejoin the race on the restart.

With the riders reset in their original starting grid positions, Kallio again grabbed the lead, and another crash occurred in turn one on the first lap of the restarted race.

The incident involved Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2), the sole American in Moto2, Josh Herrin (AirAsia Caterham Moto Racing), and Julian Simon (Italtrans Racing Team).

They were all uninjured, but the crash ultimately also included Jonas Folger (AGR Team), Xavier Simeon (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) and Luis Salom (Paginas Amarillas HP 40).

Simeon crashed again four laps further on, this time ending his race and on lap six, Salom and Franco Morbidelli (Italtrans Racing Team) were involved in yet another crash, finishing Morbidelli’s day, but Salom was able to rejoin the race and finished 26th. Thitipong Warokorn (APH PTT The Pizza SAG) crashed in the final stages but remounted to finish 27th.

2014 Indy Moto2 Results
2014 Indy Moto2 podium

Rabat was running in second place with only two laps to go, but made a mistake trying to fight off third place Viñales and dropped back to fourth.

Simone Corsi (NGM Forward Racing) and Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) both finished in the top six. Meanwhile, Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline Malaysia), Alex De Angelis (Tasca Racing Moto2), West and Johann Zarco (AirAsia Caterham Moto Racing) completed the top 10.

Kallio finished atop the podium with a 1.38 sec. lead over Viñales with Technomag carXpert rider Dominique Aegerter third.

The victory brings Kallio to within seven points of Rabat in the Moto2 World Championship series.

The series now heads directly to Brno for the Czech Republic, round 11 of 2014 Moto2.

2014 Indy Moto2 Results:

12536Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex153.226’07.410
22040Maverick VIÑALESSPAPaginas Amarillas HP 40Kalex153.1+1.380
31677Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter153.0+1.696
41353Esteve RABATSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex152.9+2.559
5113Simone CORSIITANGM Forward RacingKalex152.5+6.648
61011Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex151.4+18.639
7955Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas Raceline MalaysiaKalex151.4+18.674
8815Alex DE ANGELISRSMTasca Racing Moto2Suter151.4+18.992
9795Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up151.3+19.487
1065Johann ZARCOFRAAirAsia CaterhamCaterham Suter151.3+19.922
11530Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex151.3+20.013
12481Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter151.2+20.963
13396Louis ROSSIFRASAG TeamKalex151.0+22.672
14223Marcel SCHROTTERGERTech 3Tech 3150.9+23.836
15188Ricard CARDUSSPATech 3Tech 3150.8+25.325
1649Axel PONSSPAAGR TeamKalex150.7+25.514
177Lorenzo BALDASSARRIITAGresini Moto2Suter150.4+28.980
1894Jonas FOLGERGERAGR TeamKalex150.0+32.962
1997Roman RAMOSSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up149.7+36.564
2025Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex149.7+36.907
2118Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter149.5+38.624
2270Robin MULHAUSERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter149.4+39.669
2345Tetsuta NAGASHIMAJPNTeluru Team JiR WebikeTSR149.4+39.723
2422Sam LOWESGBRSpeed UpSpeed Up149.0+44.499
258Gino REAGBRAGT REA RacingSuter146.8+1’07.790
2639Luis SALOMSPAPaginas Amarillas HP 40Kalex145.0+1’29.010
2710Thitipong WAROKORNTHAAPH PTT The Pizza SAGKalex144.5+1’34.244
282Josh HERRINUSAAirAsia CaterhamCaterham Suter119.63 Laps
Not Classified
21Franco MORBIDELLIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex149.512 Laps
19Xavier SIMEONBELFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter148.513 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter0 Lap
60Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex0 Lap
Not Starting
54Mattia PASINIITANGM Forward RacingKalex0 Lap
4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIOcto IodaRacing TeamSuter0 Lap

2014 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

1Esteve RABATKalexSPA183
2Mika KALLIOKalexFIN176
3Maverick VIÑALESKalexSPA140
4Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI112
5Simone CORSIKalexITA96
6Thomas LUTHISuterSWI68
7Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS65
8Luis SALOMKalexSPA62
9Johann ZARCOCaterham SuterFRA52
10Jonas FOLGERKalexGER47
11Sandro CORTESEKalexGER42
12Marcel SCHROTTERTech 3GER38
13Xavier SIMEONSuterBEL37
15Sam LOWESSpeed UpGBR33
16Ricard CARDUSTech 3SPA28
17Jordi TORRESSuterSPA27
19Mattia PASINIKalexITA22
21Hafizh SYAHRINKalexMAL18
22Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN16
23Julian SIMONKalexSPA15
24Louis ROSSIKalexFRA13
26Axel PONSKalexSPA10
27Gino REASuterGBR5
28Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA2