2014 Indy Moto2 Preview | Rabat Leads Title Battle

2014 Indy Moto2 Preview | Rabat Leads Title Battle
Marc VDS Racing's Tito Rabat
2014 Indy Moto2 Preview | Rabat Leads Title Battle
Marc VDS Racing’s Tito Rabat

2014 Indy Moto2 Preview

As the Moto2 season enters the second half of 2014, Marc VDS Racing’s Tito Rabat leads the points battle. But unlike Marc Marquez in the MotoGP class, Rabat is not a runaway leader.

A few riders who won during the year are presenting many challenges to Rabat as he chases his first Moto2 title. Five different riders won during the opening nine rounds – Rabat (Qatar, Argentina, Mugello and Catalunya), teammate Mika Kallio (Jerez and Le Mans) and one each for Paginas Amarillas HP 40’s Maverick Viñales (Circuit of the Americas), Speed Up’s Anthony West (Assen) and Technomag carXpert’s Dominique Aegerter (Sachsenring).

Rabat currently has a 19-point lead over Kallio, but the Spaniard has one up on the Finnish rider – Rabat won at Indy last season.

This year’s Indianapolis Motor Speedway will present further challenges to the riders due to track being revised. Indy, which has been on the intermediate-class calendar since 2009 (not 2008 due to Hurricane Ike), received a new reconfiguration at turns 3, 4, 7, 15, and 16, which are now “more uniform” and smoother.

The 16-turn circuit is now 2.591 miles compared to 2.621 in the previous races, and offers harder braking zones and more passing opportunities.

Vinales and Aegerter, who trail Rabat by 50 and 74 points, respectively, will be looking for wins at Indy, along with the man in fifth overall – NGM Forward Racing’s Simone Corsi.

Aiming to outperform his Paginas Amarillas HP 40 colleague and fellow rookie Viñales at IMS is Luis Salom, who will celebrate his 23rd birthday on the Thursday.

2014 Indy Moto2 TV Schedule

Fox Sports 1 will provide live broadcast coverage of Indy Moto2 beginning at 1 p.m. ET Sunday, Aug. 10.

2014 Moto2 Point Standings (after nine of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 170
2 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 151
3 Maverick VIÑALES Kalex SPA 120
4 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 96
5 Simone CORSI Kalex ITA 85
6 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 68
7 Luis SALOM Kalex SPA 62
8 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 58
9 Jonas FOLGER Kalex GER 47
10 Johann ZARCO Caterham Suter FRA 46
11 Xavier SIMEON Suter BEL 37
12 Marcel SCHROTTER Tech 3 GER 36
13 Sam LOWES Speed Up GBR 33
14 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 32
15 Alex DE ANGELIS Suter RSM 29
16 Ricard CARDUS Tech 3 SPA 27
17 Franco MORBIDELLI Kalex ITA 25
18 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 23
19 Mattia PASINI Kalex ITA 22
20 Randy KRUMMENACHER Suter SWI 19
21 Julian SIMON Kalex SPA 15
22 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Suter ITA 12
23 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 11
24 Axel PONS Kalex SPA 10
25 Louis ROSSI Kalex FRA 10
26 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex MAL 9
27 Gino REA Suter GBR 5
28 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 2