2014 Jerez Moto3 Results | Fenati Seizes Second Victory

2014 Jerez Moto3 Results | Fenati Seizes Second Victory
SKY Racing Team VR46's Romano Fenati

2014 Jerez Moto3 Results

Romano Fenati made his mark in the 2014 Moto3 World Championship with his second straight win after his debut win one week ago in Argentina.

The rider for Valentino Rossi’s SKY Racing Team VR46 started from tenth on the grid—the same starting position he won from last year’s Moto3 race in Jerez—to push his way through the ranks and fend off a last corner attempt from Estrella Galicia 0,0 rider Alex Rins.

Efren Vazquez followed the Italian across the line by less than 2 tenths of a second for his best ever GP finish, with Rins trailing by mere 0.003 of a second behind Vazquez.

The race started out with another flawless launch by Red Bull KTM Ajo rider Jack Miller, who Saturday qualified on pole for the third consecutive race.

The Australian only managed to lead for the first lap, with a head group of no fewer than 11 riders challenging for the lead. Miller finally crossed the line fourth, with Isaac Viñales completing the top five after recovering from a tank slapper that nearly dismounted the Spaniard halfway through the race.

A total of seven rider did not complete the race, with Eric Granado of Calvo Team crashing out on the first lap, Niccolo Antonelli of Junior Team GO&FUN, who rejoined only to retire before the finish, Widcard rider Gabriel Rodrigoof fell mid-race, while Scott Deroue of RW Racing GP and Marc VDS Racing Team rider Livio Loi both crashed out late in the race.

Brad Binder of Ambrogio Racing and Arthur Sissis of Mahindra Racing both retired into the pits with technical problems.

2014 Jerez Moto3 Results:

1255Romano FENATIITASKY Racing Team VR46KTM147.141’28.584
2207Efren VAZQUEZSPASaxoPrint-RTGHonda147.1+0.144
31642Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Honda147.1+0.147
4138Jack MILLERAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM147.0+1.224
51132Isaac VIÑALESSPACalvo TeamKTM147.0+1.244
61084Jakub KORNFEILCZECalvo TeamKTM147.0+1.857
7912Alex MARQUEZSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Honda146.9+3.808
8821Francesco BAGNAIAITASKY Racing Team VR46KTM146.7+6.631
9733Enea BASTIANINIITAJunior Team GO&FUN Moto3KTM146.4+11.944
10631Niklas AJOFINAvant Tecno Husqvarna AjoHusqvarna146.4+12.204
11552Danny KENTGBRRed Bull Husqvarna AjoHusqvarna146.4+12.685
12410Alexis MASBOUFRAOngetta-RivacoldHonda146.4+12.839
13317John MCPHEEGBRSaxoPrint-RTGHonda146.4+12.870
14244Miguel OLIVEIRAPORMahindra RacingMahindra146.2+14.793
15165Philipp OETTLGERInterwetten Paddock Moto3Kalex KTM146.2+14.907
1658Juanfran GUEVARASPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM146.2+15.586
176Maria HERRERASPAJunior Team Estrella Galicia 0,0Honda146.2+15.753
1819Alessandro TONUCCIITACIPMahindra145.8+23.121
1998Karel HANIKACZERed Bull KTM AjoKTM145.7+23.741
2063Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALOngetta-AirAsiaHonda145.3+31.160
2124Marcos RAMIREZSPACalvo Team LaglisseKTM145.3+31.437
2251Bryan SCHOUTENNEDCIPMahindra145.0+36.861
2322Ana CARRASCOSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM144.4+47.525
2438Hafiq AZMIMALSIC-AJOKTM144.3+47.813
253Matteo FERRARIITASan Carlo Team ItaliaMahindra144.3+48.115
2643Luca GRÜNWALDGERKiefer RacingKalex KTM144.3+48.141
2795Jules DANILOFRAAmbrogio RacingMahindra144.3+48.693
284Gabriel RAMOSVENKiefer RacingKalex KTM142.4+1’22.490
Not Classified
11Livio LOIBELMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex KTM146.07 Laps
41Brad BINDERRSAAmbrogio RacingMahindra145.48 Laps
9Scott DEROUENEDRW Racing GPKalex KTM144.99 Laps
91Gabriel RODRIGOARGRBA Racing TeamKTM144.816 Laps
23Niccolò ANTONELLIITAJunior Team GO&FUN Moto3KTM143.021 Laps
61Arthur SISSISAUSMahindra RacingMahindra135.021 Laps
57Eric GRANADOBRACalvo TeamKTM0 Lap

2014 Moto3 Championship Point Standings:

3Efren VAZQUEZHondaSPA62
4Alex RINSHondaSPA51
8Alexis MASBOUHondaFRA28
10Danny KENTHusqvarnaGBR23
11Livio LOIKalex KTMBEL17
12Miguel OLIVEIRAMahindraPOR16
13Niklas AJOHusqvarnaFIN16
15John MCPHEEHondaGBR15
16Juanfran GUEVARAKalex KTMSPA9
19Alessandro TONUCCIMahindraITA3
20Brad BINDERMahindraRSA3
21Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINHondaMAL1
22Philipp OETTLKalex KTMGER1