2014 Jerez Moto2 Results | Kallio Takes Authoritative Victory

2014 Jerez Moto2 Results | Kallio Takes Authoritative Victory
Start of Jerez Moto2 Race

2014 Jerez Moto2 Results

Marc VDS rider Mika Kallio rode to an authoritative victory in the Jerez Moto2 race, starting from pole and crossing the finish 2.434 seconds ahead of second place finisher Dominique Aegerter of the Technomag carXpert team.

The Finnish rider left no opportunity for rivals to even show a wheel as he lead the 26-lap race from the first corner to the checkered flag. Aegerter took up second position early on in the race and hung on until the finish, marking a career best finish for the Swiss rider.

Meanwhile, a much more intense battle ensued behind the two front runners between AGR Team rider Jonas Folger and Kallio’s teammate, Tito Rabat. Rookie Folger benefitted from a poor start from Rabat, establishing himself in third position in the first corner while Championship leader and last year’s race winner in Jerez Rabat fought his way back from eighth to tail the GermanMoto2  rider.

Pons HP 40 teammates and former Moto3 rivals Maverick Viñales and Luis Salom were locked in a battle for fifth position, with Viñales triumphing over Salom in the final laps.

Behind the two Spanish teammates, Federal Oil Gresini rider Xavier Simeon crossed the line in seventh ahead of Frenchman Johann Zarco, who gained his first championship points this season after a frustrating start of the season for the AirAsia Caterham rider.

The overall standings in the Championship still sees Rabat in the lead, 16 points ahead of Mika Kallio, followed by Maverick Viñales and Dominique Aegerter tied for third with 49 points each.

2014 Jerez Moto2 Results:

12536Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex153.544’56.004
22077Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter153.4+2.434
31694Jonas FOLGERGERAGR TeamKalex153.3+3.668
41353Esteve RABATSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex153.2+5.431
51140Maverick VIÑALESSPAPons HP 40Kalex153.0+9.786
61039Luis SALOMSPAPons HP 40Kalex152.9+11.356
7919Xavier SIMEONBELFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter152.5+18.112
885Johann ZARCOFRAAirAsia CaterhamCaterham Suter152.3+21.508
9711Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex152.3+21.608
10612Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter152.2+22.811
11595Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up151.1+43.284
12481Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter151.1+43.405
13388Ricard CARDUSSPATech 3Tech 3151.0+43.906
14260Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex151.0+44.100
1514Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIIodaRacing ProjectSuter151.0+44.434
1649Axel PONSSPAAGR TeamKalex151.0+44.708
1715Alex DE ANGELISRSMTasca Racing Moto2Suter151.0+45.004
1854Mattia PASINIITANGM Forward RacingForward KLX150.9+45.987
1914Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAAirAsia CaterhamCaterham Suter150.9+47.440
2021Franco MORBIDELLIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex150.3+57.176
2155Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas Raceline MalaysiaKalex150.0+1’02.628
2245Tetsuta NAGASHIMAJPNTeluru Team JiR WebikeTSR150.0+1’03.716
2397Roman RAMOSSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up149.9+1’04.330
2425Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex149.9+1’05.423
2557Edgar PONSSPAPons HP 40Kalex149.9+1’05.657
268Gino REAGBRAGT REA RacingSuter149.8+1’06.666
2770Robin MULHAUSERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter149.4+1’13.620
2810Thitipong WAROKORNTHAAPH PTT The Pizza SAGKalex149.1+1’19.045
Not Classified
30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex152.21 Lap
3Simone CORSIITANGM Forward RacingForward KLX150.92 Laps
22Sam LOWESGBRSpeed UpSpeed Up150.18 Laps
23Marcel SCHROTTERGERTech 3Tech 3151.015 Laps
96Louis ROSSIFRASAG TeamKalex149.618 Laps
7Lorenzo BALDASSARRIITAGresini Moto2Suter149.321 Laps

2014 Moto2 Championship Standings:

1Esteve RABATKalexSPA83
2Mika KALLIOKalexFIN67
3Maverick VIÑALESKalexSPA49
4Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI49
5Simone CORSIForward KLXITA33
6Thomas LUTHISuterSWI32
7Xavier SIMEONSuterBEL29
8Luis SALOMKalexSPA28
9Sandro CORTESEKalexGER25
10Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS25
11Jonas FOLGERKalexGER21
12Sam LOWESSpeed UpGBR18
14Jordi TORRESSuterSPA18
15Ricard CARDUSTech 3SPA13
16Marcel SCHROTTERTech 3GER12
17Johann ZARCOCaterham SuterFRA8
19Louis ROSSIKalexFRA6
20Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN6
21Mattia PASINIForward KLXITA4
23Julian SIMONKalexSPA2
24Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA2
25Hafizh SYAHRINKalexMAL2