2014 Jerez MotoGP Qualifying Results | Marquez Earns Pole on Record Pace

2014 Jerez MotoGP Qualifying Results | Marquez Earns Pole on Record Pace
Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez

2014 Jerez MotoGP Qualifying Results

Marc Marquez has done it again. The reigning MotoGP Champion has earned his fourth pole of 2014 MotoGP in as many races, the latest arriving Saturday at a sunny Jerez circuit in his home country of Spain.

The Respol Honda RC213V pilot completed the task at a record pace, also; Marquez posted a 1:38.120 to set a new circuit record at Jerez, beating Jorge Lorenzo’s record set in 2008. Joining the 21-year old on the front row will be Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Lorenzo and the other factory Repsol Honda pilot, Dani Pedrsoa.

It’s worth noting that these riders finished on the podium at Argentina’s Termas de Rio Hondo last weekend. Marquez won, and was joined on the Argentina MotoGP podium by Pedrosa and Lorenzo, respectively.

Marquez – who starts his 100th GP this weekend – once again took a different approach regarding the spec Bridgestone tires. Instead of using just two soft fronts during qualifying, Marquez pitted a third time to utilize another soft-front tire. Though he spent additional time in the pits, he was able to put in the blistering lap at Jerez, finishing 0.421 of a second ahead of Lorenzo, and 0.510 of a second ahead of Pedrsoa.

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda RC213V MotoGP) says “I am very happy with this pole position, as it was hard fought and I wasn’t expecting it. We are suffering a little more here than at other tracks, but despite this we are still at the same level as Lorenzo and Dani [Pedrosa].

“We changed our strategy at the last minute; I asked Santi [Hernandez] if it would be possible to use three soft tires, and he said that it was. It was all last minute and I am satisfied with how it worked out, but we know that tomorrow is the important day. Jorge and, above all, Dani have a great pace.”

Heading up the second row is the most successful rider with six wins at Jerez – Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Valentino Rossi. The nine-time World Champion was 0.737 of a second off the pace.

Joining Rossi on the second row will be NGM Forward Racing’s Aleix Espargaro, who suffered a late crash at the end of Qualifying 2. Espargaro – the fastest Open-class rider so far in 2014 MotoGP – was the final rider to post within a second of Marquez; Espargaro finished 0.887 of a second off the top pace.

Taking the final position on the second row was Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso, who finished 1.102 of a second back.

Qualifying on the third row were LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl and the Monster Tech 3 Duo of Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith, respectively.

On row four will be GO&FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista, and the two Americans in 2014 MotoGP – NGM Forward Racing’s Colin Edwards and Drive M7 Aspar Honda’s Nicky Hayden.

As for Ducati Team’s Cal Crutchlow – who is recovering from a finger injury sustained at Circuit of the Americas – and Pramac Racing Ducati’s Andrea Iannone, both riders didn’t progress to Q2. Crutchlow qualified 14th, and Iannone 15th.

2014 Jerez MotoGP on TV

Fox Sports 1 will provide live coverage of 2014 Jerez MotoGP beginning at 7 a.m. ET Sunday, May 4.

2014 Jerez MotoGP Qualifying Results:

1 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 292.1 1’38.120
2 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 287.5 1’38.541 0.421 / 0.421
3 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 292.7 1’38.630 0.510 / 0.089
4 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 289.4 1’38.857 0.737 / 0.227
5 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 284.8 1’39.007 0.887 / 0.150
6 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 291.0 1’39.222 1.102 / 0.215
7 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 291.1 1’39.243 1.123 / 0.021
8 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 289.2 1’39.293 1.173 / 0.050
9 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 290.6 1’39.390 1.270 / 0.097
10 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 291.8 1’39.751 1.631 / 0.361
11 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 286.3 1’39.814 1.694 / 0.063
12 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Drive M7 Aspar Honda 280.0 1’39.826 1.706 / 0.012
13 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Drive M7 Aspar Honda 285.4 1’39.768
14 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Ducati Team Ducati 291.1 1’39.849
15 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 288.3 1’40.118
16 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Honda 281.6 1’40.126
17 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 288.0 1’40.239
18 45 Scott REDDING GBR GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 279.5 1’40.453
19 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 288.2 1’40.566
20 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA IodaRacing Project ART 274.7 1’41.009
21 70 Michael LAVERTY GBR Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 276.7 1’41.124
22 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Avintia Racing Avintia 278.3 1’41.517
23 23 Broc PARKES AUS Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 272.7 1’41.702
24 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Avintia Racing Avintia 282.3 1’42.052


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.