2014 Assen Superbike Superpole Results | Kawasaki’s Baz Earns 1st Pole

2014 Assen Superbike Superpole Results | Kawasaki’s Baz Earns 1st Pole
Kawasaki's Loris Baz en route to his first-ever Superpole
2014 Assen Superbike Superpole Results | Kawasaki’s Baz Earns 1st Pole
Kawasaki’s Loris Baz en route to his first-ever Superpole

2014 Assen TT World Superbike Qualifying Results

Two weeks ago at Motorland Aragon, Kawasaki Racing Team’s Tom Sykes and Loris Baz accomplished 1-2 results in both races – a feat not completed since 1993 (Scott Russell and Aaron Slight on Kawasaki Muzzy Team ZXR750s).

Though favorites heading into “The Cathedral” – the Netherland’s Assen TT Circuit – the ZX-10R Ninja duo were unable to match Friday’s FP2 leader, Ducati Superbike Team’s Davide Giugliano.

And when the third free practice session wrapped up Saturday, Giugliano once again placed the Ducati 1199 Panigale R on top of the time sheets.

But the ZX-10R returned to the top in free practice four, with Sykes topping Giugliano by 0.202 of a second. And the Ninja’s pace continued into Superpole. But it wasn’t Sykes who would claim another Superpole in 2014 World Superbike; it was his teammate, the Frenchman Baz.

This was Baz’s first Superpole win of his World SBK career, and he will begin both 21-lap races at the 2.28-mile Assen TT circuit containing 17 corners. Joining Baz on the front row will be his fellow countryman, Aprilia Racing Team’s Sylvain Guintoli, and Sykes.

Before the rain arrived, Baz earned the pole position with a lap of 1:34.357 – which became a new outright best lap at Assen. The race lap record at the circuit is a 1:35.893 set by Sykes last season.

Heading up the second row will be Aprilia Racing Team’s Marco Melandri – who made it into Superpole 2 with Ducati Superbike Team’s Chaz Davies.

Melandri, who with teammate Guintoli ran longer, race-simulation sessions during Friday’s practice to garner an edge over the competition, will be joined on row two by the man who led Friday’s first free practice, Pata Honda World Superbike’s Jonathan Rea, and Giugliano, respectively.

Althea Racing Ducati’s Niccolo Canepa qualified his 1199 Panigale R in seventh, on top of the third row. This once again makes the Italian the quickest rider in the EVO class. he will be joined on the third row by the Voltcom Crescent Suzuki duo of Eugene Laverty and Alex Lowes.

Heading into Sunday’s doubleheader, Sykes has the World Superbike Championship points lead with 75, four ahead of teammate Baz, and nine ahead of Guintoli. These top three are also the men who each earned a pole this season – Guintoli at Phillip Island, Sykes at Aragon, and Baz at Assen.

As for the Americans, the Team Hero EBR duo of Aaron Yates and Geoff May qualified in 26 and 27th, respectively, as they continue to tune in the 1190RX.

2014 Assen World Superbike TV Schedule

beIN Sports will provide broadcast coverage of Assen TT World Superbike beginning at 6 a.m. ET Sunday, April 27; race 1 will be aired on a delay, and race 2 will be aired live.

2014 Assen World Superbike Superpole Results:

1. Loris Baz, France, Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R

2. Sylvain Guintoli, France, Aprilia Racing RSV4

3. Tom Sykes, UK, Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R

4. Marco Melandri, Italy, Aprilia Racing RSV4

5. Jonathan Rea, UK, PATA Honda CBR1000RR

6. Davide Giugliano, Italy, Ducati SBK 1199 Panigale R

7. Niccolo Canepa (EVO), Italy, Althea Ducati 1199 Panigale R

8. Eugene Laverty, Ireland, Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000

9. Alex Lowes, UK, Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000

10. Toni Elias, Spain, Red Devils Roma Aprilia RSV4

11. Leon Haslam, UK, PATA Honda CBR1000RR

12. Chaz Davies, UK, Ducati SBK 1199 Panigale R

13. Leon Camier    (EVO), UK, BMW Italia S1000RR

14. Ayrton Badovini (EVO), Italy, Bimota Alstare BB3

15. David Salom (EVO), Spain, Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R

16. Christian Iddon (EVO), UK, Bimota Alstare BB3

17. Claudio Corti, Italy, MV Agusta RC F4RR

18. Jeremy Guarnoni (EVO), France, MRS Kawasaki ZX-10R

19. Sheridan Morais (EVO), Russia, IRON BRAIN Kawasaki ZX-10R

20. Luca Scassa (EVO), Italy, Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R

21. Michel Fabrizo (EVO), Italy, IRON BRAIN Kawasaki ZX-10R

22. Fabien Foret (EVO), France, MAHI Kawasaki ZX-10R

23. Alessandro Andreozzi (EVO), Italy, Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R

24. Kervin Bos, (EVO), Netherlands, Winterb Honda CBR1000RR

25. Imre Toth, Hungary, Team Toth BMW S1000RR

26. Aaron Yates, USA, Team Hero EBR 1190RX

27. Geoff May, USA, Team Hero EBR 1190RX

28. Peter Sebestyen (EVO), Hungary, Team Toth BMW S1000RR