Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2014 MotoGP Calendar | Brazil Dropped, Schedule Down to 18 Rounds

2014 MotoGP Calendar | Brazil Dropped, Schedule Down to 18 Rounds

2014 MotoGP Calendar | Brazil Dropped, Schedule Down to 18 Rounds2014 MotoGP Schedule

When the FIM released the provisional MotoGP calendar in December, the proposed round for September 28 at the Autodromo Internacional Nelson Piquet circuit in Brazil’s capital of Brasilia was subject to homologation.

But following the release of the final calendar on Monday, it appears the circuit did not make homologation – Brazil was dropped from the 2014 MotoGP Calendar.

When we first reported in August on the possibility of the Nelson Piquet circuit being featured on the 2014 MotoGP calendar, officials said there would be a “full rebuilding project on the Brasilia circuit” completed by mid 2014.

And if the rebuilding was up to par with Safety Commission standards, the FIM would have visited the circuit, and gave the final homologation confirmation. It appears either the rebuilding wasn’t complete, or the track did not pass the homologation rules in time to be featured on the MotoGP schedule.

This slimmed the 2014 MotoGP schedule down to 18 rounds – the same as 2013. Also, the September 28 date was filled by the Motorland Aragon round, which was originally scheduled for September 21.

The biggest changes following the release of the final calendar are the additional of the Termas de Rio Honda circuit in Argentina, and the dropping of Laguna Seca.

MotoGP last visited Brazil in 2004 for the Rio Grand Prix, which was won by Makoto Tamada.

2014 MotoGP  Calendar (Final):

  1.     March 23: Qatar, Doha/Losail (Night Race)
  2.     April 13: America, Circuit of the Americas, Austin
  3.     April 27: Argentina, Termas de Rio Honda
  4.     May 4: Spain, Jerez de la Frontera
  5.     May 18: France, Le Mans
  6.     June 1: Italy,  Mugello
  7.     June 15: Catalunya, Barcelona-Catalunya
  8.     June 28: Netherlands, TT Assen (Saturday Race)
  9.     July 13: Germany, Sachsenring
  10.     August 10: Indianapolis, GP Indianapolis
  11.     August 17: Czech Republic, Brno
  12.     August 31: Great Britain, Silverstone
  13.     September 14: San Marino & Riviera di Rimini, Marco Simoncelli Misano
  14.     September 28: Aragon MotorLand, Aragon
  15.     October 12: Japan, Motegi
  16.     October 19: Australia, Phillip Island
  17.     October 26: Malaysia, Sepang
  18.     November 9: Valencia, Ricardo Tormo-Valencia

Harley LiveWire: Debut Journey from Mexico to Canada Via WCGH

The Coronavirus pandemic has halted vacation plans for many, including those of Diego Cardenas. The Californian had planned to spend his 50th birthday in Spain...

2020 GasGas TXT GP Lineup First Look: 4 More Trials Bikes

Just when we thought there would be only four GasGas observed trials motorcycles for 2020, GasGas announces the four-bike 2020 TXT GP lineup. The...

Avon Roadrider MKII Tires First Look: Vintage Rubber + Modern Tech

Essential to any vintage motorcycle is the proper rubber. The new Avon Roadrider MKII tire builds on the original version, offering authentic styling with...

2021 KTM Cross-Country Lineup First Look: GNCC Wrecking Crew

With a focus on the GNCC Racing series, KTM has a six-model cross-country lineup of off-road racing motorcycles. There are three-each of two-strokes and...

Metzeler Roadtec Scooter Tires First Look: 48 Sizes

Metzeler is introducing the new Roadtec Scooter line of tires, consolidating its wide range of scooter tires. The 48 sizes of Metzeler Roadtec Scooter...

2021 Soriano Motori Lineup First Look: Electric Sport Motorcycles

It can seem like brands never go away. In recent years we have seen the resurgence of marquee brands such as Indian, as well...