2014 Phillip Island World Superbike | Results

Ducati Superbike Team's Davide Giugliano

2014 World SBK Results from Phillip Island, Australia

Spoiler Alert: 2014 World Superbike Results from Phillip Island listed below

With many new rules in place, and a new EVO spec class joining the grid, the 2014 season marks a landmark year for the World Superbike Championship.

The most significant rule change arrives in the new Superpole qualifying format, which is similar to MotoGP; this change arrives following Dorna’s take over of World SBK – the same promoting organization that runs MotoGP.

And it all began this weekend with the first of 14 rounds at the historic Phillip Island in Australia. This was the 24th time World Superbike was hosted at Phillip Island, making it the most visited circuit in the series’ history.

Taking the pole Saturday was Aprilia Racing Team’s Sylvain Guintoli; this paid off for the Frenchman.  He took third in race one, and the victory in race 2.

The race-one winner was Voltcom Suzuki’s Eugene Laverty. Joining Laverty on the race-one podium was newly-signed Aprilia rider Marco Melandri and Guintoli, respectably.

Joining Guintoli on the race-two podium was the Kawasaki Racing Team duo of Loris Baz and the reigning World SBK Champion, Tom Sykes, respectively.

These are also the same two riders who won at Phillip Island last season; Guintoli took race one, and the Northern Irishman Laverty race two. Following are recaps of both races. For a commentary piece on the race, click here.

2014 Phillip Island World Superbike Race 1 Recap

In race one, Laverty took the win aboard the GSX-R 1000, which was the first time a Suzuki stood on the podium since race two at Kyalami in 2010. This was also Laverty’s third straight race win including his double at the 2013 season finale at Jerez last season.

After poor start, Laverty was in seventh by the end of lap one. He first battled with Ducati Superbike Team’s Chaz Davies and Pata Honda World Superbike’s Jonathan Rea, and began a charge to the front of the pack.

Once up front, the Irishman passed Ducati Superbike Team’s Davide Giugliano, and then Aprilia Racing Team riders Marco Melandri and leader Guintoli to take the lead.

Laverty began opening up a gap, and behind, Melandri passed Guintoli for second. Laverty would win by 2.959 seconds ahead of Melandri, with Guintoli in third.

As for Ducati 1199 Panigale R pilot Giugliano, who qualified second at Phillip Island, the Italian settled for fourth. Kawasaki Racing Team’s Baz finished fifth, ahead of Rea and Sykes.

In the EVO class, Kawasaki Racing’s David Salom, Althea Racing Ducati’s Niccolò Canepa  and BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team’s Glenn Allerton – the substitute rider for injured Sylvain Barrier – battled intensely for the top position in the class. But it was Salom who took the top EVO finish with ninth.

Three riders also suffered DNFs due to crashes – Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes, Pata Honda World Superbike’s Leon Haslam, and Red Devils Roma Aprilia Toni Elias. All three riders escaped unhurt.

As for the American Aaron Yates aboard the Team Hero EBR 1190 RX, he finished last in 17th. His teammate, Geoff May, did not start due to an injury sustained early in the day.

2014 Phillip Island World Superbike Race 2 Recap

In the second race, Guintoli took the win aboard the Aprilia RSV4; this was the fifth victory of his World SBK career.

The race was red-flagged on lap 15 when Laverty’s engine blew while he was running in second place. Laverty would suffer a DNF, and allow the Kawasaki team of Baz and Sykes to claim the second and third positions. In first at the time was Guintoli, who took the win.

Guintoli took fourth once again, and was followed by Honda’s Rea and Haslam. Seventh went to Giugliano’s teammate Chaz Davies, who finished ahead of Melandri and Elias.

Works Aprilia rider Melandri was part of a thrilling ten way battle up front in the early stages, before going wide at Turn 4 during the eighth lap. Two laps later Lowes made the same mistake while trying to catch the leaders, eventually finishing 13th behind EVO riders Salom in 10th, Canepa in 11th, and Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki’s Fabien Foret in 12th.

EBR’s Yates again finished last in 20th. As the team continues to tune in the 1190RX, it is over five seconds off the top pace.

The 2014 World Superbike now breaks for seven weeks before round two at Motorland Aragon in Spain.

2014 Phillip Island World Superbike Results:

Race One:
1. Eugene Laverty, Suzuki GSX-R 1000
2. Marco Melandri, Aprilia RSV4
3. Sylvain Guintoli, Aprilia RSV4
4. Davide Giugliano, Ducati 1199 Panigale R
5. Loris Baz, Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
6. Jonathan Rea, Honda CBR1000RR
7. Tom Sykes, Kawasaki ZX-10R
8. Chaz Davies, Ducati 1199 Panigale R
9. David Salom, EVO Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
10. Niccolo Canepa, EVO Ducati 1199 Panigale R
11. Glen Allerton, EVO BMW S1000RR
12. Fabien Foret, EVO Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
13. Claudio Corti, MV Agusta F4RR
14. Jeremy Guarnoni, EVO Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
15. Sheridan Morais, EVO Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
16. Imre Toth, BMW S1000RR
17. Aaron Yates EBR 1190RX

Race Two:
1. Sylvain Guintoli, Aprilia RSV4
2. Loris Baz. Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
3. Tom Sykes, Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
4. Davide Giugliano, Ducati 1199 Panigale R
5. Jonathan Rea, Honda CBR1000RR
6. Leon Haslam, Honda CBR 1000RR
7. Chaz Davies, Ducati 11199 Panigale R
8. Marco Melandri, Aprilia RSV4
9. Toni Elias, Aprilia RSV4
10. David Salom, EVO Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
11. Niccolo Canepa, EVO Ducati 1199 Panigale R
12. Fabien Foret, EVO Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
13. Alex Lowes, Suzuki GSX-R 1000
14. Sheridan Morais, Evo Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
15. Glen Allerton, EVO BMW S1000RR
16. Jeremy Guarnoni, EVO Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
17. A Andreozzi, EVO Kawasaki ZX-10R Ninja
18. Claudio Corti, MV Agusta F4RR
19. Imre Toth, BMW S1000RR
20. Aaron Yates, EBR 1190 RX

2014 World Superbike Point Standings (after one of 14 rounds):

1. Sylvain Guintoli, 41
2. Loris Baz, 31
3. Marco Melandri, 28
4. Davide Giugliano, 26
5. Tom Sykes, 25
6. Eugene Laverty, 25
7. Jonathan Rea, 21
8. Chaz Davies, 17
9. David Salom, 13
10. Niccolo Canepa, 11
11. Leon Haslam, 10
12. Fabien Foret, 8
13. Toni Elias, 7
14. Glen Allerton, 6
15. Sheridan Morais, 3
16. Claudio Corti, 3
17. Alex Lowes, 3
18. Jeremy Guarnoni, 2

2014 World Superbike Manufacturers Standings:

1. Aprilia, 45
2. Kawasaki, 31
3. Suzuki, 28
4. Ducati, 26
5. Honda, 21
6. BMW, 6
7. MV Agusta, 3



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.