Sepang MotoGP 2013 | Results

Yamaha Factory Racing's Jorge Lorenzo leads The Respol Honda Duo of Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez

2013 Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 MotoGP results from Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang International Circuit listed below.

Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa kept his MotoGP title hunt alive following a dominating performance Sepang International Circuit, the first of three back-to-back races as the series heads towards its conclusion.

The Spaniard, who chases his first-ever premier-class MotoGP title, took the lead on lap four, and wasn’t challenged for the remainder of the race. This was the second consecutive win at Sepang for Pedrosa, who led three of four free practices.

The real battle was behind, though, as Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez – the current MotoGP Championship leader – and Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo battled for second.

But even this battle was short lived. Following some exchanges for second, the pole-man Marquez got into the position on lap nine and went on to run a clean race and finish in a lonely second, 2.757 seconds behind Pedrosa.

As for Lorenzo, he also finished alone, the two-time MotoGP Championship taking third 6.669 seconds behind the current points leader.

Marquez gained another 20 points, and now has 298 points, 43 more than Lorenzo, and 54 more than Pedrosa. With three rounds remaining, these three riders are the only ones with a mathematical chance of taking the 2013 MotoGP title. If Marquez earns that title, he will be the first in 35 years (since Freddie Spencer) to take the a title in his rookie year.

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda RC213V MotoGP) says: “These twenty points are very important and I’m really happy with how the race went today. I had a nice, fun battle with Lorenzo, but at the same time I could see that Dani was opening up a gap.

“When I finally managed to overtake Jorge and make the pass stick, I tried to reduce the distance that Dani had put between us. However, I saw that it was too risky to do so. From that moment on, I decided to focus on keeping Lorenzo at bay, because the goal here was to finish the race ahead of him. We did what we came here to do, so we are very happy!”

As for race winner Pedrosa, he was looking to redeem points following his DNF at Aragon due to his controversial crash with teammate Marquez.

Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda RC213V MotoGP) says: “I am very happy with this win, as it is very special. My level of riding today was very good and the victory comes after a difficult week –in which I was laid up in bed and could hardly move.

“To come here and win is fantastic, so thanks to all my team! It is a pity about what happened in Aragon, because we had the pace and the same chance of the win as we did here. However, we can’t keep looking back; we need to continue on and try to carry our form into the final races.”

Lorenzo opened the race with his usual holeshot, but like free practices, he struggled to keep the pace with the others. The Spaniard rode smartly and consistently, though, keeping his title hopes more than alive.

Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha Factory Racing YZR-M1 MotoGP) says: “We were much slower than the others today, especially after three or four laps. I tried to open a gap at the beginning like always but there was +0 on the board after a couple of laps.

“When Dani passed I tried to stay with him and also then again when Marc passed me. I tried to pass him some more times to make him nervous but it was impossible, he was much stronger today so we couldn’t do much more. To win the championship is almost impossible but I would like to finish second in the championship and win as many races as possible.”

Taking a lonely fourth was Yamaha Factory Racing’s Valentino Rossi, the nine-time World Champion finishing 10.351 seconds behind Marquez. After a long battle with Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow, GO&FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista took fifth.

The Spaniard only needed fifth or better to move into sixth in the rider’s standings ahead of LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl, who was forced out due to breaking his ankle during the fourth free practice.

Rounding out the top 10 were Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Bradl Smith, Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso, top CRT runner, Power Electronics Aspar’s Aleix Espargaro, and Ignite Pramac Racing Ducati’s Yonny Hernandez.

A total of five riders failed to finish, including 2006 World Champion Nicky Hayden who parked his Ducati Team machine on the start/finish straight after suffering technical problems.

The series now heads directly to Phillip Island for the Australian Grand Prix, which takes place Oct. 18-20.

2013 Sepang MotoGP Results:

12526Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda163.340’45.191
22093Marc MARQUEZSPARepsol Honda TeamHonda163.1+2.757
31699Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha162.9+6.669
41346Valentino ROSSIITAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha162.6+10.351
51119Alvaro BAUTISTASPAGO&FUN Honda GresiniHonda161.8+22.149
61035Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha161.8+22.301
7938Bradley SMITHGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha161.3+30.864
884Andrea DOVIZIOSOITADucati TeamDucati160.4+45.111
9741Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART159.4+59.264
10668Yonny HERNANDEZCOLIgnite Pramac RacingDucati159.3+1’01.417
1157Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNAvintia BlusensFTR159.2+1’03.665
12414Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART158.5+1’14.256
13371Claudio CORTIITANGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR Kawasaki158.0+1’21.603
1428Hector BARBERASPAAvintia BlusensFTR157.6+1’27.976
1515Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR Kawasaki157.5+1’29.442
169Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter157.5+1’29.551
1723Luca SCASSAITACardion AB MotoracingART156.4+1’47.930
1867Bryan STARINGAUSGO&FUN Honda GresiniFTR Honda156.1+1’52.927
Not Classified
70Michael LAVERTYGBRPaul Bird MotorsportART155.08 Laps
52Lukas PESEKCZECame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter154.29 Laps
69Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati159.112 Laps
50Damian CUDLINAUSPaul Bird MotorsportPBM153.413 Laps
29Andrea IANNONEITAEnergy T.I. Pramac RacingDucati160.514 Laps

2013 MotoGP Championship Point Standings (after 15 of 18 rounds):

1Marc MARQUEZHondaSPA298
2Jorge LORENZOYamahaSPA255
3Dani PEDROSAHondaSPA244
4Valentino ROSSIYamahaITA198
6Alvaro BAUTISTAHondaSPA136
7Stefan BRADLHondaGER135
8Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiITA120
9Nicky HAYDENDucatiUSA102
10Bradley SMITHYamahaGBR89
12Michele PIRRODucatiITA50
13Andrea IANNONEDucatiITA47
14Colin EDWARDSFTR KawasakiUSA32
17Danilo PETRUCCIIoda-SuterITA23
18Yonny HERNANDEZDucatiCOL17
20Claudio CORTIFTR KawasakiITA11
21Ben SPIESDucatiUSA9