2013 Aragon MotoGP | Results

Yamaha Factory Racing's Valentino Rossi

Grand Prix of Aragon MotoGP Race Results

Spoiler Alert: MotoGP results from the Grand Prix of Aragon listed below

With the top four qualifiers covered by less than two-tenths of a second, the Grand Prix of Aragon was expected to bring another bout of tightly-fought battles.

And this was the scenario during the 23-lap at Aragon, round 14 of 18 in the 2013 MotoGP Championship. All eyes were on the top four qualifiers, the  only riders with a mathematical chance of taking the 2013 MotoGP title as the series headed to the third of four rounds held on Spanish soil.

Leading qualifying was Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez, the 20-year-old rookie who took his seventh pole at Aragon. Marquez, who finished on the podium in 12 of 13 rounds, including five wins, qualified ahead of Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo and Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa.

These three Spaniards have finished on the podium in last four races, and were the strongest candidates for the 2013 MotoGP title. The other candidate qualified fourth at Aragon – nine-time World Champion Valentino Rossi. The Italian finished fourth in the last four races, not able to match the pace of Spain’s finest motorcycle racers.

Clear skies greeted the 24-rider grid Sunday at the 3.155-mile circuit containing 17 corners.And when Aragon MotoGP got underway, Lorenzo piloted his YZR-M1 to the lead ahead of Pedrosa, Marquez and Rossi.

But Marquez wasted no time. Rounding the second corner, he took second from Pedrosa. Marquez immediately set his eyes on the reigning MotoGP Champion, who already had a over a half-second lead on Marquez.

Getting off the line in fifth was Germany’s Stefan Bradl. The LCR Honda RC213V rider was immediately on Rossi’s tail. GO&FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista, Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow and Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso quickly joined this race-long battle for fourth.

Chasing his first premier-class MotoGP title, Pedrosa began setting some blistering laps. On the third go around Aragon, he set a new circuit record of 1:48.565, beating the previous record held by Stoner. He continued this pace, and with 19 to go, Pedrsoa passed Marquez. The rookie didn’t let his guard down, though, stalking Pedrosa closely.

With 18 to go, Marquez ran wide while almost touching Pedrosa. Though the two did rub, a few feet later Pedrosa suffered a nasty high side. It appeared as if Pedrosa slightly altered his line, thinking Marquez was within striking distance.

Pedrosa hit the concrete hard, and was slow to get up. Fortunately, medical crews reported no major injury. But unfortunately, the crash likely put an end to Pedrosa’s chances at the 2013 MotoGP title. With Pedrosa out of Aragon MotoGP, Lorenzo opened a 1.9-second lead on Marquez.

Behind, Rossi had to defend his third place from three hungry riders – Bradl, Bautista and Crutchlow. With 15 to go, Crutchlow passed Bautista for fifth, but the Spaniard reacted quickly, taking the position back from the British rider.

With 10 laps remaining, Marquez was on the tail of Lorenzo, the usual occurrence of 2013 MotoGP, the two riders making the Spanish crowd go wild. And on turn 11, Marquez passed Lorenzo, and immediately began pulling away.

With tire management key at the technical Aragon, Lorenzo appeared to be saving his Bridgestone slicks for some final-lap attempts. But the two-time MotoGP Champ couldn’t catch his new nemesis; Marquez would beat Lorenzo to the line by 1.356 seconds en route to is sixth win of 2013 MotoGP.

The battle for third between Bautista and Rossi was just as intense. With six to go, Bautista made an aggressive inside pass on Rossi. But the Italian would not let Bautista gain much ground. And with two laps to go, Rossi slipped back into third place after out-braking Bautista as the two headed into the Aragon Corkscrew.

Bautista turned up the aggression, trying to counter the pass, but was caught from behind by Bradl. As Bradl and Bautista swapped positions, Rossi was able to break his fourth-place finishing streak, the Italian taking an easy third.

Behind, Bautista beat Bradl for fifth, with Crutchlow taking sixth. Crutchlow’s teammate Bradley Smith finished seventh, ahead of the Ducati duo of Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden. Tenth went to Energy T.I. Pramac Racing’s Andrea Iannone, who finished ahead of the top CRT pilot, Power Electronics Aspar’s Aleix Espargaro.

With four rounds remaining, Marquez now has 278 points, extending his lead to 39 ahead of Lorenzo. Pedrosa is in third, 59 points behind Marquez, with Rossi in fourth, 93 points back.

The 2013 MotoGP Championship takes a two-week break before heading to Sepang for the Malaysian Grand Prix Oct. 11-13.

2013 Aragon MotoGP Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 166.6 42’03.459
2 20 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 166.5 +1.356
3 16 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 165.7 +12.927
4 13 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 165.7 +13.787
5 11 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 165.7 +13.973
6 10 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 165.6 +14.662
7 9 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 164.5 +31.220
8 8 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 163.9 +40.671
9 7 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 163.1 +53.413
10 6 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 163.0 +55.067
11 5 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 162.8 +58.001
12 4 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Ignite Pramac Racing Ducati 162.4 +1’05.513
13 3 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 162.3 +1’06.589
14 2 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Avintia Blusens FTR 162.2 +1’08.674
15 1 71 Claudio CORTI ITA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki 162.1 +1’09.130
16 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki 161.9 +1’12.041
17 23 Luca SCASSA ITA Cardion AB Motoracing ART 159.9 +1’45.152
18 67 Bryan STARING AUS GO&FUN Honda Gresini FTR Honda 159.9 +1’45.228
19 52 Lukas PESEK CZE Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 159.9 +1’45.583
Not Classified
8 Hector BARBERA SPA Avintia Blusens FTR 157.8 15 Laps
26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 166.7 18 Laps
50 Damian CUDLIN AUS Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 152.2 20 Laps
9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 0 Lap
70 Michael LAVERTY GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART 0 Lap

2013 MotoGP Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 278
2 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 239
3 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 219
4 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 185
5 Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 156
6 Stefan BRADL Honda GER 135
7 Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda SPA 125
8 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA 112
9 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 102
10 Bradley SMITH Yamaha GBR 80
12 Michele PIRRO Ducati ITA 50
13 Andrea IANNONE Ducati ITA 47
14 Colin EDWARDS FTR Kawasaki USA 31
15 Hector BARBERA FTR SPA 27
17 Danilo PETRUCCI Ioda-Suter ITA 23
18 Yonny HERNANDEZ Ducati COL 11
19 Ben SPIES Ducati USA 9
20 Claudio CORTI FTR Kawasaki ITA 8
21 Hiroshi AOYAMA FTR JPN 8
22 Alex DE ANGELIS Ducati RSM 5
24 Michael LAVERTY PBM GBR 3
25 Bryan STARING FTR Honda AUS 2
26 Javier DEL AMOR FTR SPA 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.