Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2013 Misano MotoGP | Results

2013 Misano MotoGP | Results

2013 San Marino Grand Prix Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 MotoGP results from the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli in San Marino listed below

The 2013 MotoGP Championship headed this weekend to the Republic of San Marino, a microstate surrounded by Italy, for round 13 of 18.

And for the fourth consecutive race, the same three Spaniards finished on the podium. Leading the trio was Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo, who has scored back-to-back victories following his win at Silverstone.

The reigning MotoGP Champion finished 3.379 of a second ahead of the man who took the pole position, Repsol Honda’s Marquez, and the 20-year-old rookie’s teammate, Dani Pedrosa. The latter finished 7.369 of a second back.

With his win – his third straight year at the venue on the shores of the Adriatic Ocean – the Mallorcan has 49-career World Championship victories, including 28 in the premier class. Also, with his Mugello wins for the past three years, Lorenzo has dominated on Italian soil, sweeping both rounds since 2011.

Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha Factory Racing YZR-M1 MotoGP) says: “It is important to win, because we don’t lose points but we have only recovered five points, so it is the same as Silverstone. It doesn’t make a big difference to the championship. But I’m very happy for this victory, because we struggled a lot during the weekend especially on braking.”

From second on the grid, Lorenzo shot into the lead as pole-sitter Marquez dropped to third on the opening lap. The latter would put on a spurt in the second half of the race, but by this point had fallen to fourth place due to an unforced error; Marquez recovered from his Turn 8 mistake to catch and pass both Lorenzo’s teammate Valentino Rossi and his Repsol Honda Team colleague Pedrosa. However, as the two Honda riders engaged in a battle, Lorenzo’s already comfortable lead only grew.

Marquez’s championship lead is now 34 points with five races remaining, while Lorenzo has drawn level with Pedrosa for second overall. Rossi and Monster Yamaha Tech3’s Cal Crutchlow are the only other two riders who can mathematically still clinch the title; the Italian ended Sunday’s race fourth, while the Englishman fell to sixth on the final lap behind LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl. Alvaro Bautista was seventh for GO&FUN Honda Gresini, having claimed his maiden MotoGP™ podium at Misano in 2012, while Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso beat teammate Nicky Hayden and Ignite Pramac Racing’s Michele Pirro to eighth spot.

Eleventh was Tech3’s Bradley Smith, while Colin Edwards (NGM Mobile Forward Racing) was the leading CRT rider in 12th; the American finishing one position ahead of Aleix Espargaro (Power Electronics Aspar) who, from an impressive sixth on the grid, ran fourth on Lap 1 but was handed a ride-through penalty for jumping the start. Six riders failed to make the finish, including Energy T.I. Pramac Racing’s Andrea Iannone who was one of six Italians racing in front of a passionate crowd.

The MotoGP World Championship continues with Round 14, the Gran Premio Iveco de Aragón, at MotorLand Aragon in north-eastern Spain on Sept. 29.

2013 Misano MotoGP Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 161.0 44’05.522
2 20 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 160.8 +3.379
3 16 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 160.5 +7.368
4 13 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 160.1 +15.062
5 11 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 159.6 +22.355
6 10 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 159.6 +22.599
7 9 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 159.1 +31.059
8 8 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 158.4 +42.702
9 7 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 158.3 +44.858
10 6 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Ignite Pramac Racing Ducati 158.1 +47.818
11 5 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 158.1 +48.011
12 4 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki 157.2 +1’03.154
13 3 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 157.0 +1’07.600
14 2 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Avintia Blusens FTR 156.5 +1’15.528
15 1 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 156.4 +1’17.907
16 71 Claudio CORTI ITA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki 155.7 +1’29.655
17 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 155.4 +1’33.990
18 70 Michael LAVERTY GBR Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 155.3 +1’36.860
Not Classified
67 Bryan STARING AUS GO&FUN Honda Gresini FTR Honda 153.8 4 Laps
8 Hector BARBERA SPA Avintia Blusens FTR 155.6 7 Laps
68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Paul Bird Motorsport ART 153.7 19 Laps
17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing ART 152.2 21 Laps
29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 155.6 25 Laps
52 Lukas PESEK CZE Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 148.0 25 Laps

2013 MotoGP Championship Points (after 13 of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 253
2 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 219
3 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 219
4 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 169
5 Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 146
6 Stefan BRADL Honda GER 124
7 Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda SPA 112
8 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA 104
9 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 95
10 Bradley SMITH Yamaha GBR 71
12 Michele PIRRO Ducati ITA 50
13 Andrea IANNONE Ducati ITA 41
14 Colin EDWARDS FTR Kawasaki USA 31
15 Hector BARBERA FTR SPA 27
16 Danilo PETRUCCI Ioda-Suter ITA 23
18 Ben SPIES Ducati USA 9
19 Claudio CORTI FTR Kawasaki ITA 7
21 Hiroshi AOYAMA FTR JPN 6
22 Alex DE ANGELIS Ducati RSM 5
24 Michael LAVERTY PBM GBR 3
25 Bryan STARING FTR Honda AUS 2
26 Javier DEL AMOR FTR SPA 1

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...

2021 Harley-Davidson Pan America 1250: 150 HP ADV [17 Fast Facts]

Harley-Davidson officially unveiled Monday its all-new adventure touring motorcycles, the 2021 Pan America 1250 and Pan America 1250 Special. The Motor Company released all the...

Story of Warner Riley’s 200+ MPH Run Aboard a Sportster 50 Years Ago!

50 years ago Warner Riley began working toward having the World’s Fastest Conventional Motorcycle. With help from S&S Cycle in Wisconsin, topping 200 mph...