Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross Stewart Wins $25K Motorcycle-Superstore Motocross Holeshot Award

Stewart Wins $25K Motorcycle-Superstore Motocross Holeshot Award

2013 AMA Motocross Motorcycle-Superstore Holeshot Award Recipient

James Stewart missed Saturday's season-ending Red Bull Lake Elsinore National, but he still managed to clinch the $25,000 Holeshot Championship by one point over Muscle Milk Honda pro Justin Barcia.

Sidelined by injury, the Yoshimura Suzuki rider Stewart was vulnerable as Barcia and third-place Ryan Villopoto both had a chance to catch him in the points, but when the day's two 450cc holeshots went to Josh Grant and Motorcycle Superstore star rider Justin Brayton, it was Stewart who ended up with the big check.

Justin Brayton says: "It's great to end the year by taking the last Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot. Those guys stepped up big and put a great program in place to give us all something extra to go after. They put their money on the line and it definitely added a bunch of excitement to every start.

"I carry Motorcycle Superstore on my helmet and I know how passionate they are about the sport. By sponsoring this championship it proves they care about the riders."

There wasn't as much drama in 250 action as Wil Hahn already had secured that title, but his GEICO Honda teammate Zach Osborne managed to show some quick reflexes himself, taking both holeshots on the day. Osborne finished second in the championship. Another GEICO Honda rider, Justin Bogle, came in third.

Zach Obsorne says: "My starts were there today. I wish I had a few more earlier in the season so I could have had a better shot at the $15,000 but it's cool our team went 1-2-3 and I'm proud of Wil.

"Big thanks to Motorcycle Superstore for this championship. All the riders were talking about it all season so I know it meant a lot to everyone."

Points in the lucrative Holeshot Championship were earned in each of the 24 motos on the outdoor schedule. A Moto 1 holeshot was worth one point, the Moto 2 holeshot was worth two points, and any rider that swept both holeshots at the same event earned another bonus point.

Final Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship points:

450 class: 1. James Stewart, 9 points; 2. Justin Barcia, 8 points; 3t. Josh Grant, 6; 3t. Ryan Villopoto, 6; 5. Mike Alessi, 4; 6. Ryan Dungey, 3; 7t. Justin Brayton, 2; 7. Ryan Sipes, 2

250 class: 1. Wil Hahn, 13 points; 2. Zach Osborne, 8; 3. Justin Bogle, 4; 4. Martin Davalos, 3; 5t. Zach Bell, 2; 5t. Jeremy Martin, 2; 5t. Marvin Musquin, 2; 5t. Ken Roczen, 2; 5t. Eli Tomac, 2; 10. Blake Baggett, 1

2020 Salt Lake City 1 Supercross Preview: Racing Returns May 31

After a long break from racing due to the government response to the COVID-19 virus, the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is back....

2021 Beta RR 2-Stroke Off-Road Line-Up First Look

For 2021, Beta is continuing to offer four two-stroke off-road RR models ranging from the agile 125 RR to the torquey 300 RR. There...

2020 Ducati Custom Rumble Winner Crowned: Scrambler 1100 FT

The third Ducati Custom Rumble competition between builders of custom Ducati Scramblers has a winner—Marco Graziani of CC-Racing Garage. Entered in the Bully category,...

Ducati Team Signs Jack Miller for MotoGP in 2021

Before a MotoGP race has been run in 2020, the Ducati Team has signed Jack Miller for its 2021 MotoGP factory squad. Miller, 25,...

Lieback’s Lounge: Rookie Mistakes & Homemade Gaskets

There was a vague smell of gas, but I thought nothing of it. That changed quickly about 50 miles into a 200-mile ride after fueling...

Emula Concept First Look: With 2electron McFly Technology

One of the prime complaints many motorcyclists have about electric motorcycles is that they don’t deliver the visceral experience that comes from an internal...