2013 Brno MotoGP | Czech Republic Grand Prix Results

Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo grabs holeshot at Brno MotoGP

2013 Brno MotoGP Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 MotoGP Championship results from Brno in Czechoslovakia listed below

The 2013 MotoGP Championship headed this weekend to the sweeping Brno circuit in Czechoslovakia. The 3.357-mile circuit, which was built in 1987, contains 14 turns and multiple elevation changes, providing tough conditions on the spec Bridgestone Tires.

But after 22 laps, three Spanish riders once again mastered another round in 2013 – Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez and teammate Dani Pedrosa, and Yamaha Factory Racing's Jorge Lorenzo.

Marquez was victorious at a race constantly threatened with rain, taking his fourth straight win and fifth of the season. He also broke another record for first rookie to ever claim five victories in his maiden season. He was joined on the Brno MotoGP podium by Pedrosa and the reigning MotoGP Champion Lorenzo.

Starting from fifth on the grid, Lorenzo got to turn one first ahead of Marquez, Pedrosa, and the pole man, Monster Tech 3 Yamaha's Cal Crutchlow.

Lorenzo began to gap the field, opening up over a second lead on Marquez and Pedrosa, who were stalked closely by Crutchlow and the man who started from second on the grid, GO&FUN Honda Gresini's Alvaro Bautista.

But with 19 to go, the 20-year-old Marquez had the gap down to under a second as Bautista took fourth from Crutchlow. Marquez once again displayed huge amounts on patience, and by lap 8, was involved in an intense battle with Lorenzo.

The two swapped the lead numerous times, but Marquez wouldn't make the pass stick until four laps remained. This is when Marquez passed Lorenzo on the turn 3, and held the lead to take his fifth win of 2013 MotoGP.

Pedrosa also passed Lorenzo a lap later, and began chasing down Marquez. But Pedrosa would finish 0.313 of a second behind. Lorenzo finished 2.277 seconds behind Marquez.

While running in fifth, Crutchlow crashed with 15 to go, just as his teammate Bradley Smith did on lap 3. Crutchlow had just set his personal best lap at Brno before crashing. He was able to rejoin, eventually finishing 17th,

With Crutchlow out, this left a battle for fourth between Bautista and Yamaha Factory Team's Valentino Rossi. But the nine-time World Champion, who took his first World Championship victory at Brno back in 1996, was able to finish fourth, 10.101 seconds behind Marquez, and only 0.077 of a second ahead of Bautista.

Finishing alone in sixth was LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl, who was over 19 seconds off the top rider. Next up was the Ducati duo of Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden, both riders over 35 seconds behind the lead group.

Rounding out the top 10 were Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati's Andrea Iannone and the top CRT bike, Power Electronics Aspar's Aleix Espargaro, respectively. The American Colin Edwards finished 11th on the NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki, followed by Ben Spies replacement on the Ignite Pramac Racing Ducati, Michele Pirro, a Ducati Team test rider.

Spies recently underwent shoulder surgery after sustaining further damage during a practice crash at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Besides Smith, the other riders to DNF were Avintia Blusens’ Hector Barbera and NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Claudio Corti after the two contacted each other on the second lap. Corti underwent an x-ray to his right hand, though nothing was reported broken. Home rider Came IodaRacing Project’s Lukas Pesek also crashed out on the third lap.

The MotoGP grid will travel directly to the UK for the Hertz British Grand Prix at Silverstone, the final of three back-to-back races.

Heading into Silverstone, Marquez has 213 points, 26 (equivalent to a race) ahead of Pedrosa, and 44 ahead of Lorenzo.

2013 Brno MotoGP Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 166.4 42'50.729
2 20 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 166.4 +0.313
3 16 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 166.3 +2.277
4 13 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 165.8 +10.101
5 11 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 165.8 +10.178
6 10 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 165.1 +19.807
7 9 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 164.2 +35.015
8 8 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 164.1 +35.354
9 7 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 163.2 +51.149
10 6 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 162.8 +56.392
11 5 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki 162.8 +57.420
12 4 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Ignite Pramac Racing Ducati 162.3 +1'05.430
13 3 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 161.9 +1'12.364
14 2 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Avintia Blusens FTR 161.8 +1'13.500
15 1 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 161.7 +1'14.128
16   68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Paul Bird Motorsport ART 161.7 +1'14.991
17   35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 161.3 +1'20.640
18   70 Michael LAVERTY GBR Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 160.5 +1'34.462
19   17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing ART 159.6 +1'49.713
20   67 Bryan STARING AUS GO&FUN Honda Gresini FTR Honda 159.6 +1'50.024
21   45 Martin BAUER AUT Remus Racing Team S&B Suter 152.5 1 Lap
Not Classified
    38 Bradley SMITH GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 161.4 20 Laps
    52 Lukas PESEK CZE Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 156.0 20 Laps
    71 Claudio CORTI ITA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki 152.4 21 Laps
    8 Hector BARBERA SPA Avintia Blusens FTR 152.2 21 Laps

2013 MotoGP Point Standings (after 11 of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 213
2 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 187
3 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 169
4 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 143
5 Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 127
6 Stefan BRADL Honda GER 103
7 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA 96
8 Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda SPA 92
9 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 80
11 Bradley SMITH Yamaha GBR 59
12 Michele PIRRO Ducati ITA 40
13 Andrea IANNONE Ducati ITA 36
14 Colin EDWARDS FTR Kawasaki USA 25
15 Hector BARBERA FTR SPA 24
16 Danilo PETRUCCI Ioda-Suter ITA 21
18 Ben SPIES Ducati USA 9
19 Claudio CORTI FTR Kawasaki ITA 7
21 Alex DE ANGELIS Ducati RSM 5
23 Hiroshi AOYAMA FTR JPN 4
24 Michael LAVERTY PBM GBR 3
25 Bryan STARING FTR Honda AUS 2
26 Javier DEL AMOR FTR SPA 1