2013 Indianapolis Moto3 | Results

Estrella Garcia o,o's Alex Rins and Alex Marquez
Estrella Garcia o,o's Alex Rins and Alex Marquez
Estrella Galicia o,o’s Alex Rins and Alex Marquez

2013 Moto3 Championship Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 Moto3 results from Indianapolis Motor Speedway listed below

The 2013 Moto3 Championship began the second half of the season Sunday during the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

And for the second consecutive time this season, Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins was victorious. The Repsol rider took the win ahead of teammate Alex Marquez – the younger brother of current MotoGP Championship leader Marc Marquez – and Team Calvo’s Maverick Vinales, respectively.

The second place podium for Marquez came after just losing out on victory at the finish line. Nevertheless, Marqeuz’s first podium was a deserved reward for the narrowly missed podiums in recent races.

Both riders started from the top two positions on the grid though fell behind in the first few corners after less than ideal starts. Rins ran off the track in the second corner, though returned to the tarmac in seventh place, three spots behind his teammate who by then had been overtaken by Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Arthur Sissis, Viñales and the championship leader, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Luis Salom.

In just six laps, Rins recovered the lost positions to take over at the front while setting the fastest lap of the race. He then stretched his lead at the head of the pack, taking Viñales and Marquez with him.

In a race long battle, despite Rins attempting to escape, Marquez sought his chances of victory on the penultimate lap. Marquez overtook his teammate down the straight, but one lap later Rins passed him back and stepped up the pace, to cross the finish line first. Finishing third was Vinales. This was Rins third win this season.

Alex Rins (Estrelle 0.0 Respol Moto3) says: “It was a very difficult race. At first, right after the start, I ran off the track and I had to push hard to recuperate the lost positions. In the end, the race was decided in the last laps. With three laps to go, [Alex] Marquez passed me, but with one lap to go I passed him back. In that moment, I gave it full gas because I knew that he could pass me on the finish line, as his bike was a little faster than mine. In the end everything worked out and I finished in first position. Above all, I would like to dedicate this race to the victims of the train accident in Galicia.”

Following his superb start, Salom caught and passed teammate Arthur Sissis for fifth place and then overhauled Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger for fourth, only to drop back behind both on Lap 18. He retook fifth from his teammate and would remain there at the chequered flag, ensuring the championship lead remains in his hands albeit with a smaller advantage. Ajo riders occupied places five to seven, with Malaysia’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin being the third of them.

It is Rin’s third win of the season and his second in the U.S., leaving him with 167 points in the World Championship, 16 behind category leader Salom and 7 behind Viñales. The series heads directly to Brno for the Czech Republic Grand Prix Aug. 25.

2013 Indy Moto3 Results:

1 25 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 KTM 139.7 41’37.200
2 20 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 KTM 139.7 +0.177
3 16 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Team Calvo KTM 139.7 +1.076
4 13 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 139.3 +8.638
5 11 39 Luis SALOM SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 139.2 +9.261
6 10 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 138.9 +14.439
7 9 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 138.7 +18.602
8 8 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 138.6 +21.067
9 7 5 Romano FENATI ITA San Carlo Team Italia FTR Honda 138.6 +21.132
10 6 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 138.5 +21.867
11 5 31 Niklas AJO FIN Avant Tecno KTM 138.2 +27.018
12 4 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Ongetta-Rivacold FTR Honda 138.2 +27.181
13 3 89 Alan TECHER FRA CIP Moto3 TSR Honda 138.2 +27.863
14 2 11 Livio LOI BEL Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex KTM 137.9 +32.656
15 1 3 Matteo FERRARI ITA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 137.5 +41.588
16 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 137.4 +41.851
17 22 Ana CARRASCO SPA Team Calvo KTM 136.7 +55.272
18 66 Florian ALT GER Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 136.7 +55.346
19 65 Philipp OETTL GER Tec Interwetten Moto3 Racing Kalex KTM 136.7 +55.351
20 17 John MCPHEE GBR Caretta Technology – RTG FTR Honda 136.7 +55.742
21 95 Jules DANILO FRA Ambrogio Racing Suter Honda 135.9 +1’11.156
Not Classified
7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Mahindra Racing Mahindra 138.3 3 Laps
19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA La Fonte Tascaracing FTR Honda 136.3 3 Laps
29 Hyuga WATANABE JPN La Fonte Tascaracing FTR Honda 136.6 7 Laps
32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 138.2 9 Laps
4 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA San Carlo Team Italia FTR Honda 136.9 9 Laps
41 Brad BINDER RSA Ambrogio Racing Suter Honda 133.8 15 Laps
58 Juanfran GUEVARA SPA CIP Moto3 TSR Honda 135.7 17 Laps
57 Eric GRANADO BRA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 125.5 18 Laps
9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 120.8 19 Laps
8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology – RTG FTR Honda 136.4 20 Laps
77 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI ITA GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 134.7 20 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
53 Jasper IWEMA NED RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 0 Lap

2013 Moto3 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Luis SALOM KTM SPA 183
2 Maverick VIÑALES KTM SPA 174
3 Alex RINS KTM SPA 167
4 Jonas FOLGER Kalex KTM GER 94
6 Miguel OLIVEIRA Mahindra POR 77
8 Arthur SISSIS KTM AUS 49
9 Jack MILLER FTR Honda AUS 47
10 Brad BINDER Suter Honda RSA 46
11 Alexis MASBOU FTR Honda FRA 46
12 Efren VAZQUEZ Mahindra SPA 41
13 Jakub KORNFEIL Kalex KTM CZE 38
14 Niklas AJO KTM FIN 37
15 Romano FENATI FTR Honda ITA 30
16 Isaac VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 26
17 Danny WEBB Suter Honda GBR 15
18 Niccolò ANTONELLI FTR Honda ITA 13
19 John MCPHEE FTR Honda GBR 10
20 Jasper IWEMA Kalex KTM NED 8
21 Eric GRANADO Kalex KTM BRA 7
22 Alan TECHER TSR Honda FRA 6
23 Livio LOI Kalex KTM BEL 3
24 Alessandro TONUCCI FTR Honda ITA 2
25 Philipp OETTL Kalex KTM GER 1
26 Matteo FERRARI FTR Honda ITA 1