2013 Indianapolis MotoGP | Red Bull Indy GP Results

Yamaha Factory Racing's Valentino Rossi

2013 MotoGP Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 MotoGP results from Indianapolis Motor Speedway listed below

The second half of the 2013 MotoGP Championship got underway this weekend at Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the Red Bull Indy Grand Prix. And once again, there was another podium filled with Spanish riders. The dominate rider of the three – Marc Marquez.

The Repsol Honda RC213V pilot dominated every practice session, qualifying and warm-up ahead of winning the 27-lap race. This was Marquez’s ninth podium in 10 rounds, including four wins.

Besides having a perfect performance in every session – a task not completed since Casey Stoner dominated the Australian Grand Prix last season – the 20-year-old rookie has a clean sweep of all American rounds, having also won The Circuit of the Americas and Laguna Seca.

Joining Marquez on the podium was his teammate, Dani Pedorsa, and the reigning MotoGP Champion, Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo.

Marc Marquez (Respol Honda RC213V MotoGP) says: “I am very happy to have taken another 25 points! I knew before we came here that this would be a good opportunity and I was able to take advantage of it. I felt very good throughout the weekend, and I think this has been my best GP overall since coming into the premier class.

“I was first in every session, so I couldn’t ask for more. In the race I decided to follow Lorenzo and Pedrosa, trying to save my tyres at the start. When I saw that I was feeling good and had less fuel in the tank, I tried to attack. In the end I was able to break away and have some fun sliding the bike around and enjoying how good the ride was! Now we head back to Europe, where we will try to continue working in the same way and see how many points we can pick up.”

Starting from the pole, Marquez fell back to third behind Lorenzo, who took the holeshot, and Pedrosa. But on lap nine, Marquez made an easy pass on Pedrosa. Four laps later, he then took Lorenzo at turn 2, eventually opening a gap en route to the win.

Behind, Lorenzo looked like he would finish second, but on the penultimate lap, Pedrosa’s Honda was quicker on the straight, taking Lorenzo’s YZR-M1 for second. Both riders put in impressive performances besides both riders recovering from broken left collarbones (Lorenzo at Assen; Pedrosa at Sachsenring).

Lorenzo’s teammate Valentino Rossi was able to climb from ninth on the grid to finish fourth ahead of Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Cal Crutchlow. The Italian and the Brit were involved in an intense race-long battle with GO&FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista, who finished sixth. Taking seventh was LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl.

Rounding out the top ten were Crutchlow’s teammate Bradley Smith, and the Ducati Team duo of Nicky Hayden and Andrea Dovizioso, respectively.

Smith, who was positioned as high as fourth earlier in the race, was able to overtake both Ducati GP13s on the final corner when Hayden pushed Dovi wide. This was a near repeat of a final-corner incident at Assen from which Smith also benefitted.

Four riders failed to finish the race. Attack Performance Racing wildcard Blake Young crashed on the opening lap, and technical issues prevented the following riders from finishing: Randy de Puniet (Power Electronics Aspar), Lukas Pesek (Came IodaRacing Project) and Yonny Hernandez (PBM).

Unable to race were both Ignite Pramac Racing’s Ben Spies, whose comeback was ruined when he separated his left shoulder on Friday, and Cardion AB Motoracing’s Karel Abraham who heavily bruised a foot and shoulder, also on Day 1.

With his win, Marquez now has 188 points, 21 ahead of Pedrosa and 35 ahead of Lorenzo.

The MotoGP Championship heads to the Czech Republic next weekend for Round 11 at Bruno.

2013 Indianapolis MotoGP Results:

1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 152.2 44’52.463
2 20 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 152.0 +3.495
3 16 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 151.8 +5.704
4 13 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 151.0 +19.895
5 11 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 151.0 +19.955
6 10 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda 151.0 +20.061
7 9 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 150.8 +24.842
8 8 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 149.9 +40.690
9 7 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 149.9 +40.701
10 6 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 149.9 +40.823
11 5 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 148.9 +59.668
12 4 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 148.5 +1’06.650
13 3 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki 148.3 +1’09.462
14 2 71 Claudio CORTI ITA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR Kawasaki 148.0 +1’15.207
15 1 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Avintia Blusens FTR 147.8 +1’20.159
16 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Avintia Blusens FTR 147.4 +1’25.879
17 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 147.2 +1’29.616
18 70 Michael LAVERTY GBR Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 146.9 +1’36.388
19 67 Bryan STARING AUS GO&FUN Honda Gresini FTR Honda 145.9 1 Lap
Not Classified
68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Paul Bird Motorsport ART 147.2 10 Laps
52 Lukas PESEK CZE Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 144.5 13 Laps
14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 142.6 22 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
79 Blake YOUNG USA Attack Performance Racing APR 0 Lap

2013 MotoGP Championship Point Standings (after 10 of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 188
2 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 167
3 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 153
4 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 130
5 Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 127
6 Stefan BRADL Honda GER 93
7 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA 87
8 Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda SPA 81
9 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 72
10 Bradley SMITH Yamaha GBR 59
12 Michele PIRRO Ducati ITA 36
13 Andrea IANNONE Ducati ITA 29
14 Hector BARBERA FTR SPA 24
15 Colin EDWARDS FTR Kawasaki USA 20
17 Danilo PETRUCCI Ioda-Suter ITA 18
18 Ben SPIES Ducati USA 9
19 Claudio CORTI FTR Kawasaki ITA 7
21 Alex DE ANGELIS Ducati RSM 5
23 Michael LAVERTY PBM GBR 3
24 Bryan STARING FTR Honda AUS 2
25 Hiroshi AOYAMA FTR JPN 2
26 Javier DEL AMOR FTR SPA 1