2013 Laguna Seca MotoGP | Results

Yamaha Factory Racing's Jorge Lorenzo

2013 Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 MotoGP results listed below from the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

History was once again made in the 2013 MotoGP Championship following Repsol Honda Marc Marquez’s win at the 2013 Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix.

The 20-year-old Marquez became the youngest back-to-back race winner, ousting the record held by Freddie Spencer. He also became the first rookie to ever win at Laguna Seca.

The current MotoGP points leader of Spain was joined on the podium at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca by pole-sitter Stefan Bradl and Yamaha Factory Racing’s Valentino Rossi.

This was Marquez’s third victory of the season, his other two arriving at Circuit of the Americas and last weekend’s German round at Sachsenring. Him and Lorenzo are now tied for wins after nine of 18 rounds. With his win, Marquez finished on the podium in eight of nine races.

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda RC213V MotoGP) says: “Before I came here, I was expecting to struggle more. From the TV, this circuit looked so tricky. Since FP1 I have felt so good. Next time I’ll be able to learn where all of the bumps are and everything – yesterday I found a new bump, when I crashed at Turn 6! Anyway, today in the race it was so good.

“At the beginning, with a full fuel tank, I was little bit scared because – with all of those bumps – it’s so easy to lose the front. I overtook Valentino (Rossi) then caught Bradl; I stayed behind him for about 12 laps, then tried to pass him to open up a gap. I’m very, very happy because it’s a new circuit and I’ve got 25 points. I’m very happy because it’s great to go into the summer break with this result.”

Marquez couldn’t catch Bradl during qualifying, but things were much different on race day. Bradl got out front first, followed by Rossi and GO&FUN Honda’s Alvaro Bautista, who began from third on the grid.

Marquez, who started from second, fell back to fourth, but made quick work of Bautista. He then passed Rossi on the infamous Corkscrew at the shortest circuit on the 2013 MotoGP Championship, and began chasing down Bradl. On lap 19 of 32, Marquez passed Bradl, and eventually took the checkered flag 2.2 seconds ahead of the German.

Bradl rode clean, and after Marquez passed him, the 2011 Moto2 Champion remained smooth and calm. He had a huge margin over Rossi, and was able to take his first-ever podium. Before the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix, Bradl had three four-place finishes, but could never reach the podium. But this all changed at Laguna.

Rossi finished 4.4 seconds back in third, which was the Italian’s third consecutive podium, including his win at Assen. The Netherlands victory was his first win since the Malaysian Grand Prix in 2010. Bautista put much pressure on Rossi, who is known for his famed pass on Casey Stoner (Ducati) in 2008. But Bautista would have to settle for fourth.

Taking fifth was Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa, who is recovering from a left collarbone injury sustained at Sachsenring. The Spaniard finished 9.2 seconds behind his teammate Marquez. The other man who rode with a left collarbone injury, the reigning MotoGP Champion Jorge Lorenzo, finished sixth. The Yamaha Factory Racing YZR-M1 pilot was passed by Pedrosa at Andretti Hairpin.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Cal Crutchlow finished seventh. The Brit suffered a heavy crash Saturday and was forced to use a back-up bike for the second qualifying session.

Crutchlow finished 15.3 seconds behind Marquez. The next group of riders finished over 33 seconds back, lead by Ducati Team’s Nicky Hayden in eighth. The American was followed by teammate Andrea Dovizioso and Avintia Blusens FTR CRT’s Hector Barbera. With his finish, he became the first rider other than Aleix Espargaro to lead the CRT class this season.

Barbera finished ahead of Ben Spies replacement rider, Moto2’s Alex De Angelis aboard the Pramac Racing ucati, and NGM Mobile Forward Racing Kawasaki’s Colin Edwards.

Unfortunately, Espargaro crashed and was forced to DNF. Four other riders also not finished due to technical issues –  Power Electronics Aspar’s Randy de Puniet, Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Bradley Smith, PBM’s Michael Laverty and NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Claudio Corti.

With his win, Marquez now holds a 16-point lead over teammate Pedrosa. Lorenzo is in third, 26 points behind Marquez. With his podium finish, Rossi bumped Crutchlow from fourth; Rossi trails Marquez by 46 points.

With the first half of the season over, the 2013 MotoGP takes a month-long summer break before the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix Aug. 16-18.

Photos by Ara Ashjian

2013 Laguna Seca MotoGP Results:

12593Marc MARQUEZSPARepsol Honda TeamHonda157.444’00.695
2206Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda157.3+2.298
31646Valentino ROSSIITAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha157.2+4.498
41319Alvaro BAUTISTASPAGO&FUN Honda GresiniHonda157.2+4.557
51126Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda156.9+9.257
61099Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha156.7+12.970
7935Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha156.5+15.304
8869Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati155.4+33.963
974Andrea DOVIZIOSOITADucati TeamDucati155.4+34.129
1068Hector BARBERASPAAvintia BlusensFTR153.8+1’02.369
11515Alex DE ANGELISRSMIgnite Pramac RacingDucati153.8+1’02.604
1245Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR Kawasaki153.7+1’03.593
1339Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter152.8+1’20.450
14217Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingART152.21 Lap
15168Yonny HERNANDEZCOLPaul Bird MotorsportART151.61 Lap
167Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNAvintia BlusensFTR151.61 Lap
1767Bryan STARINGAUSGO&FUN Honda GresiniFTR Honda151.11 Lap
1852Lukas PESEKCZECame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter148.81 Lap
Not Classified
38Bradley SMITHGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha153.825 Laps
41Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART153.327 Laps
14Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART149.928 Laps
71Claudio CORTIITANGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR Kawasaki44.929 Laps
70Michael LAVERTYGBRPaul Bird MotorsportPBM138.831 Laps

2013 MotoGP Championship Point Standings (after nine of 18 rounds):

1Marc MARQUEZHondaSPA163
2Dani PEDROSAHondaSPA147
3Jorge LORENZOYamahaSPA137
4Valentino ROSSIYamahaITA117
6Stefan BRADLHondaGER84
7Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiITA81
8Alvaro BAUTISTAHondaSPA71
9Nicky HAYDENDucatiUSA65
11Bradley SMITHYamahaGBR51
12Michele PIRRODucatiITA36
13Andrea IANNONEDucatiITA24
16Danilo PETRUCCIIoda-SuterITA18
17Colin EDWARDSFTR KawasakiUSA17
18Ben SPIESDucatiUSA9
21Claudio CORTIFTR KawasakiITA5