Laguna Seca MotoGP | Facts & Stats By the Numbers

Ducati Team's Nicky Hayden

2013 Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix

Ara Ashjian’s photos from last year’s MotoGP above

The second of three U.S. MotoGP rounds gets underway Friday at Monterey’s Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. The short, 2.243-mile circuit known for its challenging corkscrew (turn 8) will host MotoGP for the 15th time this year.

Heading into Laguna Seca, the rookie Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) leads the MotoGP Championship by two points ahead of teammate Dani Pedrosa. Will the 20-year-old Spaniard become the first rookie to ever win at Laguna Seca, since a rookie has never been victorious there?

This is just one of the many facts and stats as 2013 MotoGP heads to Laguna Seca for round nine of 18. Following is Laguna Seca MotoGP by the numbers:

  • 40 years – On race day at Laguna Seca it will be exactly 40 years since Phil Read won the 1973 Swedish GP at the Anderstorp circuit to win the 500 World Championship title for the first time, at the age of 34.

  • 36 – There have been 36 MotoGP races since an American last won, with Ben Spies having triumphed in the Dutch TT at Assen in 2011.

  • 28 – The win by Marc Marquez at the German Grand Prix was the 28th time he has stood on the top step of the podium in Grand Prix racing. This is just one less win that Loris Capirossi achieved during his Grand Prix career.

  • 28 years – On race day at Laguna Seca it will be 28 years to the day that Freddie Spencer won both the 500 and 250 GP races at Le Mans in France in 1985. This was the last occasion that a rider has won both the premier class and intermediate class GP races on the same day.

  • 26 – There have been 26 MotoGP races without a rider from the USA finishing on the podium, since Ben Spies finished second at the final race of 2011 at Valencia. This is the longest sequence without a USA rider finishing on the podium in the premier class of Grand Prix racing since Kenny Roberts Jr. ended a run of 33 races without a USA rider on the podium at the first race of 1999, in Malaysia.

  • 23 – This will be the 23rd occasion that there has been a motorcycle grand prix held in the USA.  The first two events in 1964 and 1965 were held at the famous Daytona circuit.  Fourteen GP events have taken place at the Laguna Seca circuit, there have been five held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and one at the new circuit in Austin.

  • 6 – The last six MotoGP races in the USA have been won by Honda riders. The last non-Honda MotoGP winner in the USA was Jorge Lorenzo, at Laguna Seca in 2010.

  • 4 – Marc Marquez won in Germany for the fourth successive year across three different classes; in 2010 he was competing in the 125 class, in 2011 and 2012 the Moto2 class and this year in MotoGP. He is the first rider of the modern era to win at the same circuit for four successive years across three different classes.

  • 4 – Jorge Lorenzo has qualified on pole at Laguna Seca for the last four years. If he is on pole again this year, he will become only the second rider of the MotoGP era to have pole for five successive years at one particular circuit; Casey Stoner is the only other rider to have done this, at his home track of Phillip Island.

  • 2 – With Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo both failing to add to their points total at the German Grand Prix, the only two riders who have scored points at all of the first eight races of the year are Andrea Dovizioso and Aleix Espargaro.

  • 1 – The only Honda rider to start from pole at Laguna Seca in the MotoGP era is Nicky Hayden, in 2005.

  • 0 – No rider has ever won at Laguna Seca in their rookie season in the premier class of GP racing.