Yamaha’s Lorenzo Leads Opening Assen MotoGP Practice

Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo leads FP1 at Assen MotoGP
Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo leads FP1 at Assen MotoGP
Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo leads FP1 at Assen MotoGP

2013 Assen MotoGP – Dutch TT Free Practice 1 Results

The last two years at Assen have been anything but kind to Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo. The Spaniard suffered two first-lap crashes at those Dutch TTs, suffering a sixth place in 2011, and a DNF last season.

But throughout all the pre-race quotes, the reigning MotoGP Champion Lorenzo said he would fight for better results, and he’s already on the move.

Under overcast skies, Lorenzo, who won the last two rounds at Catalunya and Mugello, was quickest during the first of four free practices at Assen Thursday morning.

The two-time MotoGP Champion posted a quickest lap of 1:35.263 around the 2.822-mile circuit, which is the longest-running track on the MotoGP calendar.

Following 0.350 of a second behind was Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Cal Crutchlow, with Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez a further 0.620 of a second back.

Next up was nine-time World Champion Valentino Rossi, who trailed Lorenzo by 0.695 of a second. Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa, the current points leader who is seven points ahead of Lorenzo after six of 18 rounds, was fifth fastest and the final rider to post within a second of Lorenzo at Free Practice 1. The Spaniard was 0.771 of a second back.

Power Electronics Aspar’s Aleix Espargaro was sixth fastest, once again the top CRT rider. He was followed by LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl, who used new Brembo brakes on his RC213V over the Nissin setup, and GO& FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista.

In ninth was the quickest Ducati, the Ignite Pramac GP13 piloted by test-team rider Michele Pirro, who is substituting for the injured Ben Spies. Rounding out the top 10 was Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Bradley Smith.

The riders will return for the second free practice at 2:05 p.m. local time.

2013 Assen MotoGP Free Practice 1 Results:

199Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha304.41’35.263
235Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha303.21’35.6130.350 / 0.350
393Marc MARQUEZSPARepsol Honda TeamHonda304.81’35.8830.620 / 0.270
446Valentino ROSSIITAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha304.31’35.9580.695 / 0.075
526Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda308.11’36.0340.771 / 0.076
641Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART292.21’36.4301.167 / 0.396
76Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda304.01’36.5591.296 / 0.129
819Alvaro BAUTISTASPAGO&FUN Honda GresiniHonda306.81’36.7631.500 / 0.204
951Michele PIRROITAIgnite Pramac RacingDucati302.21’36.9101.647 / 0.147
1038Bradley SMITHGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha303.81’37.0021.739 / 0.092
114Andrea DOVIZIOSOITADucati TeamDucati304.91’37.0411.778 / 0.039
1269Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati304.81’37.1531.890 / 0.112
1317Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingART289.71’37.3462.083 / 0.193
148Hector BARBERASPAAvintia BlusensFTR289.81’37.4562.193 / 0.110
1514Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART289.01’37.4892.226 / 0.033
1629Andrea IANNONEITAEnergy T.I. Pramac RacingDucati306.61’37.5382.275 / 0.049
179Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter289.61’37.6542.391 / 0.116
1868Yonny HERNANDEZCOLPaul Bird MotorsportART288.61’37.9172.654 / 0.263
195Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR Kawasaki288.41’38.1472.884 / 0.230
2071Claudio CORTIITANGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR Kawasaki289.11’38.3343.071 / 0.187
2170Michael LAVERTYGBRPaul Bird MotorsportPBM288.01’38.8743.611 / 0.540
2267Bryan STARINGAUSGO&FUN Honda GresiniFTR Honda286.71’39.7084.445 / 0.834
2322Ivan SILVASPAAvintia BlusensFTR279.91’39.9504.687 / 0.242
2452Lukas PESEKCZECame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter279.21’41.6926.429 / 1.742