2013 Mugello MotoGP | Results

Ducati Team's Andrea Dovizioso

2013 Grand Prix of Italy MotoGP Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 MotoGP results from Mugello listed below

Designed in 1974, the Mugello Circuit resides in the hillsides just outside of Florence in Italy’s Tuscany region.

The Ferarri-owned circuit is known for its speeds, and is one of the fastest tracks on the 18-round 2013 MotoGP schedule, the prototype-pilots hitting over 215 mph on the front straight.

And just as the region loves its finely-made red wines, it also loves its local MotoGP hero – Valentino Rossi. The race attracted 76,000 fans, most of them there to see their nine-time World Champion back aboard the Yamaha Factory Racing YZR-M1.

But when the 22-lap Grand Prix of Italy got underway, there was drama that surely sent many Italian fans home brooding. By turn four of lap one, GO & FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista admittedly ran into Rossi, sending both riders quickly into the gravel. Rossi was slow to get up, but eventually him and Bautista walked away from the lap-one crash (report to follow).

Though misery brewed on Rossi’s side of the paddock, it was the total opposite for the other side of the Yamaha garage. This was due to the reigning MotoGP Champion Jorge Lorenzo riding with exact precision, leading all 22 laps of Mugello MotoGP.

This would be Lorenzo’s second win of 2013 MotoGP (Qatar), and redemption for his seventh-place finish at Le Mans two weeks ago. This would also be Lorenzo’s third consecutive win at Mugello, and 25th MotoGP-career win.

Joining Lorenzo on the podium was the man who won the previous two rounds at Le Mans and Jerez, Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa, and Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow.

When the Italian Grand Prix got underway, the pole-man Pedrosa got his typical quick start, but the Spaniard was quickly passed by Lorenzo midway through turn one. The two were riding so aggressive they bumped. But Lorenzo, who started from second on the grid, was out to make a clear point, proudly putting his number-one plate out front.

Following the leaders through turn one was Pedrosa’s teammate and Circuit of the Americas winner Marc Marquez. The rookie was followed by Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso, who qualified third though suffering from neck pain from a massive crash in qualifying. Lining up behind Dovi was Crutchlow, Ducati Team’s Nicky Hayden and LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl.

Midway through lap one, Crutchlow passed Dovi for fourth and began chasing down the lead group that consisted of Lorenzo, Pedrosa and Marquez, respectively. When lap one was complete, Marquez was the quickest rider.

Two laps into the race, the grid was spread between the top three Spaniards, and Crutchlow, Dovi, Hayden and Bradl in a second group. In eighth was the top CRT bike, the Power Electronics Aspar piloted by Aleix Espargaro.

With 14 to go, the top three were 4.1 seconds ahead of the man running alone in fourth, the Brit Crutchlow. Almost 10 seconds behind the lead group was Bradl and the Ducati duo of Dovizioso and Hayden.

With 10 to go, Lorenzo posted a 1:47.929, the first rider to dip into the 1:47s, and began pulling away from Pedrosa and Marquez. Behind, a battle began between Dovi and Hayden, the Ducati riders pleasing the manufacturer’s home crowd.

With five laps to go, Marquez takes Pedrosa on at the sweeping Ss with a precise pass, the RC213V rider wanting a championship in his rookie year. But his performance was marred by a crash two laps later, his third major crash of the weekend.

Marquez lost the front at Casanova while running alone in second, handing the podium to Pedrosa. This also allowed Crutchlow to slip into third, taking his second consecutive podium of 2013 MotoGP.

Bradl made a last-lap pass on Dovi to secure fourth, with Hayden taking sixth. Sevneth went to Ducati test team rider Michele Pirro, who was followed by Espargaro, Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Bradley Smith and Avintia Blusenes CRT’s Hector Barbera, making for two CRT bikes in the top 10.

Missing from the grid was Pramac Ducati’s Ben Spies, who was forced out due to an ongoing shoulder injury.

With his second-place finish, Pedrosa, who set a new lap record during qualifying at Mugello (1:47.157) retains the points lead with 103, 12 ahead of Lorenzo. Marquez is in third with 77 points, followed by Crutchlow in fourth with 71.

The 2013 MotoGP Championship now breaks for two weeks before resuming at Catalunya for round six June 14-16.

2013 Mugello MotoGP Results:

12599Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha173.741’39.733
22026Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda173.3+5.400
31635Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha173.2+6.412
4136Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda172.4+19.321
5114Andrea DOVIZIOSOITADucati TeamDucati172.3+19.540
61069Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati171.9+26.321
7951Michele PIRROITADucati Test TeamDucati171.1+38.144
8841Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART171.0+39.802
9738Bradley SMITHGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha170.9+40.243
1068Hector BARBERASPAAvintia BlusensFTR170.4+48.392
11514Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART170.4+48.480
1249Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter168.7+1’13.708
13329Andrea IANNONEITAEnergy T.I. Pramac RacingDucati168.6+1’14.601
1425Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR Kawasaki168.2+1’21.249
15117Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingART167.9+1’25.738
1668Yonny HERNANDEZCOLPaul Bird MotorsportART167.8+1’27.339
1770Michael LAVERTYGBRPaul Bird MotorsportPBM167.8+1’27.758
1867Bryan STARINGAUSGO&FUN Honda GresiniFTR Honda166.7+1’44.424
1952Lukas PESEKCZECame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter166.7+1’45.227
Not Classified
93Marc MARQUEZSPARepsol Honda TeamHonda173.43 Laps
71Claudio CORTIITANGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR Kawasaki167.46 Laps
7Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNAvintia BlusensFTR166.37 Laps
46Valentino ROSSIITAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha0 Lap
19Alvaro BAUTISTASPAGO&FUN Honda GresiniHonda0 Lap

2013 MotoGP Championship Point Standings (after five of 18 rounds):

1Dani PEDROSAHondaSPA103
2Jorge LORENZOYamahaSPA91
5Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiITA50
6Valentino ROSSIYamahaITA47
7Nicky HAYDENDucatiUSA45
8Alvaro BAUTISTAHondaSPA38
9Stefan BRADLHondaGER30
11Bradley SMITHYamahaGBR24
12Michele PIRRODucatiITA22
13Andrea IANNONEDucatiITA21
16Ben SPIESDucatiUSA9
17Danilo PETRUCCIIoda-SuterITA8
19Colin EDWARDSFTR KawasakiUSA3