2013 Le Mans Moto2 | Results

2013 French Grand Prix Moto2 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 Moto2 results from Le Mans Bugatti Circuit above

In a rain-soaked Moto2 race at the iconic Le Mans Bugatti Circuit, Britain's Scott Redding brought home a victory for his country.

This was the first time a British rider won at Le Mans since Alan Carter won the 250cc race there 30 years ago.

The Marc VDS Racing Team rider was joined on the podium by his teammate Mika Kallio, and Desguaces La Torre Maptaq's Xavier Simeon.

Redding's success was no easy feat. At the start, the 20-year-old had plummeted to ninth position off the wetter, right-hand side of the track following heavy rain overnight.

Takaaki Nakagami led in the early stages ahead Pol Espargaro, with both Espargaro and championship-leading Tuenti HP 40 teammate Esteve Rabat falling in harmony at Musee corner, dropping down the order on Lap 3.

Nakagami was left with a three-second advantage, but the Italtrans Racing Team man lost control at the same corner just four laps later as sprinkles of rain made for a greasy track surface.

The intermediary conditions contributed to retirements for no less than ten riders, including Mapfre Aspar Tech Moto2 pairing Jordi Torres and Nico Terol, Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Racing’s Tom Luthi and the independently-funded Gino Rea, who had remarkably reached a high of 12th position from 31st on the grid.

A strong recovery ride from Redding saw him rise to the front on Lap 8, passing Johann Zarco who had delighted the French crowd by leading. Redding’s teammate Kallio looked to threaten as he typically grew stronger and pushed on in the second half of the race.

Heavier rain towards the end threw a spanner into the works for Redding, but red flags flew on the 24th of 26 laps. As the result was declared at the end of Lap 22 (the last which all riders had completed), Kallio inherited second position despite being overtaken by Simeon before the stoppage. Nevertheless, the Belgian Desguaces La Torre Maptaq rider still achieved a first ever podium finish.

Technomag carXpert’s Dominique Aegerter and Came Iodaracing Project’s aforementioned Zarco were fourth and fifth from NGM Mobile Racing’s Mattia Pasini, JiR Moto2’s Mike di Meglio and Italtrans’ Julian Simon. Anthony West and Alex de Angelis completed the top ten for QMMF Racing Team and NGM Mobile Forward Racing, respectively, as reigning Moto3 champion Sandro Cortese scored his first Moto2 points, in 13th place for Dynavolt Intact GP.

In 15th, the final point was collected by Tech 3 Racing’s Frenchman Louis Rossi, who had won the Moto3 race at Le Mans 12 months ago.

2013 Le Mans Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 150.4 36'43.583
2 20 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 150.3 +1.090
3 16 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Desguaces La Torre Maptaq Kalex 150.3 +1.234
4 13 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 150.2 +1.701
5 11 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Came Iodaracing Project Suter 150.2 +1.859
6 10 54 Mattia PASINI ITA NGM Mobile Racing Speed Up 149.5 +12.272
7 9 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA JiR Moto2 Motobi 149.5 +12.378
8 8 60 Julian SIMON SPA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 148.4 +29.712
9 7 95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 148.3 +30.479
10 6 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing Speed Up 148.3 +31.235
11 5 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 148.2 +31.535
12 4 3 Simone CORSI ITA NGM Mobile Racing Speed Up 148.2 +31.675
13 3 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex 148.2 +31.917
14 2 23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Desguaces La Torre SAG Kalex 148.0 +35.778
15 1 96 Louis ROSSI FRA Tech 3 Tech 3 147.4 +45.045
16 52 Danny KENT GBR Tech 3 Tech 3 147.3 +45.151
17 17 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Argiñano & Gines Racing Speed Up 146.7 +55.456
18 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Moriwaki 146.4 +59.886
19 7 Doni Tata PRADITA INA Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 146.2 +1'02.095
20 40 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 146.0 +1'06.414
21 44 Steven ODENDAAL RSA Argiñano & Gines Racing Speed Up 143.3 +1'48.007
22 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex 141.5 1 Lap
23 80 Esteve RABAT SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 130.4 2 Laps
24 97 Rafid Topan SUCIPTO INA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 127.9 3 Laps
88 Ricard CARDUS SPA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Speed Up 144.5 +1'29.658
8 Gino REA GBR Gino Rea Race Team FTR 78.6 10 Laps
Not Classified
24 Toni ELIAS SPA Blusens Avintia Kalex 132.8 3 Laps
18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 149.3 5 Laps
30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 148.8 16 Laps
12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Racing Suter 113.7 18 Laps
81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 139.6 20 Laps
9 Kyle SMITH GBR Blusens Avintia Kalex 0 Lap
49 Axel PONS SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 0 Lap
14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 Suter 0 Lap

2013 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Scott REDDING Kalex GBR 76
2 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 52
3 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 47
4 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 47
5 Pol ESPARGARO Kalex SPA 41
6 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 38
7 Xavier SIMEON Kalex BEL 35
8 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 29
9 Johann ZARCO Suter FRA 28
10 Alex DE ANGELIS Speed Up RSM 22
11 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 20
12 Mattia PASINI Speed Up ITA 18
13 Julian SIMON Kalex SPA 18
14 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 16
15 Simone CORSI Speed Up ITA 15
16 Marcel SCHROTTER Kalex GER 15
17 Mike DI MEGLIO Motobi FRA 14
18 Toni ELIAS Kalex SPA 14
20 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 5
21 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 3
22 Louis ROSSI Tech 3 FRA 1
23 Ricard CARDUS Speed Up SPA 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.