Motorcycle Racing News Ducati MotoGP Team Heads to 2013 Wrooom

Ducati MotoGP Team Heads to 2013 Wrooom

Former Ducati Team rider Valentino Rossi pilots a two-seater with Nicky Hayden during the 2012 Wrooom event.

2013 Wrooom F1 and MotoGP Press Ski Meeting

This Monday, the 23rd edition of “Wrooom” gets underway at Madonna di Campiglio in the heart of the Dolomites, Northern Italy.

The famed F1 and MotoGP Press Ski Meeting, which runs from Jan. 14 through 18, symbolically kicks off both championships. And in 2013, Wrooom will feature the Scuderia Ferrari F1 team, and the Ducati Team and Ducati-factory supported Team Pramac.

Ducati Team riders Nicky Hayden and newly-signed Andrea Dovizoso will arrive Monday, and will host their first-official press conference of 2013 MotoGP on Tuesday morning. Joining Hayden and Dovi on Tuesday afternoon will be “special guests” at Wrooom – Team Pramac riders Ben Spies and Andrea Iannone.

Ducati says “this terrific line-up of four riders, with an impressive array of titles, experience and talent behind them, will meet and greet the Campiglio crowds and together they are ready to represent Ducati in a MotoGP season that promises to be interesting and full of excitement.”

Ducati Motor Holding General Manager Claudio Domenicali and the Ducati 1199 Panigale Tricolore during 2012 Wrooom.

Following the riders introduction, Ducati management will host a press conference on Wednesday. The highlight of this conference will be Ducati Corse’s new General Manager, Bernhard Gobmeier, who will illustrate the plans for the 2013 MotoGP racing season.

And as tradition, the newest MotoGP machine will be unveiled. This year will be a historical unveiling, considering four Desmosedici GP13 prototypes will be presented – the GP13s that will be piloted by Ducati Team’s Hayden and Dovizioso, and the GP13s that will be piloted by Pramac’s Spies and Iannone.

And on Friday, the traditional Kart races will take place on Madonna di Campiglio’s frozen lake, pitting the MotoGP riders against Scuderia Ferrari drivers Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa. During last year’s Wrooom event, former Ducati Team rider Valentino Rossi was the victor.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2016-2020 Triumph Thruxton Recall: Side Stand Issues

Triumph Motorcycles America has recalled 3,244 of its 2016-2018 Thruxton, 2016-2019 Thruxton R, and 2020 Thruxton TFC motorcycles due to side-stand issues.

2019-2020 Triumph Speed Twin Recall: Gear Shift Lever Issues

Triumph Motorcycles America has recalled 1,304 of its 2019-2020 Speed Twin motorcycles due to gear shift lever issues. Triumph says the gear shift lever linkage...

2020 Anaheim 2 Supercross Results and Coverage: 3 Races, 3 Winners

Eli Tomac made it three winners in three races on three brands in the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series as he overcame a...

2020 Dakar Rally Results: Honda’s Brabec Claims 1st Win for USA (Video)

For the past 18 consecutive years, KTM has dominated the Dakar Rally, winning each event in dominating style. Two legendary names are associated with...

2020 Triumph Thruxton RS Review (17 Fast Facts)

The new top-spec 2020 Triumph Thruxton RS is the latest addition to the British marque’s storied line, which also includes the standard Thruxton and...

America’s Brabec Leads 2020 Dakar Rally with 1 Stage Remaining

Though he struggled to a 10th-place finish during stage 11 of the 2020 Dakar Rally, Monster Energy Honda Team's Ricky Brabec holds the overall lead with one stage remaining.