2012 Valencia MotoGP | Results

2012 MotoGP Season Finale Results

Spoiler Alert: 2012 MotoGP Championship results from Valencia, Spain, listed below

Following the sighting lap for Valencia MotoGP, Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa made a smart move. The Spaniard changed bikes, opting to run slicks, though race direction declared the race wet.

Due to the bike change, the RC213V rider had to start from pit lane, and got onto the track at the back of the pack. But Pedrosa climbed more than 15 positions, and was quickly in second.

Pedrosa had much work ahead, considering he was over 25 second behind the leader, Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo. But the 2012 MotoGP Champion crashed out on lap 13 of 30, giving the lead to Pedrosa.

Pedrosa, who had his moments on the wet track, ran consistently, taking his seventh win of the season at Valencia. He was joined on the Valencia podium by Ben Spies replacement rider on the factory Yamaha YZR-M1, Katsuyuki Nakasuga, and the other Repsol Honda rider, the retiring Casey Stoner.

The race was declared wet by Race Direction despite a near dry line having formed, and only Lorenzo, Nakasuga, and LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl, chose the softer option slick tires, with all others on the hard wets.

However, in a twist unseen this season, Pedrosa, Ducati Team’s Nicky Hayden, Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Cal Crutchlow and San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Álvaro Bautista then decided to start from pit-lane after their sighting lap, with all of them switching to a bike with slick tyres.

As the race got underway it was Power Electronics Aspar’s Aleix Espargaró who was leading the early exchanges, yet within three laps Lorenzo’s choice looked the better one as he was started to lap significantly quicker than the rest.

Pedrosa was carving his way through the pack, whilst many riders that were on wets started coming into the pits to switch to their bikes with slicks, amongst which were Repsol Honda’s Casey Stoner, Pramac Racing Team’s Héctor Barberá, and Tech 3’s Andrea Dovizioso.

Amid the frantic happenings, Hayden, Avintia Blusens’ Iván Silva, and Speed Master’s Roberto Rolfo crashed out of contention. On lap eight, Lorenzo was leading with Pedrosa in tow, whilst Bradl was running third with Nakasuga and Crutchlow behind. It was however not to be for the young German as he lost control of his bike in Turn 5 and crashed out. With 18 laps remaining Crutchlow efforts were rewarded by getting past Nakasuga, as Pedrosa had a moment and ran wide, putting him over three seconds back on Lorenzo.

Then there was huge drama as the World Champion was highsided off his bike as he was passing back markers, and was fortunate to walk away unhurt. This left Pedrosa in the lead, who also had his work cut out getting past the slower riders. On lap 19 the crashes continued as Barberá also took a tumble, whilst Espargaró’s teammate Randy de Puniet ran into the gravel. A lap later he was followed Avintia Blusens’ Claudio Corti, who skidded off into the gravel on his Inmotec chassis.

Just as things looked to have settled down, Crutchlow was caught out by the conditions and dropped out of second place. This moved Bautista up into third, although Stoner was catching up quickly in fourth. And with three laps remaining Stoner was all over the rear wheel Bautista and caught him at the end of the lap down the home straight to move into third.

In the end it was Pedrosa who took chequered flag to score his seventh win of the season, with Nakasuga taking the first Japanese podium this year in his second wildcard entry, and Stoner signing off his GP career with the final step on the rostrum.

The first non-podium finisher was Bautista, followed by his teammate Michele Pirro, Dovizioso, Cardion AB Racing’s Karel Abraham, Came IodaRacing Project’s Danilo Petrucci, Paul Bird Motorsport’s James Ellison and Ducati’s Valentino Rossi. Espargaró finished in 11th and secured himself the CRT title this season, whilst Bautista consolidated fifth in the championship.

2012 Valencia MotoGP Results:

1.2526Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda149.048’23.819
2.2021Katsuyuki NAKASUGAJPNYamaha Factory RacingYamaha147.0+37.661
3.161Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda145.9+1’00.633
4.1319Alvaro BAUTISTASPASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda145.8+1’02.811
5.1151Michele PIRROITASan Carlo Honda GresiniFTR144.6+1’26.608
6.104Andrea DOVIZIOSOITAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha144.5+1’30.423
7.917Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingDucati144.4+1’31.789
8.89Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter143.51 Lap
9.777James ELLISONGBRPaul Bird MotorsportART143.11 Lap
10.646Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati142.91 Lap
11.541Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART141.11 Lap
12.414Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART138.32 Laps
13.373Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNAvintia BlusensBQR136.72 Laps
14.25Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter132.63 Laps
Not Classified
35Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha146.78 Laps
71Claudio CORTIITAAvintia BlusensInmotec130.013 Laps
8Hector BARBERASPAPramac Racing TeamDucati134.514 Laps
99Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha146.617 Laps
6Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda141.821 Laps
84Roberto ROLFOITASpeed MasterART128.324 Laps
22Ivan SILVASPAAvintia BlusensBQR126.928 Laps
69Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati126.928 Laps

2012 MotoGP Final Point Standings:

1.Jorge LORENZOYamahaSPA350
2.Dani PEDROSAHondaSPA332
3.Casey STONERHondaAUS254
4.Andrea DOVIZIOSOYamahaITA218
5.Alvaro BAUTISTAHondaSPA178
6.Valentino ROSSIDucatiITA163
8.Stefan BRADLHondaGER135
9.Nicky HAYDENDucatiUSA122
10.Ben SPIESYamahaUSA88
11.Hector BARBERADucatiSPA83
14.Karel ABRAHAMDucatiCZE59
15.Michele PIRROFTRITA43
18.Katsuyuki NAKASUGAYamahaJPN27
19.Danilo PETRUCCIIoda-SuterITA27
20.Colin EDWARDSSuterUSA27
21.Jonathan REAHondaGBR17
24.Toni ELIASDucatiSPA10