2012 Valencia Moto2 | Results

2012-valencia-moto2-results (1)2012 Valencia Moto2 Season Finale

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Valencia Moto2 result from Valencia listed below

Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol’s Marc Marquez rode a phenomenal race at the Gran Premio Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana as he charged his way to victory from last on the grid ahead of Julián Simón and Nico Terol.

In a race that started on a wet track, Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2’s Terol had a sensational start and took the lead in Turn 4, which was named after him earlier in the day.

He had Tuenti Movil HP 40’s Pol Espargaro, Came IodaRacing Projects’ Simone Corsi and Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi in tow. Márquez, who started last, was already up to 11th after just one lap. Blusens Avintia’s Julián Simón had also charged up the field and was on the back of Espargaró’s rear wheel.

Whike Márquez was looking strong, Federal Oil Gresini Moto2’s Gino Rea made a pass on the Spaniard, as the pair was being held up by Terol’s teammate Jordi Torres. With 21 laps remaining Torres had been passed, as Rea had also made his way past Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter, with Márquez finding it tougher to pass the Swiss rider. The battling was fierce as the group caught up to Lüthi, who was soon involved in the fight for sixth.

There was however drama a few laps later as Espargaroi slid off after making contact with Corsi. He managed to re-mount and re-join in 18th.  In the meantime, Simón had passed Terol to take the lead, as Espargaro’s crash left Tech 3 Racing’s Xavier Siméon in third.

JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco made himself known on lap nine, as the Frenchman found his stride and started to halt Márquez’s progress. Siméon’s race was however soon halted as he slid off, with Zarco soon following suit as conditions started to worsen.

Márquez and Rea continued their enthralling battle, once touching, which saw Márquez having to run wide. Yet Márquez did not hold back as he passed Rea and then Aegerter in a tough move town the straight, which prompted the Spaniard to hold up an apologetic hand. Rea suffered disappointment soon after as he crashed out chasing Márquez, who was then in third spot. In the meantime, QMMF Racing’s Rafid Topan Sucipto had crashed out, yet was able to re-join the race, while his teammate Elena Rosell was taken out by JiR Moto2’s Eric Granado.

With eight laps left Márquez was on a mission as he flew past Terol and started to hunt down Simon at the front. His pace was significantly higher than the front-runner, and with three laps left Marquez was on the back wheel of Simón. And heading into the penultimate lap the World Champion made his way past to take the lead.

He did not relinquish that lead and ended up taking victory in his final ever Moto2 race before moving up to MotoGP in stunning fashion. It is the first time in history that a rider has won a race from 33rd on the grid. Simón and Terol took the final spots on the podium, with this being Terol’s first ever podium in the intermediate-class.

They were followed by Lüthi, Aegerter, Torres, Marc VDS Racing Team’s Mika Kallio, Espargaró, Italtrans Racing Team’s Toni Elías and Pons’ Esteve Rabat. Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone, despite only finishing in 11th, managed to hold onto third spot in the championship ahead of Lüthi.

2012 Valencia Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol Suter 132.8 48’50.706
2 20 60 Julian SIMON SPA Blusens Avintia Suter 132.8 +1.256
3 16 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 132.3 +11.372
4 13 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten-Paddock Suter 132.2 +13.006
5 11 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 132.2 +13.825
6 10 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 131.6 +27.911
7 9 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 131.2 +36.338
8 8 40 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti Movil HP 40 Kalex 131.1 +38.335
9 7 24 Toni ELIAS SPA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 131.1 +39.419
10 6 80 Esteve RABAT SPA Tuenti Movil HP 40 Kalex 131.1 +39.476
11 5 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Speed Up 131.0 +40.207
12 4 8 Gino REA GBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 131.0 +41.197
13 3 17 Dani RIVAS SPA TSR Galicia School Kalex 131.0 +41.768
14 2 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR 131.0 +41.943
15 1 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA Arguiñano Racing Team AJR 130.9 +42.303
16 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 130.9 +43.064
17 3 Simone CORSI ITA Came IodaRacing Project FTR 130.6 +49.970
18 75 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Technomag-CIP Suter 130.5 +51.639
19 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kalex 130.5 +53.198
20 49 Axel PONS SPA Tuenti Movil HP 40 Kalex 130.4 +54.632
21 23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Desguaces La Torre SAG Bimota 130.3 +56.401
22 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 130.3 +56.974
23 22 Alessandro ANDREOZZI ITA S/Master Speed Up Speed Up 130.2 +59.679
24 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 Suter 129.5 +1’16.201
25 54 Mattia PASINI ITA NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR 129.5 +1’16.352
26 28 Roman RAMOS SPA SAG Team FTR 129.4 +1’18.354
27 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 129.0 +1’26.234
28 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Kiefer Racing Kalex 128.9 +1’29.530
29 57 Eric GRANADO BRA JIR Moto2 Motobi 125.6 1 Lap
30 97 Rafid Topan SUCIPTO INA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 120.2 2 Laps
Not Classified
82 Elena ROSELL SPA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 127.3 10 Laps
30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 125.3 13 Laps
5 Johann ZARCO FRA JIR Moto2 Motobi 130.5 17 Laps

2012 Moto2 Final Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Marc MARQUEZ Suter SPA 324
2. Pol ESPARGARO Kalex SPA 268
3. Andrea IANNONE Speed Up ITA 193
4. Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 190
5. Scott REDDING Kalex GBR 161
6. Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 128
7. Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 114
8. Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 110
9. Bradley SMITH Tech 3 GBR 109
10. Johann ZARCO Motobi FRA 94
11. Simone CORSI FTR ITA 87
13. Julian SIMON Suter SPA 79
14. Claudio CORTI Kalex ITA 74
15. Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 56
16. Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 52
17. Toni ELIAS Kalex SPA 48
18. Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 36
19. Randy KRUMMENACHER Kalex SWI 31
20. Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 29
21. Gino REA Suter GBR 21
22. Xavier SIMEON Tech 3 BEL 21
23. Mike DI MEGLIO Kalex FRA 14
24. Hafizh SYAHRIN FTR MAL 13
25. Axel PONS Kalex SPA 10
27. Ratthapark WILAIROT Suter THA 9
28. Ricard CARDUS AJR SPA 8
29. Dani RIVAS Kalex SPA 3
31. Roberto ROLFO Suter ITA 1