Valencia MotoGP | Ducati’s Hayden Tops FP1

2012-valencia-motogp-ducati-hayden-tops-fp1 (1)2012 Valencia MotoGP Free Practice 1 Results

The final round of the 2012 MotoGP Championship got underway Friday with wet conditions at Valencia, the fourth circuit on Spanish soil.

Having an optimal setup in the wet, Ducati Team’s Nicky Hayden was able to post the quickest time ahead of Spanish favorites Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) and the 2012 MotoGP Champion, Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha Factory Racing).

Hayden would top the FP1 time sheets with a 1:44.485. To put this time into perspective, under dry conditions the circuit record is a 1:32.582 set by Casey Stoner in 2008 (Ducati). The Kentuckian was 1.005 of a second quicker than Pedorsa, and 1.460 quicker than Lorenzo.

Fourth quickest was Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Andrea Dovizioso, the Italian only 0.076 of a second behind Lorenzo. Dovi was followed by San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista, who was over three tenths of a second behind. Bautista, also a Spaniard, was followed by Power Electronics Aspar CRT’s Aleix Espargaro, showing that the CRT class can be somewhat competitive under wet conditions.

Ducati Team’s Valentino Rossi finished seventh, over two seconds off the top time. Following the future factory Yamaha rider was Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow, Espargaró’s teammate Randy de Puniet, and Repsol Honda’s Casey Stoner.

MotoGP reports that Paul Bird Motorsport’s James Ellison was and early crasher, followed by Yamaha’s Ben Spies replacement rider Katsuyuki Nakasuga. Both riders were unhurt in the incidents. Italian rider Claudio Corti also made his GP debut on board Avintia Blusens’ Inmotec chassis. He has also been confirmed as teammate to NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Colin Edwards for next season.

Free Practice Two gets underway soon, hopefully under drier conditions.

2012 Valencia MotoGP Free Practice One Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.69Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati306.41’44.485
2.26Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda306.61’45.4901.005 / 1.005
3.99Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha304.61’45.9451.460 / 0.455
4.4Andrea DOVIZIOSOITAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha308.61’46.0211.536 / 0.076
5.19Alvaro BAUTISTASPASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda303.71’46.4131.928 / 0.392
6.41Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART293.31’46.5742.089 / 0.161
7.46Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati306.51’46.6782.193 / 0.104
8.35Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha299.61’46.8392.354 / 0.161
9.14Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART290.11’47.0392.554 / 0.200
10.1Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda295.41’47.5273.042 / 0.488
11.6Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda297.31’47.8253.340 / 0.298
12.17Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingDucati292.61’47.8623.377 / 0.037
13.21Katsuyuki NAKASUGAJPNYamaha Factory RacingYamaha298.11’48.1103.625 / 0.248
14.51Michele PIRROITASan Carlo Honda GresiniFTR285.11’48.2443.759 / 0.134
15.22Ivan SILVASPAAvintia BlusensBQR286.31’48.9184.433 / 0.674
16.9Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter290.21’49.1434.658 / 0.225
17.8Hector BARBERASPAPramac Racing TeamDucati302.61’49.4444.959 / 0.301
18.5Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter290.61’49.7485.263 / 0.304
19.77James ELLISONGBRPaul Bird MotorsportART287.21’50.7356.250 / 0.987
84Roberto ROLFOITASpeed MasterART288.11’51.8267.341 / 1.091
71Claudio CORTIITAAvintia BlusensInmotec282.71’51.9967.511 / 0.170
73Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNAvintia BlusensBQR265.91’54.2459.760 / 2.249