2012 Phillip Island Moto3 | Results

2012-phillip-island-moto3-results2012 AirAsia Australian Grand Prix Moto3 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Phillip Island Moto3 Results listed below

In a thrilling Moto3 race at the AirAsia Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s World Champion Sandro Cortese took a strong victory ahead of Miguel Oliveira and local rider Arthur Sissis.

AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin got a lighting start as he led the early stages, followed by RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom, who had made his way up from ninth.

Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger and Racing Team Germany’s Louis Rossi were in tow, as Cortese was stalking them from behind. Mahindra Racing’s weekend took a turn for the worse as Ricardo Moretti had to retire after just a few laps.

In a dramatic twist, Folger, Salom, Rossi, Andalucia JHK t-shirt Laglisse’s Alberto Moncayo and Caretta Technology’s Jack Miller were given ride-through penalties for jump-starts. Rossi, before even seeing the board, made an error in the leading pack as he went onto the grass, but managed to stay upright.

TT Motion Events Racing’s Niklas Ajo saved a near crash with 16 laps remaining, whilst Cortese had taken over the lead after much of the leading pack had completed their penalties.  Also making use of this was Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Miguel Oliveira in second, whilst Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales was tussling with Cortese’s teammate Arthur Sissis for fourth.

13 laps before the end and Ajo was not so lucky again as he dropped his bike in the gravel. Meanwhile, Team Italia FMI duo of Romano Fenati and Alessandro Tonucci, Oliveira’s teammate Alex Rins, JHK t-shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez and Red Bull’s Danny Kent had joined the group chasing the final podium spot. Folger’s teammate Luca Amato retired from the race at the halfway point. With eight laps remaining it was drama for Viñales as he crashed his bike, putting an end to his charge.

Two laps later and Oliveira made his move on Cortese to take the lead for the first time. On the same lap, Racing Team Germany’s Toni Finsterbusch suffered a mechanical issue and retired from the race. Khairuddin then suffered a similar fate, as Cortese re-took the lead. The last two laps proved a thrilling affair in the fight for the final podium spot between Rins, Sissis, Kent, Fenati and Vázquez, with the riders going fairing-to-fairing at times.

In the end it was Cortese who crossed the line first ahead of podium sitters Oliveira and Sissis, with the Australian particularly pleased to get his first GP podium in front of his home crowd. With the country’s MotoGP star Casey Stoner retiring at the end of this year, the crowd will be happy to see that a possible replacement is coming up through the ranks. Fourth place went to Rins, followed by Kent, Fenati, Tonucci, Vázquez, Ambrogio Next Racing’s Alex Márquez and Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Isaac Viñales. Rins now leads the Rookie standings from Fenati by 5 points.

2012 Phillip Island Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 160.1 38’20.014
2. 20 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 160.0 +2.108
3. 16 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 159.8 +5.031
4. 13 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 159.8 +5.084
5. 11 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 159.8 +5.107
6. 10 5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 159.8 +5.109
7. 9 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 159.8 +5.374
8. 8 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 159.7 +5.894
9. 7 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 158.0 +30.783
10. 6 32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 158.0 +30.911
11. 5 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 157.9 +32.803
12. 4 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 157.8 +33.302
13. 3 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 157.8 +33.479
14. 2 41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 157.8 +34.102
15. 1 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 157.1 +43.749
16. 89 Alan TECHER FRA Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 157.1 +43.827
17. 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 156.8 +49.394
18. 80 Armando PONTONE ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 155.6 +1’06.551
19. 17 John McPHEE GBR Caretta Technology KRP Honda 155.6 +1’06.588
20. 96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 155.5 +1’08.801
21. 8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology Honda 155.5 +1’08.908
22. 51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 155.4 +1’10.030
23. 30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 155.4 +1’10.411
24. 75 Lincoln GILDING AUS K1 Racing Honda 153.9 +1’33.510
25. 36 Sam CLARKE AUS Fastline GP Racing Honda 147.7 1 Lap
Not Classified
63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 158.8 4 Laps
9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Racing Team Germany Honda 154.3 7 Laps
25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 159.9 9 Laps
31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing KTM 156.0 12 Laps
29 Luca AMATO GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 156.8 15 Laps
20 Riccardo MORETTI ITA Mahindra Racing Mahindra 142.2 22 Laps

2012 Moto3 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Sandro CORTESE KTM GER 305
2. Luis SALOM Kalex KTM SPA 208
3. Maverick VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 199
4. Alex RINS Suter Honda SPA 141
5. Romano FENATI FTR Honda ITA 136
6. Danny KENT KTM GBR 129
7. Miguel OLIVEIRA Suter Honda POR 114
8. Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN KTM MAL 112
9. Jonas FOLGER Kalex KTM GER 93
10. Efren VAZQUEZ FTR Honda SPA 93
11. Arthur SISSIS KTM AUS 84
12. Alexis MASBOU Honda FRA 81
13. Louis ROSSI FTR Honda FRA 76
14. Niccolò ANTONELLI FTR Honda ITA 74
15. Jakub KORNFEIL FTR Honda CZE 62
16. Alberto MONCAYO FTR Honda SPA 52
17. Hector FAUBEL Kalex KTM SPA 52
18. Alessandro TONUCCI FTR Honda ITA 43
19. Niklas AJO KTM FIN 33
20. Alex MARQUEZ Suter Honda SPA 27
21. Alan TECHER TSR Honda FRA 21
22. Jack MILLER Honda AUS 17
23. Adrian MARTIN FTR Honda SPA 16
24. Brad BINDER Kalex KTM RSA 11
25. Ivan MORENO FTR Honda SPA 10
26. Jasper IWEMA FGR Honda NED 9
27. Luca GRUENWALD Honda GER 8
28. Isaac VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 8
29. Giulian PEDONE Suter Honda SWI 7
31. Marcel SCHROTTER Mahindra GER 4
32. Kevin HANUS Honda GER 3
33. Kevin CALIA Honda ITA 2
34. John McPHEE KRP Honda GBR 1
35. Michael Ruben RINALDI Honda ITA 1
36. Simone GROTZKYJ Suter Honda ITA 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.