2012 Phillip Island MotoGP | Results

2012 AirAsia Australian Grand Prix Results

Spoiler Alert: 2012 MotoGP results from Phillip Island, Australia, listed below

Two significant things occurred at the 2012 AirAsia Australian Grand Prix – Casey Stoner took his sixth consecutive win at Phillip Island and Jorge Lorenzo clinched the 2012 MotoGP Championship with one round remaining.

This was Lorenzo’s second title in the premier class, the Spaniard clinching it after finishing second. The man who was a threat to Lorenzo – Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa – crashed on the second lap while in the lead.

When the race got underway, Lorenzo got the holeshot, getting to turn one ahead of the pole sitter, Repsol Honda’s Stoner.

But right behind was Pedrosa, who passed Lorenzo within the first few turns. As Pedrosa attempted to pull away, Stoner was behind Lorenzo, and passed him heading into lap two.  Shortly after there was huge drama as Pedrosa pushed too hard and lost the rear of his bike, with Stoner and Lorenzo closely behind. The Spaniard was able to remount, yet had to pit with the bike too damaged, leaving Lorenzo in a strong position to take the world title.

As Stoner pulled away at the front in dominant fashion, an entertaining battle for third ensued being led by Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Cal Crutchlow, followed by teammate Andrea Dovizioso, San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Álvaro Bautista and LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl.

In the meantime, Paul Bird Motorsport’s James Ellison crashed out of the race, while NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Colin Edwards had to retire due to a technical issue. With 18 laps remaining Crutchlow was on a charge as he was lapping faster than Lorenzo, dropping off Dovizioso slightly, who had Bautista stuck to his rear wheel.

Behind, Ducati Team’s Valentino Rossi was leading a battle of the Desmosedicis ahead of Cardion AB Racing’s Karel Abraham and Ducati’s Nicky Hayden.

Stoner was leading at the front with Lorenzo and lonely second and Crutchlow a lonely third, yet Bautista, Bradl and Dovizioso were at each other’s throat throughout. With eight laps to go Speed Master’s Roberto Rolfo retired with a mechanical issue.

Further afield and Power Electronics Aspar’s Aleix Espargaró was tussling with teammate Randy de Puniet in their battle for CRT supremacy, with the two swapping positions frequently. With five laps remaining Dovizioso went past Bradl into fourth, whilst Bautista capitalised on this and also squeezed past the German for fifth. And two laps before the end the trio provided fairing-to-fairing action with Dovizioso leading into the last lap, and keeping this position until the line.

Yet ultimately it was Stoner who made it six wins in succession at the Australian track on his final bow at his home circuit, with Lorenzo clinching his second premier-class title with one round to go – the only Spaniard to have more than one. Crutchlow put in a terrific ride as he stormed to his second ever GP podium, despite suffering from illness. Dovizioso was the first non-podium finisher, followed by Bautista, Bradl, Rossi, Hayden, Abraham, as well as Espargaró, who came out on top in the CRT battle with his teammate.

The race was a huge draw for the Australian crowd as an estimated 53,100 fans descended on the track on Sunday, making the estimated three-day attendance a record breaking 122,470.

The series now breaks for two weeks before the season finale at Valencia.

2012 Phillip Island MotoGP Results:

1.251Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda175.741’01.324
2.2099Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha175.0+9.223
3.1635Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha174.6+14.570
4.134Andrea DOVIZIOSOITAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha174.0+23.303
5.1119Alvaro BAUTISTASPASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda174.0+23.432
6.106Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda174.0+23.467
7.946Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati173.0+37.113
8.869Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati173.0+38.387
9.717Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingDucati172.0+52.613
10.641Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART171.5+1’00.299
11.514Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART171.5+1’00.342
12.48Hector BARBERASPAPramac Racing TeamDucati170.0+1’21.951
13.39Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter169.6+1’27.857
14.251Michele PIRROITASan Carlo Honda GresiniFTR168.31 Lap
15.122Ivan SILVASPAAvintia BlusensBQR166.81 Lap
Not Classified
84Roberto ROLFOITASpeed MasterART168.29 Laps
5Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter163.721 Laps
77James ELLISONGBRPaul Bird MotorsportART167.222 Laps
26Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda164.926 Lap

2012 MotoGP Point Standings (after 17 of 18 rounds):

1.Jorge LORENZOYamahaSPA350
2.Dani PEDROSAHondaSPA307
3.Casey STONERHondaAUS238
4.Andrea DOVIZIOSOYamahaITA208
5.Alvaro BAUTISTAHondaSPA165
6.Valentino ROSSIDucatiITA157
8.Stefan BRADLHondaGER135
9.Nicky HAYDENDucatiUSA122
10.Ben SPIESYamahaUSA88
11.Hector BARBERADucatiSPA83
14.Karel ABRAHAMDucatiCZE50
15.Michele PIRROFTRITA32
18.Colin EDWARDSSuterUSA25
19.Danilo PETRUCCIIoda-SuterITA19
20.Jonathan REAHondaGBR17
23.Toni ELIASDucatiSPA10
24.Katsuyuki NAKASUGAYamahaJPN7