2012 Sepang Moto2 | Results

2012-sepang-moto2-results2012 Moto2 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto2 results from Sepang listed below

Just as the MotoGP race, Sunday’s Moto2 at Sepang was plagued by rain, torrential downpours delaying the race a half hour before race direction declared the race a wet one.

The race was later red flagged after 17 laps due to additional downpours. This scenario awarded NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis his maiden-Moto2 win. Joining de Angelis on the podium was Anthony West and Gino Rea

NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis took his maiden-Moto2 win this season in a hugely dramatic and soaking wet Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix in Sepang, finishing ahead of Anthony West and Gino Rea.

The first corner took its first casualty as Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami dropped his bike out of the lead. A few bends later there was a further crash with JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco and Tech 3 Racing’s Xavier Siméon, also causing Marc VDS Racing Team’s Mika Kallio to run off track.

The early stages were being led by Blusens Avintia’s Julián Simón, De Angelis and Federal Oil Gresini Moto2’s Gino Rea, with the Brit making terrific headway in the early stages. Nakagami, who had re-mounted, fell once again after colliding with JiR Moto2’s Eric Granado, who later retired. QMMF Racing Team’s Anthony West had fought his way into fourth and Kallio’s teammate Redding was in fifth 17 laps in, as Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi was handed a ride-through penalty for a jump-start.

A lap later, Rea’s teammate Ratthapark Wilairot lost the front of his bike, as Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez held steady in sixth, ahead of his Tuenti Movil HP 40 title rival Pol Espargaró, who was struggling in 12th. The weather added yet another cruel twist, as sun started to dry out the track rapidly, with a dry line forming quickly. Márquez was not taking any risks, and Petronas Raceline Malaysia’s wildcard Hafizh Syahrin soon made his way past, much to the delight of the home fans.

With 13 laps remaining De Angelis was in the lead, yet Rea was having great ride and was putting the pressure on the San Marino rider, as West made his way into third past Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi. A lap later Syahrin was on a mission as he soon powered past West into third, and then skilfully took De Angelis, and then out-braked Rea for first in an amazing trio of overtakes. With nine laps remaining the rain started to fall heavier once more, and Rea began to fight back with Syahrin holding strong, until De Angelis and West also got involved in the battle for first.

There was however huge drama with seven laps remaining as Márquez lost the front of his bike and crashed out of the race, with Espargaró in a strong enough position to take the title fight to the next race. On the same lap there were also crashes for Kiefer Racing’s Mike Di Meglio and Mapfre Aspar Moto2 duo of Nico Terol and Jordi Torres. A lap later, Lüthi also put his bike in the gravel.

With four laps left De Angelis was pulling out a small gap in front with West in tow, but Rea was fighting back venomously as a three-way tussle ensued. This was however cut short as the Red Flag was shown with two laps to go with too much rain falling on the track. Rea was in the lead when the flag was waved, yet the classification was taken from the previous lap, giving De Angelis his maiden win of the season, with West is second and Rea in third, both taking their first-ever Moto2™ podiums.

With Márquez’s title rival Espargaró finishing in 11th place, Márquez was unable to secure his title with only a 48-point lead and will have to try once more in Phillip Island. Fourth place went to Syahrin, ahead of Simón, Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone, Kallio, Smith, Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter and Espargaró’s teammate Esteve Rabat.

2012 Sepang Moto2 Results:

1.2515Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR135.136’57.793
2.2095Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up135.0+0.710
3.168Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter135.0+1.363
4.1386Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas Raceline MalaysiaFTR134.9+2.941
5.1160Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter134.6+7.583
6.1029Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up134.5+10.062
7.936Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex133.7+23.078
8.838Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3133.5+26.957
9.777Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter133.3+30.063
10.680Esteve RABATSPATuenti Movil HP 40Kalex133.2+31.514
11.540Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti Movil HP 40Kalex133.2+31.746
12.445Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex132.9+37.108
13.324Toni ELIASSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex132.8+38.627
14.249Axel PONSSPATuenti Movil HP 40Kalex132.7+39.095
15.188Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR132.7+40.686
16.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR132.6+40.757
17.75Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNTechnomag-CIPSuter132.6+41.859
18.23Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGBimota132.3+46.760
19.20Jesko RAFFINSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex130.9+1’10.712
20.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up130.5+1’17.807
21.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR130.4+1’19.320
22.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter130.0+1’27.281
23.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR129.2+1’41.865
22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up0 Lap
Not Classified
12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter134.91 Lap
63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAKiefer RacingKalex128.91 Lap
93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam Catalunya Caixa RepsolSuter134.53 Laps
18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter132.73 Laps
81Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter132.23 Laps
57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi117.59 Laps
30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex119.513 Laps
5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi0 Lap
19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 30 L

2012 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

1.Marc MARQUEZSuterSPA283
3.Andrea IANNONESpeed UpITA188
4.Thomas LUTHISuterSWI177
5.Scott REDDINGKalexGBR148
6.Mika KALLIOKalexFIN119
7.Bradley SMITHTech 3GBR104
8.Esteve RABATKalexSPA99
9.Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI87
11.Johann ZARCOMotobiFRA84
13.Claudio CORTIKalexITA74
14.Julian SIMONSuterSPA58
15.Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN50
16.Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS41
17.Toni ELIASKalexSPA37
19.Xavier SIMEONTech 3BEL19
20.Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA19
21.Gino REASuterGBR17
22.Jordi TORRESSuterSPA14
24.Mike DI MEGLIOKalexFRA13
25.Axel PONSKalexSPA10
27.Ratthapark WILAIROTSuterTHA8