2012 Motegi Moto2 | Results

2012-motegi-moto2-results (1)2012 Japanese Grand Prix Moto2 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto2 Championship results from Motegi listed below

Catalunya Caixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez staged a stunning comeback Sunday to win in an eventful and thrilling Moto2 race at the AirAsia Grand Prix of Japan in Motegi.

The Spaniard, who will join the Repsol Honda MotoGP team in 2013, finished ahead of Pol Espargaró and Esteve Rabat.

The start proved eventful, as Márquez’s bike wasn’t in gear, causing him to head into the first corner almost last, as much of the grid passed him while he put it in gear. Yet as Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding led the early stages ahead of Tuenti Movil HP 40’s Pol Espargaró, Márquez impressively fought his way up to seventh within two laps.

In frantic opening laps, the lead soon went to Espargaró’s teammate Esteve Rabat, whilst Italtrans Racing Team’s Toni Elías made his way into third.

With 19 laps to go Márquez had fought his way into fifth, while it was disappointing news for Tech 3 Racing’s Bradley Smith, who had to retire with a mechanical issue after looking strong all weekend.

Two laps on it was almost over for Espargaró as he nearly lost control of his bike at full lean, yet put in an incredible save. Márquez also did well to avoid him as he nipped into second. It was then up to Rabat to hold off the change from the championship leader, who was all over his rear wheel with 14 laps left.

A lap later Márquez made use of the slipstream to go into the lead, whilst Espargaró had closed up in third. In the meantime, SAG Team’s wildcard Kohta Nozane was black-flagged after returning to the track after having previously retired.

Redding’s teammate Mika Kallio ran wide with 11 laps to go, dropping him back down the order, while Espargaró went past Rabat to chase down Márquez. A few laps later, Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2’s Nico Terol copied Kallio and also ran wide at turn one on to the gravel. As the pack settled down, Espargaró caught up to Márquez with six laps to go as the pair rode a lonely race at the front. Three laps on and it was over for Elías as he crashed out of fifth place.

Espargaró tried to make his move half way through the penultimate lap, but nearly went into the back of Márquez. Rabat was holding strong in third, whilst Redding was trying to hold of Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi. Espargaró kept pushing, though it was to no avail, as Márquez crossed the finish line first, with Rabat recording his first podium this season.

This now puts Márquez 53 points clear at the top of the championship standings making him the clear favourite for the title. Redding held on for fourth, ahead of Lüthi, Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi, Elías teammate Takaaki Nakagami, JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco, Espargaró’s teammate Axel Pons and Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter.

2012 Motegi Moto2 Results:

1.2593Marc MARQUEZSPATeam Catalunya Caixa RepsolSuter154.342’56.171
2.2040Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti Movil HP 40Kalex154.3+0.415
3.1680Esteve RABATSPATuenti Movil HP 40Kalex153.7+9.584
4.1345Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex153.6+11.069
5.1112Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter153.6+11.595
6.103Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR153.2+18.383
7.930Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex153.2+18.672
8.85Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi152.6+28.226
9.749Axel PONSSPATuenti Movil HP 40Kalex152.6+28.451
10.677Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter152.6+28.599
11.560Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter152.6+28.971
12.495Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up152.6+29.609
13.381Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter152.5+29.815
14.219Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3152.0+39.783
15.163Mike DI MEGLIOFRAKiefer RacingKalex152.0+39.868
16.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR152.0+39.970
17.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex151.9+40.763
18.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up151.9+40.900
19.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter151.7+44.379
20.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR151.6+46.507
21.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter151.0+55.561
22.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR151.0+55.815
23.75Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNTechnomag-CIPSuter151.0+56.051
24.23Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGBimota151.0+56.492
25.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter150.9+58.417
26.22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up150.1+1’12.398
27.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up148.6+1’39.841
28.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi148.5+1’40.787
29.20Jesko RAFFINSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex147.41 Lap
Not Classified
24Toni ELIASSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex153.54 Laps
38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3149.620 Laps

Previous articlePomona AMA Flat Track: Mees Takes Title
Next article2012 Motegi Moto3 | Results
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).