Motorcycle Racing News 2012 Misano Moto2 | Results

2012 Misano Moto2 | Results

2012-misano-moto2-results (1)

2012 Moto2 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto2 results from Misano listed below

Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez recorded an emphatic win in a shortened re-started race at the Gran Premio Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera de Rimini in Misano.

Joining the future Repsol Honda MotoGP rider on the podium was Pol Espargaró and Andrea Iannone.

Following a restart due to an oil-spill by Federal Oil Gresini Moto2’s Gino Rea, the Moto2 grid set off for 14 laps with Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone on pole ahead of Márquez and Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró, the order in which the race initially stopped after three laps. With fresh tires on this shortened stint riders were able to push hard from the start.

Iannone made good use of his pole as he led into the first bend ahead of Márquez, and Espargaró’s teammate Esteve Rabat. Two laps in Márquez had a wobble coming on the home straight, letting Rabat and Espargaró through. Espargaró soon took advantage to nip into second and pursue the Italian leader, who was pulling out a gap. In the meantime, Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi and Marc VDS Racing Team duo of Mika Kallio and Scott Redding were closing in on Márquez.

However, the championship leader fought back, and took Rabat for third to pursue his main rivals. Further back, JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco muscled his way past Redding, who had overtaken the Frenchman shortly before.

On the same lap, QMMF Racing’s Elena Rosell crashed out of the race, as did Tech 3 Racing’s Xavier Siméon. Within a further lap, Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi and NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Yuki Takahashi also put their bikes into the gravel.

With four laps remaining Espargaró and Márquez had caught up to the rear wheel of Iannone, as the three commenced an enthralling fight for the lead. And it was Espargaró who pounced first to lead the trio, with Márquez also squeezing past the Italian into second. In an edge-of-your-seat last lap it was Márquez who prevailed after some tough passing between the Spanish pair, ultimately holding his nerve to cross the finish line first, with Espargaró and Iannone completing the podium.

Márquez’s seventh win of the season puts him 53 points clear at the top of the championship. Fourth place went to Kallio, followed by Rabat, Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter, Redding, Tech 3’s Bradley Smith, Lüthi and Zarco.

2012 Misano Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 153.1 23’11.278
2. 20 40 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 153.1 +0.359
3. 16 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Speed Up 152.9 +1.634
4. 13 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 152.5 +5.078
5. 11 80 Esteve RABAT SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 152.5 +5.246
6. 10 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 152.5 +5.570
7. 9 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 152.4 +6.364
8. 8 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 152.3 +6.853
9. 7 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten-Paddock Suter 152.3 +7.480
10. 6 5 Johann ZARCO FRA JIR Moto2 Motobi 152.2 +7.989
11. 5 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 152.2 +8.560
12. 4 60 Julian SIMON SPA Blusens Avintia Suter 151.8 +11.509
13. 3 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR 151.1 +18.329
14. 2 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 151.1 +18.342
15. 1 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 151.1 +18.568
16. 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 151.1 +18.687
17. 49 Axel PONS SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 151.0 +18.862
18. 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Kiefer Racing Kalex 150.3 +25.645
19. 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 Suter 149.9 +30.003
20. 95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 149.6 +32.439
21. 75 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Technomag-CIP Suter 149.5 +33.121
22. 23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Desguaces La Torre SAG Bimota 149.5 +33.258
23. 22 Alessandro ANDREOZZI ITA S/Master Speed Up Speed Up 149.5 +33.532
24. 10 Marco COLANDREA SWI SAG Team FTR 148.1 +47.303
Not Classified
72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR 151.1 6 Laps
3 Simone CORSI ITA Came IodaRacing Project FTR 151.1 6 Laps
19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 150.5 8 Laps
82 Elena ROSELL SPA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 135.5 13 Laps
8 Gino REA GBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 0 Lap
84 Steven ODENDAAL RSA Arguiñano Racing Team AJR 0 Lap

2012 Moto2 Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Marc MARQUEZ Suter SPA 238
2. Pol ESPARGARO Kalex SPA 185
3. Andrea IANNONE Speed Up ITA 165
4. Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 161
5. Scott REDDING Kalex GBR 115
6. Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 110
7. Bradley SMITH Tech 3 GBR 85
8. Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 73
9. Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 73
10. Claudio CORTI Kalex ITA 67
11. Johann ZARCO Motobi FRA 66
13. Simone CORSI FTR ITA 59
14. Julian SIMON Suter SPA 42
15. Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 41
16. Toni ELIAS Suter SPA 34
17. Randy KRUMMENACHER Kalex SWI 24
18. Xavier SIMEON Tech 3 BEL 17
19. Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 16
20. Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 11
21. Mike DI MEGLIO Speed Up FRA 10
23. Ratthapark WILAIROT Suter THA 8
24. Ricard CARDUS AJR SPA 6
25. Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 3
26. Axel PONS Kalex SPA 1
27. Gino REA Moriwaki GBR 1

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...

2021 Ducati Monster First Look [13 Fast Facts + Specs]

Amid these unique times when OEMs are usually launching their lineups at EICMA, Ducati spent the past five Wednesdays releasing new models. Many, like the...

2021 Ducati Monster Lineup First Look: 4 Models; 2 All-New

There’s a big shakeup in the Ducati Monster lineup for 2021. Say goodbye to the 797, 821, and 821 Stealth. Those three models are...

2020 Ducati Monster 821 Stealth Review (15 Fast Facts)

Upgraded in 2018, the Ducati Monster 821 was joined by a Stealth version in 2019. Not merely a matte black extravaganza with exclusive graphics,...