Motorcycle Racing News Honda's Pedrosa on Pole for Misano MotoGP

Honda’s Pedrosa on Pole for Misano MotoGP

2012-hondas-pedrosa-on-pole-for-2012-misano-motogp (1)

2012 Misano MotoGP Qualifying Results

Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa took advantage of the improved dry conditions during qualifying Saturday for the 2012 San Marino Grand Prix at Misano, the Spaniard taking the pole for Sunday’s race.

Pedrosa, who trails Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo by 13 points with six rounds remaining, posted a 1:33.857, the qualifying time becoming the new fastest lap at Misano. This was his fourth pole of 2012 MotoGP. Joining Pedrosa on the front row will be Lorenzo and Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow.

The qualifying session was the first one to be held in dry conditions; Friday’s practice sessions, which were topped by Cardion AB Racing Ducati’s Karel Abraham, and Saturday’s third practice session, which was led by San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista, were plagued by rain.

But when the 2.626-mile circuit containing 16 turns dried out, Pedrosa put in the fastest lap to take the pole. In the final minutes, Lorenzo pushed his YZR-M1 to take the second position, trailing Pedrosa by a mere 0.018 of a second. Crutchlow, who was on the provisional pole at one point, followed Pedrosa by 0.144 of a second.

Heading up the second row is LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl, who is showing additional comfort on the satellite RC213V. He will be joined by Bautista and Ducati Team’s Valentino Rossi, who finished 0.762 of a second behind, the final rider to post within a second of the Spaniard.

Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Andrea Dovizioso will start on top of the third row. He will be joined by Yamaha Factory Racing’s Ben Spies, who suffered a crash halfway through the session, and Casey Stoner’s substitute on the Repsol Honda, Jonathan Rea. The World Superbike rider consistently went quicker during the hour-long qualifying session, showing he is adapting well to the RC213V ahead of his MotoGP debut.

Ducati’s Nicky Hayden completed the top ten, putting in the laps despite still suffering from a right hand injury. Power Electronics Aspar’s Randy de Puniet finished as top CRT, having qualified in 12th. Apart from Spies, the only other crasher was Speed Master’s Mattia Pasini, who walked away unscathed, MotoGP says.

The 21-rider grid will return to Misano Sunday for the San Marino Grand Prix, which will be broadcast on SPEED TV at 8 a.m. EDT Sunday, Sept. 16, and once again at 3:30 p.m.

2012 Misano MotoGP Qualifying Results:

Pos. Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time Gap 1st/Prev.
1. 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 289.4 1’33.857
2. 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 284.1 1’33.875 0.018 / 0.018
3. 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 283.2 1’34.001 0.144 / 0.126
4. 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 284.1 1’34.221 0.364 / 0.220
5. 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 283.4 1’34.299 0.442 / 0.078
6. 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 280.7 1’34.619 0.762 / 0.320
7. 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 281.0 1’34.916 1.059 / 0.297
8. 11 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 285.9 1’34.988 1.131 / 0.072
9. 56 Jonathan REA GBR Repsol Honda Team Honda 285.6 1’35.358 1.501 / 0.370
10. 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 280.0 1’35.401 1.544 / 0.043
11. 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati 281.9 1’35.648 1.791 / 0.247
12. 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 269.1 1’35.756 1.899 / 0.108
13. 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 284.6 1’36.048 2.191 / 0.292
14. 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 268.7 1’36.284 2.427 / 0.236
15. 51 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini FTR 271.1 1’36.340 2.483 / 0.056
16. 77 James ELLISON GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART 266.1 1’37.124 3.267 / 0.784
17. 54 Mattia PASINI ITA Speed Master ART 267.1 1’37.162 3.305 / 0.038
18. 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Avintia Blusens BQR 266.3 1’37.316 3.459 / 0.154
19. 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda-Suter 265.0 1’37.751 3.894 / 0.435
20. 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 265.3 1’38.068 4.211 / 0.317
21. 44 David SALOM SPA Avintia Blusens BQR 266.1 1’40.075 6.218 / 2.007

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Langen Two Stroke First Look: Street-Legal V-Twin!

If you thought we’d never see another street-legal two-stroke sportbike, you’re not alone. There hasn’t been a full-size two-stroke motorcycle for the street in...

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...