2012 Brno Moto2 | Results


2012 Moto2 Championship

Catalunya Caixa Repsol’s Marc Marquez was once again successful Sunday during the Moto2 race of the bwin Czech Republic Grand Prix, the future Repsol Honda MotoGP rider taking victory ahead of Tom Luthi and Pol Espargaro.

The track had dried out sufficiently to be declared a dry race, with Interwetten-Paddock’s Lüthi making the best of the conditions at the start taking the lead early on ahead of Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Espargaró and Márquez. Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding’s race was unfortunately ended very early, as the Brit crashed out after three turns.

It was Márquez who made his intentions known early on as he fought past his compatriot into second. Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone, not wishing the leading trio to pull away, overtook Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi with 17 laps to go, pushing past Espargaró shortly after.

With track conditions still not ideal after the wet track before, riders were tentative to make rash moves, leading to uncharacteristically cautions racing. Eight laps before the end however Espargaró sized up Iannone and took him on the inside, as further down the grid Tech 3 Racing’s Xavier Siméon and Federal Oil Gresini Moto2’s Gino Rea both crashed out.

As Márquez looked for a way past Lüthi, Espargaró went past him into second, although was taken straight back. He was subsequently ordered to drop a place, after being sighted for passing under a yellow flag. Espargaró did however not see the pit board instantly, yet Iannone helped him by passing him with four laps remaining.

This ignited an entertaining battle between the pair, as Lüthi lost the lead to Márquez. The dice for fifth place was also gaining momentum a few laps before the end with JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco and NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis swapping positions frequently.

The final lap was a thrilling affair with Lüthi and Espargaró desperate for the lead, with Iannone mixing it up as well. The Swiss rider looked to be lining up a move in the final turn, yet did not have enough drive on to the straight, meaning it was Márquez who took the chequered flag, with Lüthi and Espargaró completing the rostrum. Márquez now holds a 48-point lead at top of the championship standings in front of Espargaró. Fourth spot went to Iannone, followed by Corsi, De Angelis, Zarco, Tech 3’s Bradley Smith, Redding’s teammate Mika Kallio and Pons’ Esteve Rabat.

2012 Brno Moto2 Results:

1.2593Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter156.941’19.178
2.2012Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter156.9+0.061
3.1640Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex156.9+0.440
4.1329Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up156.9+0.510
5.113Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR156.3+10.319
6.1015Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR156.2+10.643
7.95Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi156.2+10.717
8.838Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3156.2+10.873
9.736Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex156.2+11.047
10.680Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex156.2+11.517
11.560Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter156.1+12.388
12.418Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter156.1+12.603
13.381Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter156.0+14.896
14.277Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter155.8+17.772
15.149Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex155.8+17.848
16.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAMZ RacingMZ-RE Honda155.8+17.906
17.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex155.8+18.495
18.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR155.0+30.630
19.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up154.8+34.634
20.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter154.7+34.765
21.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter154.7+34.892
22.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex154.6+36.981
23.23Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGBimota153.5+54.677
24.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter152.0+1’19.583
25.22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up151.8+1’23.216
26.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi151.7+1’25.144
27.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up151.3+1’32.208
Not Classified
71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex155.72 Laps
19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3155.69 Laps
10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR151.79 Laps
45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex0 Lap