Motorcycle Racing News Ducati's Smrz Secures Silverstone Pole

Ducati’s Smrz Secures Silverstone Pole

2012-ducati-smrz-secures-silverstone-pole (1)

2012 Silverstone World Superbike

For the second time in the 2012 World Superbike Championship, Liberty Racing Team Effenbert Ducati’s Jakub Smrz secured the pole.

The Czech’s latest feat arrived Saturday at Silverstone during a soaking-wet Tissot Superpole session.

Smrz, who took his first pole of 2012 World SBK at Miller Motorsports Park, posted a 2:20.810 aboard his 1198 in treacherous conditions. Joining him on the front row for Sunday’s double header will be FIXI Crescent Suzuki’s Leon Camier, newly-signed PATA Racing Ducati’s Sylvain Guintoli and BMW Motorrad’s Leon Haslam.

Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert Ducati 1198) says: “I am very happy for the feeling with my bike, we have done a great job and we have been able to find the right setting adapted for the changing conditions of weather and tarmac that we have to deal with. I am very happy with the result that rewards the efforts of all and the desire to obtain important placements.”

The second row will be headed up by Althea Racing Ducati’s Davide Giugliano, who will be joined by BMW Motorrad’s Marco Melandri, Althea Racing Ducati’s Carlos Checa and the man who earned seven poles so far this season, Kawasaki Racing’s Tom Sykes.

As for the current points leader, Aprilia Racing Team’s Max Biaggi will start from the third row, the 2010 WSBK Champ qualifying 11th.

2012 Silverstone World Superbike Superpole Results:

1. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 2’20.810

2. Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 2’20.846

3. Sylvain Guintoli (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 2’21.385

4. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 2’21.613

5. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 2’21.951

6. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 2’21.960

7. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 2’23.356

8. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2’24.025

9. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2’23.777

10. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 2’23.889

11. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 2’24.176

12. John Hopkins (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 2’24.274

13. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 2’24.294

14. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 2’25.260

15. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 2’26.137

16. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 2’26.360

17. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 2’06.795

18. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 2’06.803

19. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 2’06.869

20. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 2’06.921

21. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2’08.069

22. David Johnson (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2’09.762

23. Norino Brignola (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 2’10.912

24. Brett McCormick (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 2’13.730

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...

2021 Harley-Davidson Pan America 1250: 150 HP ADV [17 Fast Facts]

Harley-Davidson officially unveiled Monday its all-new adventure touring motorcycles, the 2021 Pan America 1250 and Pan America 1250 Special. The Motor Company released all the...