2012 Sachsenring MotoGP | Results

2012 MotoGP Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 MotoGP Championship results from Sachsenring, Germany, listed below

For the first time in the 2012 MotoGP Championship, a rider other than Repsol Honda’s Casey Stoner or Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo was victorious.

The man? Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa, who took a hard-fought victory at round eight of 18 Sunday, the Spaniard winning the eni Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland at the Sachsenring. With his victory, Pedrosa now has six wins at Sachsenring across all classes.

Joining Pedrosa on the podium in the drama-filled race was Lorenzo and Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Andrea Dovizioso, respectively.

Getting his typical fast start, Pedrosa got out front first on the 2.281-mile circuit containing 13 corners. Following Pedrosa was Stoner, Yamaha Factory Racing’s Ben Spies and Lorenzo. But soon the reigning MotoGP Champion was in the lead, and him and Pedrosa began a race-long battle for first.

Behind, many two-way battles were forming, including Spies and Lorenzo for third, the Monster Tech 3 Yamaha duo of Cal Crutchlow and Dovizioso for fourth, and Ducati Team’s Nicky Hayden and LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl for sixth.

With 27 laps to go, San Carlo Honda Gresini CRT’s Michele Pirro DNF’d with a mechanical issue, and a lap later Spies ran wide, giving third to Lorenzo. With 25 to go, Speed Master’s Mattia Pasini crashed out.

As the Monster Tech 3 duo began catching Spies, two other riders joined the Hayden and Bradl battle – Ducati Team’s Valentino Rossi and Pramac Racing Ducati’s Hector Barbera.

With 23 laps remaining, Dovi and Crutchlow would both make a pass on Spies, who seemed to be slowing. But Spies caught back up to the group, and the three began battling for the fourth.

Up front, Pedrosa and Stoner were alone battling for the lead, with Lorenzo in a lonely third. With 12 laps remaining, Pedrosa passed Stoner on Turn 1. But the Australian wouldn’t back down, and had some scary moments while staying on Pedrosa’s tail.

With seven to go, Cruchlow attempted to out brake his teammate for fourth, but ran into the gravel trap heading into turn one. Although the Brit kept the Yamaha YZR-M1 upright, he was forced to rejoin the grid in the back, leaving Dovi and Spies to battle it out for fourth.

The big drama came on the final lap, when Stoner and Pedrosa were battling intensely. On the final turns, while attempting to chase down Pedrosa, Stoner crashed out, bring about his first DNF of the season.

This gave the win to Pedrosa, with Lorenzo taking an easy second, 14.996 seconds behind. Dovi held off Spies for the final podium position.

Bradl would finish in fifth, with sixth going to Rossi, which was his best dry-race finish aboard the Ducati GP12. Completing the top 10 were San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista, who was forced to start from dead last due to taking out Lorenzo at Assen, Crutchlow, Barbera and Hayden, respectively. The top CRT finisher was once again Power Electronics Aspar’s Randy de Puniet, who finished in 11th.

With his second-place finish, Lorenzo now leads the MotoGP Championship with 160 points, 14 ahead of Pedrosa. Stoner is in third with 140 points. Dovi is in fourth with 92 points, followed by Crutchlow in fifth with 85 points.

The 2012 MotoGP Championship finishes up a three-week run with at Mugello next weekend for round nine of 18.

2012 Sachsenring MotoGP Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 159.3 41’28.396
2. 20 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 158.4 +14.996
3. 16 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 158.0 +20.669
4. 13 11 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 158.0 +20.740
5. 11 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 157.6 +27.893
6. 10 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 157.6 +28.050
7. 9 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 157.5 +28.246
8. 8 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 157.5 +28.447
9. 7 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 157.5 +29.053
10. 6 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 157.5 +29.226
11. 5 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 156.0 +53.176
12. 4 5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 155.7 +58.204
13. 3 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 155.3 +1’04.654
14. 2 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Avintia Blusens BQR 154.8 +1’13.543
15. 1 77 James ELLISON GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART 153.7 +1’30.318
16. 2 Franco BATTAINI ITA Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati 153.6 1 Lap
17. 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda 153.1 1 Lap
18. 22 Ivan SILVA SPA Avintia Blusens BQR 152.2 1 Lap
Not Classified
1 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda 159.3 1 Lap
54 Mattia PASINI ITA Speed Master ART 153.3 26 Laps
51 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini FTR 142.1 27 Laps

2012 MotoGP Championship Points (after eight of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 160
2. Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 146
3. Casey STONER Honda AUS 140
4. Andrea DOVIZIOSO Yamaha ITA 92
5. Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 85
6. Valentino ROSSI Ducati ITA 71
7. Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda SPA 67
8. Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 65
9. Stefan BRADL Honda GER 62
10. Ben SPIES Yamaha USA 61
11. Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 53
12. Randy DE PUNIET ART FRA 24
14. Michele PIRRO FTR ITA 16
15. Mattia PASINI ART ITA 12
16. James ELLISON ART GBR 10
17. Danilo PETRUCCI Ioda ITA 9
18. Colin EDWARDS Suter USA 8
20. Ivan SILVA BQR SPA 5
21. Karel ABRAHAM Ducati CZE 4



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.