News 2012 Sachsenring Moto3 | Results

2012 Sachsenring Moto3 | Results


2012 Moto3 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2013 Moto3 Championship results from Sachsenring, Germany, listed below

After the skies opened just before the Moto3 race at the eni Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland at the Sachsenring it was Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Sandro Cortese who coped best with some difficult track conditions to take his first home win ahead of Alexis Masbou and Luis Salom.

JHK Laglisse’s Adrián Martín got the holeshot ahead of Caretta Technology’s Jack Miller with Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Danny Kent in tow. Most riders looked very tentative at the start, yet Racing Team Germany’s Louis Rossi made his way through the field and soon came up behind Miller and Martín.

Just before the race had run half its distance, the sun had come out with all its force, creating a quick-drying line.

With 14 laps left, Ambrogio Next Racing’s Giulian Pedone retired from the race, while a lap later RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom went past Rossi in turn one to take second spot. Miller’s teammate Alexis Masbou was a man on a mission as he carved his way through the pack on the drying line. With ten laps left there was heartache for German fans as IodaRacing Team’s Jonas Folger’s race was ended with a bike issue, as was Moto FGR’s Jasper Iwema. With seven laps to go Martín was caught out as he crashed heading into turn seven, but walked away unscathed.

The latter stages of the race also saw Salom’s teammate Binder crash out at turn 11, while a group of Masbou, Cortese and Salom had formed at the front. In the meantime, Danny Kent had returned to the pits with a bike issue, while Faubel’s teammate Alberto Moncayo also suffered a mechanical problem. With two laps to go, Mahindra Racing’s Marcel Schrotter made it the second German rider out of the race with a crash.

In the final two laps there was drama at the front as Rossi retired with a mechanical issue from fifth, as Cortese diced with Masbou for the win. And it was ultimately the local Cortese who kept his nerve to become the first German to win at the newly-built Sachsenring and retake the lead in the championship, with Masbou taking his first ever Grand Prix podium and Salom completing the top three. This result now puts Cortese at the top of the championship standings, 18 points ahead of Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales, who finished in 17th. Behind the winning trio were Miller, JHK Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez, AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin, Faubel, Freudenberg Racing Team’s wildcard Luca Gruenwald, Red Bull’s Arthur Sissis and Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Jakub Kornfeil.

2012 Sachsenring Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 130.4 45’36.868
2. 20 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology Honda 130.3 +0.635
3. 16 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 130.2 +3.998
4. 13 8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology Honda 130.2 +4.051
5. 11 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 129.8 +12.119
6. 10 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 129.2 +25.174
7. 9 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 129.2 +25.499
8. 8 43 Luca GRUENWALD GER Freudenberg Racing Team Honda 129.1 +26.087
9. 7 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 129.0 +29.675
10. 6 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 129.0 +29.891
11. 5 9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Cresto Guide MZ Racing Honda 128.8 +33.178
12. 4 27 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA San Carlo Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 128.4 +42.858
13. 3 89 Alan TECHER FRA Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 127.5 +1’02.653
14. 2 31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing KTM 127.1 +1’10.253
15. 1 15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 127.1 +1’10.447
16. 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 127.1 +1’10.640
17. 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 127.1 +1’11.122
18. 99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 127.1 +1’11.306
19. 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 126.7 +1’18.878
20. 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 126.7 +1’18.957
21. 32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 124.8 1 Lap
22. 3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 124.0 1 Lap
23. 51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 123.6 1 Lap
24. 5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 122.9 1 Lap
25. 21 Ivan MORENO SPA Andalucia JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 121.7 1 Lap
26. 86 Kevin HANUS GER Thomas Sabo GP Team Honda 121.6 1 Lap
27. 30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 112.0 3 Laps
Not Classified
96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 129.8 2 Laps
77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing Mahindra 126.4 3 Laps
23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 125.7 4 Laps
52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 124.5 5 Laps
41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 128.5 6 Laps
26 Adrian MARTIN SPA JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 128.8 7 Laps
94 Jonas FOLGER GER IodaRacing Project Ioda 128.1 10 Laps
53 Jasper IWEMA NED Moto FGR FGR Honda 125.3 11 Laps

2012 Moto3 Championship Points:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Sandro CORTESE KTM GER 148
2. Maverick VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 130
3. Luis SALOM Kalex KTM SPA 104
4. Alexis MASBOU Honda FRA 71
5. Romano FENATI FTR Honda ITA 65
7. Louis ROSSI FTR Honda FRA 56
8. Alex RINS Suter Honda SPA 54
9. Danny KENT KTM GBR 42
10. Niccolò ANTONELLI FTR Honda ITA 42
11. Efren VAZQUEZ FTR Honda SPA 40
12. Miguel OLIVEIRA Suter Honda POR 39
13. Arthur SISSIS KTM AUS 38
14. Hector FAUBEL Kalex KTM SPA 38
15. Alberto MONCAYO Kalex KTM SPA 36
16. Jakub KORNFEIL FTR Honda CZE 26
17. Alan TECHER TSR Honda FRA 21
18. Niklas AJO KTM FIN 16
19. Alex MARQUEZ Suter Honda SPA 15
20. Jack MILLER Honda AUS 14
21. Ivan MORENO FTR Honda SPA 10
22. Jasper IWEMA FGR Honda NED 9
23. Luca GRUENWALD Honda GER 8
24. Giulian PEDONE Suter Honda SWI 7
26. Alessandro TONUCCI FTR Honda ITA 7
27. Jonas FOLGER Ioda GER 5
28. Brad BINDER Kalex KTM RSA 5
29. Marcel SCHROTTER Mahindra GER 4
30. Kevin HANUS Honda GER 3
31. Simone GROTZKYJ Suter Honda ITA 1

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...

2021 Moto Guzzi V9 Lineup First Look: Bobber and Roamer Updated

The  Moto Guzzi V9 lineup of the Bobber and Roamer gets a significant update for 2021. There’s a new motor powering the two V9s,...

Tirox SnapJack SS First Look: Motorcycle Chain Maintenance Aid

Although single-sided swingarms are designed to simplify maintenance, if the motorcycle doesn’t have a centerstand, it doesn’t make working on your drive chain any...