Marquez on Sachsenring Moto2 Pole

2012-marquez-on-sachsenring-moto2-pole (1)

2012 Sachsenring Moto2 Qualifying Results

Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez overcame difficult track conditions at the eni Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland at the Sachsenring to take pole position for Sunday’s Moto2 race ahead of Julián Simón and Mika Kallio.

The session had started in drying conditions after the MotoGP bikes had created a dryer racing line, however rain began to fall again soon after. Yet in a near identical situation to their premier-class counterparts, the rain stopped towards the end of qualifying, which is when the riders were frantically competing for their hot lap.

And it was Márquez who coped best with the conditions as he set the pole time of 1.34’503, just narrowly pushing Blusens Avintia’s Julián Simón into second on the grid. Completing the front row is Marc VDS Racing Team’s Mika Kallio, who had one of his best qualifying sessions to date.

Tech 3 Racing’s Xavier Siméon will start from fourth, despite crashing out on his final hot lap, with Federal Oil Gresini Moto2’s Gino Rea putting in a stunning performance to start alongside him. Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi also coped well on the wet track, and will start tomorrow’s race from sixth.

QMMF Racing Team’s wet-weather specialist Anthony West gave his team something to smile about as he managed seventh spot, ahead of NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis. In ninth, Tech 3’s Bradley Smith was unable to fight for higher positions as he crashed out with 16 minutes to go, yet managed to keep his place in front of Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone.

The Pons 40 HP Tuenti team did not have the best afternoon, with Pol Espargaró only managing 17th and Axel Pons crashing out. Arguiñano Racing Team’s Ricky Cardus was also caught out by the weather as he suffered a highside, yet was unhurt in the incident.

2012 Sachsenring Moto2 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter237.91’34.503
2.60Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter232.51’34.5480.045 / 0.045
3.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex235.21’34.6390.136 / 0.091
4.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3231.61’34.6860.183 / 0.047
5.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter235.71’34.9080.405 / 0.222
6.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter236.51’34.9450.442 / 0.037
7.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki232.31’35.1100.607 / 0.165
8.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR233.31’35.2340.731 / 0.124
9.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3233.51’35.2380.735 / 0.004
10.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up234.41’35.3200.817 / 0.082
11.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR236.11’35.3580.855 / 0.038
12.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR232.91’35.5591.056 / 0.201
13.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR236.31’35.7021.199 / 0.143
14.5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi235.81’35.7331.230 / 0.031
15.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter236.01’35.7771.274 / 0.044
16.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter235.11’35.8191.316 / 0.042
17.40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex236.81’35.9761.473 / 0.157
18.24Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter236.21’36.0411.538 / 0.065
19.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex236.31’36.3861.883 / 0.345
20.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex239.31’36.4071.904 / 0.021
21.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex235.31’36.4611.958 / 0.054
22.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex231.61’36.4711.968 / 0.010
23.50Damian CUDLINAUSDesguaces La Torre SAGBimota231.51’36.5322.029 / 0.061
24.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter232.91’36.7072.204 / 0.175
25.22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up233.91’37.0722.569 / 0.365
26.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex232.71’37.5883.085 / 0.516
27.80Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex241.31’37.7233.220 / 0.135
28.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi228.01’37.9213.418 / 0.198
29.11Kevin WAHRGERKiefer RacingIAMT228.31’38.4933.990 / 0.572
30.21Markus REITERBERGERGERCresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda229.31’38.6974.194 / 0.204
31.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter233.81’38.7034.200 / 0.006
32.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR230.01’39.2734.770 / 0.570
33.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex232.81’39.3014.798 / 0.028
34.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki230.51’39.7165.213 / 0.415