2012 Assen Moto3 | Results


2012 Moto3 Championship

Spoiler Alert: Assen Moto3 results listed below

In one of the most hotly contested Moto3 races this season at the Iveco TT Assen it was Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales who stormed to victory in sunny conditions ahead of Sandro Cortese and Danny Kent.

The first three laps were a frantic affair, with Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Cortese, Viñales and San Carlo Gresini Moto3’s Niccolò Antonelli all fighting their way to the front. They were however soon put under pressure by TT Motion Events Racing’s Niklas Ajo, Racing Team Germany’s Louis Rossi and RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom.

Caretta Technology’s Jack Miller was handed a ride-through for a jump-start, while IodaRacing Project’s Jonas Folger’s bad weekend got even worse as he crashed out with 18 laps remaining.

With 12 laps to go a leading group of six riders started to pull out a small gap at the front with Viñales and Cortese leading the pack, pursued by Kent, Salom, Rossi and Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins.

A lap later Miller was shown the black flag for ignoring the ride-through penalty, putting an end to his race. Ambrogio Next Racing’s Giulian Pedone retired from the race with mechanical issues shortly after. It was misery for Antonelli with nine laps left, as he crashed out of what had looked like a promising race for the youngster, as did Mahindra Racing’s Danny Webb.

As the scrap at the front got harder towards the end, Cortese and Kent were going fairing to fairing in their pursuit of the leading Viñales, with Cortese almost taking out his teammate at one point. The group would not settle down however, with many aggressive passes being made in the final laps in a nail-biting finale.

The last lap was one of best ever seen in the Moto3 class as positions changed frantically in the final corners, with Viñales getting the final slingshot over the line, with a photo analysis required to decide the positions between Salom, Kent and Cortese.

With Viñales taking the win, second place went to Cortese, with Kent taking the final step on the rostrum, his first ever podium of his Grand Prix career. They were followed by Salom, Rossi, Rins, Caretta Technology’s Alexis Masbou, Ajo, JHK T-Shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez and Rins’ teammate Miguel Oliveira.

2012 Assen Moto3 Results:

1.2525Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens AvintiaFTR Honda154.738’45.432
2.2011Sandro CORTESEGERRed Bull KTM AjoKTM154.6+0.831
3.1652Danny KENTGBRRed Bull KTM AjoKTM154.6+0.842
4.1339Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM154.6+0.843
5.1196Louis ROSSIFRARacing Team GermanyFTR Honda154.6+1.352
6.1042Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda154.4+5.033
7.910Alexis MASBOUFRACaretta TechnologyHonda154.2+7.817
8.831Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingKTM154.2+7.855
9.77Efren VAZQUEZSPAJHK LaglisseFTR Honda154.2+8.037
10.644Miguel OLIVEIRAPOREstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda154.1+8.243
11.563Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia-Sic-AjoKTM154.1+8.378
12.45Romano FENATIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda154.1+8.559
13.384Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox-Ongetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda153.9+12.133
14.29Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERCresto Guide MZ RacingHonda153.9+12.358
15.155Hector FAUBELSPABankia Aspar TeamKalex KTM153.9+12.533
16.61Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM153.9+12.654
17.89Alan TECHERFRATechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda153.8+12.836
18.26Adrian MARTINSPAJHK LaglisseFTR Honda153.8+12.876
19.23Alberto MONCAYOSPABankia Aspar TeamKalex KTM153.8+12.944
20.41Brad BINDERRSARW Racing GPKalex KTM153.3+21.342
21.32Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda153.3+21.507
22.19Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda153.3+21.581
23.15Simone GROTZKYJITAAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda152.1+38.872
24.53Jasper IWEMANEDMoto FGRFGR Honda152.1+39.237
25.22Bryan SCHOUTENNEDDutch Racing TeamHonda152.1+39.272
26.40Julian MIRALLESSPAMIR RacingHonda152.1+39.377
27.51Kenta FUJIIJPNTechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda152.1+39.533
28.3Luigi MORCIANOITAIoda Team ItaliaIoda152.0+41.008
29.21Ivan MORENOSPAAndalucia JHK LaglisseFTR Honda151.9+43.193
Not Classified
77Marcel SCHROTTERGERMahindra RacingMahindra151.92 Laps
30Giulian PEDONESWIAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda142.36 Laps
99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra153.17 Laps
27Niccolò ANTONELLIITASan Carlo Gresini Moto3FTR Honda153.88 Laps
94Jonas FOLGERGERIodaRacing ProjectIoda146.819 Laps
8Jack MILLERAUSCaretta TechnologyHonda0 Lap

2012 Moto3 Championship Points (after seven of 18 rounds):

1.Maverick VIÑALESFTR HondaSPA130
3.Luis SALOMKalex KTMSPA88
4.Romano FENATIFTR HondaITA65
5.Louis ROSSIFTR HondaFRA56
6.Alex RINSSuter HondaSPA54
7.Alexis MASBOUHondaFRA51
10.Miguel OLIVEIRASuter HondaPOR39
11.Niccolò ANTONELLIFTR HondaITA38
12.Alberto MONCAYOKalex KTMSPA36
14.Efren VAZQUEZFTR HondaSPA29
15.Hector FAUBELKalex KTMSPA29
17.Alan TECHERTSR HondaFRA18
18.Alex MARQUEZSuter HondaSPA15
19.Niklas AJOKTMFIN14
20.Ivan MORENOFTR HondaSPA10
21.Jasper IWEMAFGR HondaNED9
22.Giulian PEDONESuter HondaSWI7
23.Alessandro TONUCCIFTR HondaITA7
24.Jonas FOLGERIodaGER5
26.Marcel SCHROTTERMahindraGER4
27.Kevin HANUSHondaGER3
29.Jack MILLERHondaAUS1