2012 Assen Moto2 | Results


2012 Moto2 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Assen Moto2 results listed below

In a Moto2 race that provided drama from the start at the Iveco TT Assen, it was Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez who took a hard-fought victory ahead of Andrea Iannone and Scott Redding.

It was Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter and Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone who got away best, yet in the pursuing mêlée it was Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2’s Ratthapark Wilairot and Tom Lüthi who collided on the first lap, putting an end to Lüthi’s race.

There was however more to come, as the weekend’s pace-setter, Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró, crashed out of the lead as he lost the back end of his bike. Both Lüthi and Espargaró were uninjured in the incidents, while Wilairot re-joined. A few laps later it was more misery for the Pons team, as its other rider Axel Pons crashed as well.

With 14 laps remaining Iannone had pulled out a three second gap at the front as Márquez and Marc VDS Racing Team’s Redding provided the entertaining battle for second behind. At this point Espargaró’s teammate Esteve Rabat had joined the pursuing group in fifth ahead of Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi, who had lost the tail section of his machine early on.

With 10 laps left however, Corsi crashed out of the race, putting an end to what was a very good race for the Italian, whilst Desguaces La Torre SAG’s Damian Cudlin retired with a mechanical issue. A further four laps in, Márquez had closed the gap significantly to Iannone and looked to be catching the Italian quickly.

With three laps left the scrap at the front began, with Márquez making his first pass, yet Iannone fighting back immediately. A lap later the Spaniard repeated his move, with Iannone responding in the same way again. The two were fairing to fairing as they headed into the last lap, with Márquez taking the lead on the outside of turn 1. Iannone fought back, but couldn’t make it stick as he ran wide after the two almost touched.

It was ultimately Márquez who took his third win of the season, with Iannone in second and Redding completing the podium. Márquez now leads the championship with Iannone in second; whilst Redding’s podium was the first time the Brit has ever recorded back-to-back podiums in his Grand Prix career. The top three were followed by Rabat, NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis, Tech 3 Racing’s Bradley Smith, Aegerter, JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco, Mapfre Aspar Team’s Toni Elías and Redding’s teammate Mika Kallio.

2012 Assen Moto2 Results:

1.2593Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter164.739’43.170
2.2029Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up164.6+0.405
3.1645Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex164.2+7.331
4.1380Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex164.1+7.630
5.1115Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR164.1+7.852
6.1038Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3164.1+8.578
7.977Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter164.0+10.017
8.85Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi163.7+14.481
9.724Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter163.7+14.714
10.636Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex163.7+14.734
11.54Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex163.6+14.944
12.430Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex163.2+22.106
13.319Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3163.1+23.068
14.260Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter163.1+23.532
15.163Mike DI MEGLIOFRAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up163.0+23.733
16.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex162.9+25.619
17.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter162.9+25.913
18.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR162.9+25.974
19.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter162.3+34.640
20.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR161.7+44.057
21.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki161.6+44.739
22.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter160.6+59.784
23.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR160.0+1’10.125
24.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi159.8+1’12.139
25.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki158.5+1’33.233
Not Classified
76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex163.11 Lap
7Alexander LUNDHSWECresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda161.52 Laps
3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR163.910 Laps
50Damian CUDLINAUSDesguaces La Torre SAGBimota157.510 Laps
49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex153.616 Laps
14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter152.919 Laps
40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex154.323 Laps
12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter0 Lap

2012 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

1.Marc MARQUEZSuterSPA127
2.Andrea IANNONESpeed UpITA104
4.Thomas LUTHISuterSWI96
5.Scott REDDINGKalexGBR86
6.Mika KALLIOKalexFIN52
7.Esteve RABATKalexSPA47
8.Bradley SMITHTech 3GBR47
9.Claudio CORTIKalexITA45
10.Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI38
11.Johann ZARCOMotobiFRA36
12.Toni ELIASSuterSPA34
15.Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN27
17.Julian SIMONSuterSPA14
18.Mike DI MEGLIOSpeed UpFRA10
19.Anthony WESTMoriwakiAUS9
20.Xavier SIMEONTech 3BEL9
22.Ratthapark WILAIROTSuterTHA8
23.Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA3
25.Gino REAMoriwakiGBR1