Sykes Earns 6th Pole at Aragon Superbike

2012-sykes-earns-sixth-pole-at-aragon-superbike (1)

2012 Aragon World Superbike Superpole Results

For the sixth time out of eight rounds in the 2012 World Superbike Championship, Tom Sykes placed his Kawasaki Racing Team ZX-10R on the pole. His latest feat arrived Saturday at Motorland Aragon, Spain, ahead of Sunday’s double header.

The Brit posted the quickest lap of 1:56.552 in Tissot-Superpole, which was well over a second faster than his lap in 2011 when Aragon debuted on the World SBK calendar. Sykes was 0.708 ahead of Aprilia Racing Team’s Max Biaggi, who won a race at Aragon last year. The 2010 World Superbike Champion was the only rider to post within a second of Sykes.

Taking the final front-row starting positions will be two additional Brits, the Italian Biaggi’s teammate Eugene Laverty, who trailed Sykes by 1.04 seconds, and BMW Motorrad’s Leon Haslam, 1.158 seconds behind Sykes.

Haslam’s teammate Marco Melandri heads up the second row, the Italian the other winner last year. Taking the sixth-quickest time was Honda World Superbike’s Jonathan Rea. The reigning World Superbike Champion Carlos Checa (Althea Ducati) echoed his race number by finishing seventh. Fast 2012 rookie in the eni FIM Superbike World Championship class, Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Team Aprilia), was eighth.

For a preview of Aragon World Superbike, click here.

2012 Aragon World Superbike Superpole Results:
1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’56.552
2. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’57.260
3. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’57.592
4. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’57.710
5. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’57.784
6. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’58.033
7. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’58.243
8. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’58.485
9. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’58.073
10. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’58.249
11. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’58.264
12. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1’59.160
13. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’58.534
14. Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’58.660
15. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’59.302
16. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1’59.549
17. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’59.474
18. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’59.686
19. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1’59.811
20. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 2’00.164
21. John Hopkins (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 2’00.245
22. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2’00.975
23. Norino Brignola (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 2’03.823

Previous article2012 Zero DS ZF9 | Motorcycle Review
Next article2012 Assen Moto2 | Results
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).