Motorcycle Racing News Barbara AMA SportBike: Race 2 Results

Barbara AMA SportBike: Race 2 Results

2012-barbara-ama-sportbike-race-two-results (1)

AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike

Cameron Beaubier pulled the perfect weekend in AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike at Barber Motorsports Park, winning pole, both races and both lap leader points for Y.E.S/Graves/Yamaha in Alabama.

Beaubier cleared off in the last couple of laps to win over Dane Westby (M4 Suzuki) by 2.163 seconds in a repeat of the top two finishers from Saturday.

After a post-Daytona injury sidelined him, Beaubier has returned to competition with a vengeance. The Californian has been a factor in recent GoPro Daytona SportBike races but took his first pole and wins this weekend. Westby made a bid with four laps to go, but Beaubier was able to rally and consolidate the lead.

“It feels awesome to get my first win and then back it up the next day,” said 19-year-old Beaubier. “It was weird because my first lap wasn’t very good at all. I then got through a few guys and got out front and I felt pretty good out front. I didn’t feel very good in second because it was super easy to get shuffled back. Out front I felt really comfortable, I tried to save my tires as much as I could, and towards the end I put my head down and pushed really hard to get away.”

After the race, Westby said he wished he’d waited until the final lap to make his charge but was positive about his form this weekend.

Points leader Martin Cardenas took his GEICO Suzuki to third place and expanded his points margin over second place points man Jason DiSalvo (Latus Motors Racing Castrol Triumph) who finished sixth. DiSalvo now trails Cardenas by 51 and fell into a tie with Westby.

Early leader Tommy Hayden of Y.E.S/Graves/Yamaha took fourth, ahead of Bobby Fong (Meen Motorsports), rewarded with a top five result.

J.D. Beach (RoadRace Factory/Red Bull), Jake Zemke (Ducshop Ducati), Benny Solis ( Yamaha) and Jake Gagne (RoadRace Factory/Red Bull) also scored in the top 10.

2012 Barber Motorsports Park AMA Daytona SportBike Race 2 Results:

Pos No. Rider(s) Team Bike Interval Gap Best Lap Points
1. 6 Cameron Beaubier Yamaha Extended Service, Graves, Yamaha Yamaha YZF-R6 21 Laps WINNER 1:28.292 0
2. 5 Dane Westby M4 Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 2.163 2.163 1:28.635 0
3. 36 Martin Cardenas Geico Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 3.709 1.546 1:28.503 0
4. 22 Tommy Hayden Yamaha Extended Service, Graves, Yamaha Yamaha YZF-R6 3.904 0.194 1:28.667 0
5. 50 Bobby Fong Meen Motorsports Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 7.130 3.226 1:28.481 0
6. 40 Jason DiSalvo Team Latus Motors Racing Triumph Daytona 675 7.755 0.625 1:28.687 0
7. 95 JD Beach Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6 18.996 11.240 1:28.751 0
8. 98 Jake Zemke Ducshop Racing Ducati 848 24.187 5.191 1:29.434 0
9. 20 Benny Solis Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 24.996 0.809 1:29.041 0
10. 132 Jake Gagne Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6 29.636 4.639 1:29.370 0
11. 52 Joey Pascarella Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki Team Suzuki GSX-R600 34.043 4.407 1:29.468 0
12. 61 Michael Beck Team Beck Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 44.192 10.148 1:30.293 0
13. 57 Cory West Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki Team Suzuki GSX-R600 1:00.538 16.346 1:30.411 0
14. 46 Shane Narbonne MOB Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 1:00.794 0.256 1:30.926 0
15. 56 Austin Dehaven Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 1:03.474 2.680 1:30.549 0
16. 175 David Gaviria Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 1:04.178 0.703 1:31.071 0
17. 72 Bryce Prince Rotobox/Nexx Yamaha YZF-R6 1:10.984 6.806 1:31.074 0
18. 7 Fernando Amantini Team Amantini Kawasaki ZX-6R 20 Laps 1 Lap 1:31.758 0
19. 11 Michael Morgan RIM Racing Suzuki GSX-R600 11.203 11.203 1:32.991 0
20. 221(100) Walt Sipp Walt Sipp Racing Buell 1125R 11.669 0.465 1:33.839 0
21. 213 David White Yamaha YZF-R6 12.314 0.644 1:33.879 0
22. 86 Ben Young BYR/Fogi Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 15 Laps 5 Laps 1:31.002 0
23. 75 Huntley Nash LTD Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 12 Laps 3 Laps 1:29.775 0
24. 38 Kris Turner Turner`s Cycle Racing Triumph Daytona 675 8 Laps 4 Laps 1:30.397 0
25. 63 Jeff Wrobel Wrobel Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 5 Laps 3 Laps 1:32.395 0
26. 42 Kenny Riedmann Sturgess Cycle Triumph Triumph Daytona 675 1 Lap 4 Laps 1:34.892 0
27. 127 Ron Mears Tornado Bait Racing Honda CBR600RR DNS DNS -no times- 0

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...