Barbera AMA SportBike: Race 1 Results

2012-barbera-ama-sportbike-race-one-results (1)

2012 AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike

Spoiler Alert: AMA Daytona SportBike results from race 1 at Barber Motorsports Park listed below

Cameron Beaubier won his first AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike pole position and race on the same day at Barber Motorsports Park on Saturday. The 19-year-old Californian won a nail-biter over Dane Westby (M4 Suzuki) and his Y.E.S./Graves/Yamaha teammate Tommy Hayden, one that ended with only 0.674 between the three riders after 21 laps.

The action in GoPro Daytona SportBike has been fierce and laptimes have been falling this weekend in Birmingham. Westby set a new Daytona SportBike lap record at the track in provisional qualifying yesterday, with Hayden close behind, before both Jason DiSalvo (Latus Motors Racing Triumph) and eventual polesitter Beaubier were able to lower the mark even more in final qualifying this morning.

For the Saturday afternoon final, competitors were met with blazing conditions. Beaubier ran in the lead pack the entire race and battled with Westby, Hayden and DiSalvo for the lead at various points in the contest. With just a couple of laps to go, Beaubier took over the point from Hayden, who then fell victim to Westby. Westby tried to make a go at Beaubier in turn four on the last lap, but couldn’t make the pass work.

Westby made a strong bid for the victory but felt he made a slight mistake on the last lap that cost him a better shot at the win. Dane wasn’t quite close enough to try a move in the final series of turns.

Cameron Beaubier says: “I felt really comfortable leading today. I tried to stay out in front as long as I could. I felt like I had a little more in the first few sectors of the track than I did at the end, so I just pushed really hard. I’m at a loss for words. I was so happy to get pole position and a win. It felt really good,” he said.

DiSalvo finished fourth, ahead of points leader Martin Cardenas (GEICO Suzuki) who wasn’t quite as strong as normal on Saturday. Cardenas’ points lead only shrunk by two to second-place man DiSalvo.

Bobby Fong (Meen Motorsports) ran with the lead group in the first half of the race, but rebounded to beat out Benny Solis ( Yamaha) for sixth. Jake Zemke (Ducshop Ducati) ran clear of the competition for eighth in what was a lonely race for the veteran.

J.D. Beach (Roadrace Factory Red Bull) and Michael Beck (Team Beck Racing) rounded out the top ten in the hot race.

2012 Barber AMA Daytona SportBike Race 1 Results:

PosNo.Rider(s)TeamBikeIntervalGapBest LapPoints
1.6Cameron BeaubierYamaha Extended Service, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R621 LapsWINNER1:28.3910
2.5Dane WestbyM4 SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R6000.2420.2421:28.8570
3.22Tommy HaydenYamaha Extended Service, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R60.6740.4321:28.4460
4.40Jason DiSalvoTeam Latus Motors RacingTriumph Daytona 6755.6504.9761:28.5200
5.36Martin CardenasGeico SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R60016.54610.8961:29.5090
6.50Bobby FongMeen Motorsports RacingYamaha YZF-R617.4650.9181:28.5930
7.20Benny Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R618.3350.8701:29.2050
8.98Jake ZemkeDucshop RacingDucati 84824.8316.4951:29.4720
9.95JD BeachRoad Race Factory/Red BullYamaha YZF-R635.87611.0451:29.7770
10.61Michael BeckTeam Beck RacingYamaha YZF-R639.0383.1611:30.5260
11.57Cory WestRiders Discount Vesrah Suzuki TeamSuzuki GSX-R60039.2320.1941:30.6440
12.75Huntley NashLTD RacingYamaha YZF-R642.9773.7441:29.6980
13.52Joey PascarellaRiders Discount Vesrah Suzuki TeamSuzuki GSX-R60049.2996.3221:30.3090
14.56Austin Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R655.6666.3661:31.0220
15.7Fernando AmantiniTeam AmantiniKawasaki ZX-6R56.3150.6491:31.0870
16.72Bryce PrinceRotobox/NexxYamaha YZF-R61:02.1025.7871:31.0810
17.42Kenny RiedmannSturgess Cycle TriumphTriumph Daytona 6751:02.5870.4851:31.5090
18.46Shane NarbonneMOB RacingYamaha YZF-R61:03.0550.4681:31.2810
19.86Ben YoungBYR/Fogi RacingYamaha YZF-R61:13.22410.1681:31.3970
20.175David Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R61:21.1597.9351:32.0920
21.63Jeff WrobelWrobel RacingYamaha YZF-R61:21.5990.4391:32.2960
22.213David WhiteNumber213.comYamaha YZF-R620 Laps1 Lap1:33.5900
23.11Michael MorganRIM RacingSuzuki GSX-R6000.8120.8121:33.5720
24.221Walt SippWalt Sipp RacingBuell 1125R21.67820.8661:33.6080
25.38Kris TurnerTurner`s Cycle RacingTriumph Daytona 67526.7875.1081:29.9560
26.127Ron MearsTornado Bait RacingHonda CBR600RR16 Laps4 Laps1:36.1690
27.132Jake GagneRoad Race Factory/Red BullYamaha YZF-R61 Lap15 Laps1:32.5070