Motorcycle Racing News Barber AMA Daytona SportBike | Preview

Barber AMA Daytona SportBike | Preview


2012 AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike

Since 2009, Martin Cardenas (GEICO Suzuki) has clinched victory in five of six outings at Barber Motorsports Park, including all four AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike races during the 2009 and 2010 seasons and a surprising win during his debut AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike season in 2011.

Following his return to GoPro Daytona SportBike this season, the Colombian has posted up on the top spot of the podium following six of the season’s eight finals and leads the championship 206-159 over nearest rival Jason DiSalvo (Latus Motors Racing Triumph) heading into this weekend’s Triumph SuperBike Classic presented by America’s First Federal Credit Union.

Much of the points gap between DiSalvo and Cardenas is a result of the Alabama resident’s troubled runs at Road Atlanta earlier this season. Had DiSalvo earned the average of 26 points he has grabbed at each of the season’s other rounds, he would be leading Cardenas by 1 point in the championship chase heading to Birmingham.

Instead, DiSalvo has a much steeper hill to climb and will likely have his hands full with the outright GoPro Daytona SportBike win leader — Cardenas has 22 to his credit — this weekend.

Third in the points is the consistent, Suzuki-mounted Dane Westby (M4 Lucas Oil Suzuki) with 142 markers. Westby has visited the podium twice this season but is still looking to lock up a win. Lagging behind by just two points is 2010 National Guard SuperBike Race 1 winner Tommy Hayden (Y.E.S. Graves Yamaha), who was recently confirmed as the third rider in the Y.E.S. Graves Yamaha stable for the remainder of the 2012 season. Wrapping up the top five in the points is Jake Zemke (Ducshop Racing Ducati 848), whose three AMA Formula Xtreme wins here highlight his in-depth knowledge of the circuit.

Positions six through 10 in the points are locked down by J.D. Beach (RoadRace Factory/ Red Bull Yamaha), DAYTONA 200 winner Joey Pascarella (Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki), Bobby Fong (Meen Motorsports Yamaha), Cory West (Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki) and Cameron Beaubier (Y.E.S. Graves Yamaha).

The AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike division will contest 21-lap race finals on Saturday, June 23 at 2 p.m. and Sunday, June 24 at 2:15 p.m. local time. SPEED will broadcast both race finals, with Race 1 scheduled to begin at midnight ET/9 p.m. PT on Sunday night, followed by Race 2 mid-day on Monday at noon ET/9 a.m. PT.

AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Point Standings (After Round 5): 1. Martin Cardenas (Medellin, Colombia) – 206; 2. Jason DiSalvo (Batavia, NY) – 159; 3. Dane Westby (Tulsa, OK) – 142; 4. Tommy Hayden (Owensboro, KY) – 140; 5. Jake Zemke (Paso Robles, CA) – 124; 6. JD Beach (Philpot, KY) – 112; 7. Joey Pascarella (Vacaville, CA) – 111; 8. Bobby Fong (Stockton, CA) – 109; 9. Cory West (Eureka Springs, AR) – 97; 10. Cameron Beaubier (Roseville, CA) – 89.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Harley-Davidson Tremont Shoes Review: Urban Motorcycle Footwear

In the on-going debate over how much protection is enough, the correct answer for each of us comes from within. Some riders would never...

2021 Langen Two Stroke First Look: Street-Legal V-Twin!

If you thought we’d never see another street-legal two-stroke sportbike, you’re not alone. There hasn’t been a full-size two-stroke motorcycle for the street in...

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...