2012 Silverstone MotoGP | Results

2012 MotoGP

Spoiler Alert: 2012 MotoGP results from Silverstone listed below

Although rain threatened the British Grand Prix once again Sunday, it held off, allowing the 20-rider grid (minus Cardion AB Racing Ducati’s Karel Abraham) to compete under dry conditions.

And for the fourth time this season, the victory went to Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo, who fought hard to win ahead of the Repsol Honda duo of Casey Stoner and Dani Pedrosa.

When the race got underway, Yamaha’s Ben Spies took the holeshot ahead of Stoner and San Carlo Honda Gresini’s pole-sitter Álvaro Bautista. Spies made a tremendous start leading the early stages from Stoner, Bautista and Ducati Team’s Nicky Hayden. Lorenzo lost a place in the first bends, and was soon leading a separated group for fifth place.

With 17 laps remaining Lorenzo started to find his rhythm as he looked to close the gap to the front four, followed by Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Andrea Dovizioso and Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa. A lap later Hayden tried to dart past Bautista into third, but ran too wide, allowing the Spaniard back in. Soon after Stoner made his move past Spies, as the Texan made a mistake, also going too hot into a turn.

More overtaking was to follow, as Lorenzo took advantage of a gap left by Hayden to hunt down Bautista. Just seconds after, Hayden left yet another gap for Dovizioso to push the American even further back. With Stoner having pulled out a small gap at the front, Lorenzo did not want his rival to get way and forced his way past Bautista, relegating the San Carlo rider into fourth.

The tussle was not to stop, as Lorenzo stormed past his teammate into second, with Spies being overtakes by Bautista as well a corner later. In the same bend Pedrosa snuck past Dovizioso, who kept on the Spaniard’s rear wheel to retake him just a few corners later. The Italian continued his charge as he fought past early leader Spies, with Pedrosa following suit, relegating the Texan into sixth.

With 11 laps left Lorenzo was closing in on the rear wheel of Stoner, starting a thrilling battle for top spot. On the same lap Dovizioso crashed out of his positions, while his teammate Cal Crutchlow fought past LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl into seventh.

Heading into lap nine, Lorenzo took Stoner on the final turn, yet the Australian fought straight back in the next turn, as the pair kept the crowd on their toes with some thrilling moves. As one Repsol Honda was overtaken, the other in the form of Pedrosa went up into third.

A lap further on, the duo of Pedrosa and Bautista started to slowly close the gap on Stoner, who looked to be slowing. With six laps left it turned into a three-way battle for second place, as Lorenzo was opening a gap at the front. On the same lap, Ducati’s Valentino Rossi, who was the only rider to pick the hard rear tyre, took Pramac Racing Team’s Héctor Barberá for ninth. Speed Masters Mattia Pasini retired from the race with a mechanical issue.

Lorenzo suffered a slight scare with four laps left as he was almost thrown from his bike, but he managed to save it and retain the lead, albeit with a reduced gap to the pursuing Stoner. In the latter stages there were thrilling battles further back as Crutchlow battled past Hayden into sixth, and Power Electronics Aspar pair Aleix Espargaró and Randy de Puniet were fairing to fairing until the finish line.

In the end it was Lorenzo who held his nerve to cross the finish line first to take the top step of the podium and extend his championship lead, ahead of Stoner and Pedrosa who complete the rostrum. Fourth went to Álvaro Bautista, ahead of Ben Spies, and Cal Crutchlow, who put in a brave ride with his injury. The top ten were completed Hayden, Bradl, Rossi and Barberá. Top CRT spot once again went to Espargaró ahead of his teammate in 11th, while Dovizioso remounted after his crash to finish 19th.

2012 Silverstone MotoGP Results:

12599Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha171.541’16.429
2201Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda171.3+3.313
31626Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda171.3+3.599
41319Alvaro BAUTISTASPASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda171.2+5.196
51111Ben SPIESUSAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha170.7+11.531
61035Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha170.5+15.112
7969Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati170.5+15.527
886Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda170.0+22.521
9746Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati169.1+36.138
1068Hector BARBERASPAPramac Racing TeamDucati168.7+41.328
11541Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART167.3+1’03.157
12414Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART167.3+1’03.443
13351Michele PIRROITASan Carlo Honda GresiniFTR167.0+1’07.290
14277James ELLISONGBRPaul Bird MotorsportART166.5+1’14.782
15168Yonny HERNANDEZCOLAvintia BlusensBQR166.5+1’15.108
165Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter165.5+1’29.899
179Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda164.9+1’40.302
1822Ivan SILVASPAAvintia BlusensBQR164.1+1’52.099
194Andrea DOVIZIOSOITAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha160.71 Lap
Not Classified
54Mattia PASINIITASpeed MasterART164.36 Laps

2012 MotoGP Championship Point Standings:

1.Jorge LORENZOYamahaSPA140
2.Casey STONERHondaAUS115
3.Dani PEDROSAHondaSPA101
5.Andrea DOVIZIOSOYamahaITA60
6.Valentino ROSSIDucatiITA58
7.Alvaro BAUTISTAHondaSPA58
8.Stefan BRADLHondaGER51
9.Nicky HAYDENDucatiUSA49
10.Hector BARBERADucatiSPA37
11.Ben SPIESYamahaUSA35
17.Karel ABRAHAMDucatiCZE4
18.Colin EDWARDSSuterUSA4
19.Danilo PETRUCCIIodaITA4

Previous articleBudds Creek AMA Motocross | Results
Next article
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).