Silverstone Moto2: Friday Practice Results


2012 Moto2 Championship

It was Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró who topped the Moto2 combined timesheets of the first day at the Hertz British Grand Prix at Silverstone ahead of local riders Scott Redding and Bradley Smith.

The rain stayed away and the track was dry for the afternoon session in the intermediate class, during which all riders set their most competitive times. And it was towards the end of the day that a lap of 2.08’826 was enough for Espargaró to displace Marc VDS Racing Team’s Redding into second place.

Completing the top three was Tech 3 Racing’s Bradley Smith, who looked in good form in front of his home crowd, and will no doubt look to repeat his podium at the track from last year.

In fourth, Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez was unable to break into the top three, yet was only marginally off Smith. Fifth place went to JiR Moto2’s Frenchman Johann Zarco, who is now becoming somewhat of a regular in the top ten. NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis, who was just under a second off the pace, ousted Mapfre Aspar Team’s Toni Elías into seventh.

Italtrans Racing Team’s Claudio Corti set the eighth quickest time, and was followed by Speed Master’s compatriot and last race winner Andrea Iannone. Competing the top ten was Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi, the sole FTR rider in the top ten.

The only crasher in the afternoon session was Interwetten-Paddock’s championship leader Tom Lüthi, who fortunately walked away from the crash unscathed. In the morning however it was a different story, as track conditions were still very wet when practice began. Desguaces La Torre SAG’s Angel Rodriguez was caught out early on with a crash, followed shortly by GP Team Switzerland’s Randy Krummenacher. JiR Moto2’s debutant, 16-year-old Brazilian Eric Granado, also crashed out on his maiden run towards the end of the session, followed by Espargaró’s teammate Axel Pons.

2012 Silverstone Moto2 Free Practice 1 Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex252.92’23.503
2.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3251.72’23.7890.286 / 0.286
3.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR243.32’24.5891.086 / 0.800
4.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex252.02’24.6231.120 / 0.034
5.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex255.02’24.7311.228 / 0.108
6.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter254.42’25.1681.665 / 0.437
7.5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi250.62’25.5742.071 / 0.406
8.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter253.62’26.1492.646 / 0.575
9.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up255.32’26.5093.006 / 0.360
10..72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter251.32’26.5813.078 / 0.072
11.24Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter248.42’26.7813.278 / 0.200
12.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki244.12’27.0913.588 / 0.310
13.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter249.42’27.2223.719 / 0.131
14.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex248.72’27.2303.727 / 0.008
15.60Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter249.22’27.4693.966 / 0.239
16.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3243.62’27.7294.226 / 0.260
17.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter250.92’27.7884.285 / 0.059
18.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex244.62’28.4224.919 / 0.634
19.80Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex250.32’28.4414.938 / 0.019
20.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex249.22’28.4664.963 / 0.025
21.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter247.32’28.5035.000 / 0.037
22.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter249.42’29.1485.645 / 0.645
23.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter247.52’29.4545.951 / 0.306
24.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up250.52’29.7496.246 / 0.295
25.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR247.02’30.2746.771 / 0.525
26.7Alexander LUNDHSWECresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda244.42’31.4537.950 / 1.179
27.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter253.42’31.5708.067 / 0.117
28.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex250.02’31.6318.128 / 0.061
29.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex250.02’33.3639.860 / 1.732
82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki239.92’35.50211.999 / 2.139
10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR238.42’39.39715.894 / 3.895
47Angel RODRIGUEZSPADesguaces La Torre SAGBimota236.62’40.29716.794 / 0.900
57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi238.92’40.89517.392 / 0.598
22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAAndreozzi Reparto CorseFTR

2012 Silverstone Moto2 Free Practice 2 Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex261.42’08.826
2.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex252.22’09.3350.509 / 0.509
3.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3252.32’09.5330.707 / 0.198
4.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter255.52’09.5530.727 / 0.020
5.5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi252.32’09.7180.892 / 0.165
6.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter260.42’09.7940.968 / 0.076
7.24Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter256.92’10.0521.226 / 0.258
8.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex256.32’10.0851.259 / 0.033
9.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up263.02’10.0961.270 / 0.011
10.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR256.62’10.3431.517 / 0.247
11.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up260.92’10.6701.844 / 0.327
12.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter253.02’10.6821.856 / 0.012
13.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex256.02’10.7491.923 / 0.067
14.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex254.22’10.7891.963 / 0.040
15.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex256.72’10.8502.024 / 0.061
16.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter254.22’10.8952.069 / 0.045
17.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter257.82’10.9332.107 / 0.038
18.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex251.22’11.0242.198 / 0.091
19.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter254.82’11.0562.230 / 0.032
20.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter261.62’11.0942.268 / 0.038
21.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter256.02’11.1672.341 / 0.073
22.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR253.92’11.7932.967 / 0.626
23.47Angel RODRIGUEZSPADesguaces La Torre SAGBimota250.52’11.8823.056 / 0.089
24.80Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex256.82’12.0483.222 / 0.166
25.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex255.72’12.2383.412 / 0.190
26.60Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter253.22’12.4303.604 / 0.192
27.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter255.02’12.5623.736 / 0.132
28.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3247.02’13.3264.500 / 0.764
29.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki248.32’13.4634.637 / 0.137
30.22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAAndreozzi Reparto CorseFTR248.42’15.8817.055 / 2.418
31.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR247.82’15.9017.075 / 0.020
32.7Alexander LUNDHSWECresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda251.22’16.4047.578 / 0.503
33.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi248.92’16.4797.653 / 0.075
34.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki243.62’16.9738.147 / 0.494