Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Blazusiak Wins Sacramento EnduroCross

Blazusiak Wins Sacramento EnduroCross

2012-blazusiak-wins-sacramento-endurocross (1)

2012 AMA EnduroCross

Red Bull/KTM rider Taddy Blazusiak claimed his fist win of the 2012 AMA EnduroCross Series at the second round of the circuit held at Power Balance Pavilion, Sacramento, Calif..

In his heat race, from an inside gate, Blazusiak jumped out front quickly to take the holeshot. Blazusiak led all six laps of his heat race to easily transfer to the main event.

In the main event, Blazusiak was off to what seemed to be an undesirable start in eighth place before making substantial progress to pass into third by the second corner. Blazusiak battled with Destry Abbott for the next two laps before passing him on lap three to take over the runner-up position.

Blazusiak then set to work on the lead ride of Kevin Rookstool. Blazusiak was able to make a smooth pass to takeover the lead on lap four. From there, he began to stretch his lead for the remaining laps. At the conclusion of the race, Blazusiak crossed the finish over 10 seconds ahead of the 2nd place ride to claim his first victory of the season.

Now two rounds into the series, Blazusiak holds a 10 point lead in the series standings.

Taddy Blazusiak says: “I am very happy to win this race. I really liked the track and the racing was fun. I want to extend my thanks to the entire KTM crew. I am looking forward to working with them over the next few weeks to prepare for the Summer X-Games.”

The evening also included the support classes. The Open Amateur class, which was won by Bryan Roper ahead of Tucker Larrieu and Tyler Murray. Canada’s Stephen Foord won the Vet class over Tod Sciacqua and Eric Ducray. Dirt Rider magazine Associate Editor Chris Green, won the TrialsCross class ahead of Dustin McCarthy Ty Tremaine.

The Women’s class had 12 riders and KTM’s Louise Forsley won an exciting race over KTM’s Chantelle Bykerk who took the lead on the last lap but then got stuck in the Matrix just in front of the finish line. Factory FMF/KTM rider Maria Forsberg had the lead for a short time before a crash took her out but she rebounded to fight back to third.

Next Race: Summer X-Games: Los Angeles, CA – July 1, 2012

Sacramento AMA EnduroCross Pro Class Results:

  1. Taddy Blazusiak – KTM
  2. Taylor Robert – Kawasaki
  3. Kevin Rookstool – Honda
  4. Cory Graffunder -Husqvarna
  5. Mike Brown – KTM
  6. Bobby Garrison
  7. Cody Webb
  8. Gary Sutherlin
  9. Destry Abbott
  10. Colton Haaker
  11. Geoff Aaron

2012 AMA EnduroCross Pro Class Standings:

  1. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) – 51
  2. Colton Haaker – 41
  3. Taylor Robert – 41
  4. Kevin Rookstool – 33
  5. Cody Webb – 32
  6. Cory Graffunder – 32
  7. Mike Brown (KTM) – 31
  8. Justin Soule – 25
  9. Destry Abbott – 22
  10. Gary Sutherlin – 21

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...

2021 Moto Guzzi V9 Lineup First Look: Bobber and Roamer Updated

The  Moto Guzzi V9 lineup of the Bobber and Roamer gets a significant update for 2021. There’s a new motor powering the two V9s,...

Tirox SnapJack SS First Look: Motorcycle Chain Maintenance Aid

Although single-sided swingarms are designed to simplify maintenance, if the motorcycle doesn’t have a centerstand, it doesn’t make working on your drive chain any...