Motorcycle Racing News TT Zero: MotoCzysz's Rutter Breaks 100mph

TT Zero: MotoCzysz’s Rutter Breaks 100mph

2012 Isle of Man TT: Zero TT Results

Michael Rutter and Team Segway Racing MotoCzysz made history on the Isle of Man Wednesday by becoming the first team to record a 100mph lap of the course in the SES TT Zero race in what is being hailed as one of the greatest achievements in the event’s one hundred and five year history.

John McGuinness closely followed Rutter home on the Team Mugen Shinden machine with Michael Rutter’s MotoCzysz teammate Mark Miller taking the final podium slot, with all three breaking the prestigious 100mph mark, which was first achieved by a conventional bike by Scotsman Bob McIntyre in 1957.

After a series of weather delays and revisions to the running order, ten machines lined up for the 2012 SES TT Zero race at the Isle of Man TT Races. Damp patches were reported around the course following the earlier rain but nothing was going to prevent the Midlands man from his history-making lap.

Michael Rutter had the honour of carrying the number one plate and was the first away down Glencrutchery Road and quickly established a lead of over 30 seconds at the first checkpoint at Glen Helen from John McGuinness with Mark Miller a further 3 seconds back in third. Yoshinari Matsushita, representing Japanese outfit Komatti-Mirai Racing was running in fourth place with Rob Barber on the Austrian TGM IOT outfit completing the top five.

With Matsushita dropping out of the race before Ballaugh Bridge, Rob Barber moved up to fourth but at the front of the field Rutter continued to set the pace with an average speed of 118.730mph and a lead of almost a minute from second placed John McGuinness.

Miller was quickest through the speed trap at 132.6mph with John McGuinness at 128.8 and Michael Rutter 126.6, down on the 152mph he set in qualifying but Rutter continued to be on the pace for the ‘ton’ and reached Ramsey Hairpin in 12:53.24 (119.653mph).

The capacity grandstand waited anxiously for news and when Rutter’s time of 20:31.00 (107mph) was reported at Cronk-ny-mona the crowd rose as one in anticipation of witnessing history.

Rutter duly crossed the line in 21:45.33 (104.056mph) and wrote his name and that of MotoCzysz in the TT Races Record books. The final podium received added poignancy with both John McGuinness on the Team Mugen (22:08.85-102.215mph) and Mark Miller (22:23.97-101.065mph) joining Michael Rutter in breaking the 100mph+barrier.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Bring the Honda Solo to America: One More MiniMoto

We were poking through the archives, and this little gem re-caught our attention. The 2003 Honda Solo was part of Honda’s N Project. According...

2019 Honda CB500F Review: Enhance Your Motorcycle Passion

Perhaps I’m a bi-biker; my procrastination so far in my moto-life is whether I’m an urban chickadee or wannabe MotoGP racer. When I laid...

2021 Houston 2 Fantasy Supercross Tips (19 Fast Facts)

Looking at the results of the opening round of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series, I’m reminded of what futurist Jamais Cascio said,...

Team RB Freestyle Randie and Birdman Motorcycle Stunt Riders

Hello Rider Readers, It’s Randie Raige of Team RB Freestyle here! Come take an inside look at tandem stunt riding with me. That’s right, two...

2021 Aprilia Tuono V4 Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The Aprilia Tuono V4 has earned a reputation for being an uncompromisingly high-performance upright sportbike. Note that we didn’t say naked, as it has...

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....