2012 Catalunya Moto2 | Results


2012 Moto2 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto2 results from Catalunya, Spain, listed below

At the Gran Premi Aperol de Catalunya it was Andrea Iannone who took his first victory of the season in a thrilling Moto2 race ahead of Tom Lüthi and Marc Márquez.

Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Márquez took the holeshot, as an almighty scrap for second place ensued behind. Turn one already saw S/Master Speed Up’s Mike di Meglio, Blusens Avintia’s Julián Simón, Federal Oil Gresini’s Gino Rea and Italtrans Racing’s Claudio Corti involved in a crash, with only Corti making it back out on track. None of the riders were hurt.

Márquez’s good jump from the line was short lived as Speed Master’s Iannone took advantage of the Spaniard running wide. He led the initial stages from Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter and Mapfre Aspar Team’s Toni Elías, in front of Márquez and Interwetten-Paddock’s Lüthi. Elías soon took second with a bold move, though was immediately taken by Márquez, who hunted down Iannone.

With 18 laps to go, Lüthi had made it into third, and a group with Iannone, Márquez and the Swiss rider soon started pulling out a led. On the same lap, Technomag-CIP’s Roberto Rolfo received a ride through penalty after a jump-start.

The scrap at the front was getting fierce with 18 laps left as Márquez passed Iannone down the straight, though the Italian stuck to the Spaniards rear wheel and took him back two laps later. Lüthi took advantage of this and put in a brave move on Márquez to take second. The scrap did however let Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s championship leader Pol Espargaró catch up to the back, making it a four way battle 11 laps from the end.

One lap later, Márquez retook Lüthi on the home straight to hunt down the Italian at the front. The pursuing group was being led by Espargaró’s teammate Esteve Rabat ahead of Aegerter, Elías, Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi and the Marc VDS Racing Team pair of Scott Redding and Mika Kallio.

Back at the front with nine laps to go Márquez got past Iannone on the straight, yet the Italian fought straight back and re-took him three corners later. Yet with seven laps to go Iannone ran wide, letting the Spaniard through once more. This was again short lived as the Italian fought back and re-took the lead. On the same lap, Elías crashed out of sixth place, yet walked away unscathed.

With five laps left, Espargaró started his charge through the pack, as he went past Lüthi to take third. However, with three laps remaining Lüthi overtook the local down the strait, as the four at the front were involved in an engrossing battle at the front.

With three laps left there was huge drama for the home crowd, as Lüthi went past Márquez, who subsequently almost lost the front of his bike. As he saved a near crash, he pulled back in front of Espargaró who was thrown off his bike in a violent fashion. He fortunately escaped any serious injury, though was visibly upset at loosing out in front of his home fans.

The last lap was equally as tense, as Lüthi, who had passed Iannone for the lead, was re-taken by the Italian in a brave move into turn one. The pair tussled fairing-to-fairing in the last lap, yet it was Iannone who held his nerve to take the win ahead of the Swiss rider and Marc Márquez. The top ten were completed by Esteve Rabat, Simone Corsi, Italtrans’ Takaaki Nakagami, Dominique Aegerter, GP Team Switzerland’s Randy Krummenacher, Mika Kallio and Scott Redding.

The crash involving Espargaró and Márquez was subsequently investigated by Race Direction, which issued Márquez with 60-second penalty, relegating him to 23th spot. His team however appealed the penalty with the FIM Stewards, who did not confirm the decision, meaning it was consequently overturned. This leaves Márquez in second place in the championship, two points behind Lüthi. Protocol dictates that an appeal may be lodged with the FIM CDI.

2012 Catalunya Moto2 Results:

1.2529Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up158.041’16.852
2.2012Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter158.0+0.083
3.1693Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter157.9+1.137
4.1380Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex157.2+12.516
5.113Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR157.1+14.226
6.1030Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex157.1+15.072
7.977Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter157.0+16.255
8.84Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex157.0+16.354
9.736Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex157.0+16.606
10.645Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex157.0+16.793
11.55Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi156.9+17.298
12.438Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3156.6+22.242
13.371Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex156.5+23.763
14.215Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter156.5+24.069
15.118Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter156.3+27.039
16.81Jordi TORRESSPATech 3 RacingTech 3156.0+32.158
17.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex155.9+34.389
18.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter155.8+35.387
19.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR155.8+35.501
20.47Angel RODRIGUEZSPADesguaces La Torre SAGBimota155.8+35.623
21.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter155.8+35.803
22.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex155.7+36.903
23.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki154.7+52.636
24.7Alexander LUNDHSWECresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda153.3+1’16.309
25.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR153.2+1’18.573
26.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki152.2+1’35.551
Not Classified
40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex158.03 Laps
44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter152.63 Laps
24Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter150.64 Laps
60Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter0 Lap
8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter0 Lap
63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up0 Lap