Dainese Superbike TT: McGuinness Starts 1st


2012 Isle of Man TT: Dainese Superbike TT Qualifying Results

The 2012 Isle of Man TT races get underway Saturday with the first solo race, the Dainese Superbike TT.

And after posting a 1:30.079 lap around the 37.733-mile Mountain Course during the week’s qualifying that was cut short, 17-time Isle of Man TT winner John McGuinness will start from the first spot on the grid of the six-lap Dainese TT.

The week began fast for McGuiness, who set the fastest laps in dry and sunny conditions in the first three sessions. By Wednesday, the “Morecambe Missile” broke the 130mph barrier with a 130.079 lap that remained the fastest of the week.

Thursday’s superbike practice was cut short due to sea mist, and Friday’s practice cancelled after an oil spill at Barregarrow.

John McGuinness (Honda TT Legends CBR1000RR Fireblade) says: “We hit the ground running this week. We went out there on the first night when the conditions were great and we just got stuck in. I didn’t feel like I was sticking my neck out, I was just hitting all the apexes and cruising around feeling really relaxed.

“I was hitting 128s, 129s, 130s so we’re definitely in the ball park. It’s not going to be easy but I’m ready to race and I’m well up for it. I’m starting number one so it’s just down to me, the stop watch and the track and hopefully we can stand in the winner’s enclosure.”

McGuinness will be back on the IOM TT circuit Saturday morning for the Dainese Superbike TT, which begins at 11 a.m. local time.

2012 Dainese Superbike TT Starting Grid (June 2, 2012):

  1. John McGuinness
  2. Ryan Farquhar
  3. Guy Martin
  4. Cameron Donald
  5. Bruce Anstey
  6. Ian Hutchinson
  7. Gary Johnson
  8. Adrian Archibald
  9. Michael Dunlop
  10. Conor Cummins (Withdraw)
  11. Dan Stewart
  12. Michael Rutter
  13. James Hillier
  14. Ian Lougher
  15. William Dunlop
  16. Dan Kneen
  17. Simon Andrews
  18. Mark Miller
  19. Davy Morgan
  20. Steve Mercer
  21. David Johnson
  22. Ian Mackman
  23. Stefano Bonetti
  24. Dean Harrison
  25. Luis Carreira
  26. Ben Wylie
  27. Stephen Thompson
  28. Daniel Cooper
  29. Brian McCormack
  30. John Burrows
  31. Ian Patterson
  32. Daniel Hegarty
  33. Alessio Corradi
  34. Grant Wagstaff
  35. Rob Barber
  36. Shaun Anderson
  37. Robert Wilson
  38. Roger Maher
  39. Dave Hewson
  40. Jimmy Storrar
  41. Karl Harris
  42. Paul Shoesmith
  43. Russ Mountford
  44. Antonio Maeso
  45. Olie Linsdell
  46. Jamie Hamilton
  47. Paul Owen
  48. Scott Wilson
  49. Alan Connor
  50. Jules Croft
  51. Lee Johnston
  52. Mark Parrett
  53. Fabrice Miguet
  54. Steve Heneghan
  55. Gary Carswell
  56. Rico Penzkofer
  57. Michael Niblett
  58. George Spence
  59. Brandon Cretu
  60. Simon Fulton
  61. James McCullagh
  62. Ryan McCay
  63. William Davison
  64. Paul Duckett
  65. Graham English
  66. Yoshinari Matsushita
  67. James Hurrell
  68. John Ingram
  69. Daniel Jansen
  70. Maria Costello, MBE
  71. Dave Madsen-Mygdal

Previous articleRoad Atlanta AMA | Friday Results
Next article2012 Headbanger Summertime | Review
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).