2012 Le Mans Moto3 | Results


In the Moto3 race of the Monster Energy Grand Prix de France in Le Mans, it was Frenchman Louis Rossi who kept his nerve to take his first ever win in treacherous conditions in front of his home crowd.

In a race that started in extremely wet conditions, it was Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales who got away best, with AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin also making a tremendous start from 10th into second. JHK T-Shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez, who was second on the grid, suffered mechanical issues on the out-lap and was unable to start the race.

There were crashes early on as RW Racing GP’s Brad Binder took out TT Motion Events Racing’s Niklas Ajo, which was followed up shortly after with IodaRacing Project’s Jonas Folger and local rider, Caretta Technology’s Alexis Masbou, sliding off into the gravel.

Back at the front it was Bankia Aspar Team’s Héctor Faubel and RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom that went into the lead, as Viñales dropped off the pace slightly. However the conditions continued to take their toll, as Team Italia FMI’s Romano Fenati suffered a similar fate to last race as he also lost control of his bike, putting an end to his first French race. Technomag-CIP-TSR’s Kenta Fujii repeated his morning warm-up crash, rounding out a less than ideal day for the Japanese rider.

With 18 laps to go, a five-some of Faubel, Salom, Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Jakub Kornfeil, Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Miguel Oliveira and Viñales were involved in an entertaining battle for podium positions. In the following laps, further casualties of the weather were Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Danny Kent, Mahindra Racing’s Danny Webb, Ambrogio Next Racing’s Simone Grotzkyj and Caretta Technology’s Jack Miller, while Fenati’s teammate Alessandro Tonucci had to retire to the pits with a mechanical problem.

With 11 laps to go there was drama at the front as Faubel crashed out of first position, with Kornfeil crashing out of third a few seconds later, handing the first three places to Oliveira, Viñales and Rossi. Half a lap later, Salom followed suit as he slid off into the gravel in ever worsening conditions.

As a thrilling fight for fourth ensued between Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Sandro Cortese and Khairuddin, there was further turmoil at the front, as the surging Oliveira crashed out of the lead, handing the reigns to Viñales, who was being hunted down by Rossi.

This lasted for a lap only, as Viñales threw himself of his bike in the final corner, followed shortly by Khairuddin. The Malaysian managed to keep his bike going, while the race was over for the Spaniard. This left Frenchman Rossi in the lead by over 20 seconds, much to the delight of the home crowd, with Cortese and Bankia Aspar’s Alberto Moncayo in podium positions. Three laps before the end Cortese lost the front going into the first chicane, yet managed to keep the bike going to re-join in sixth, with Oliveira’s teammate Alex Rins slipping into third with San Carlo Gresini Moto3’s Niccolo Antonelli on his tail.

In the end it was Rossi who made the Le Mans grandstands cheer with delight as he took his first ever victory by a margin of 28 seconds in front of Moncayo and Rins. Antonelli could not quite challenge for the podium finishing fourth, in front of Red Bull KTM Ajo duo of Arthur Sissis and Cortese and Moto FGR’s Jasper Iwema.

2012 Le Mans Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 122.5 49’12.390
2. 20 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Bankia Aspar Team Kalex KTM 121.3 +27.348
3. 16 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 121.3 +28.899
4. 13 27 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA San Carlo Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 121.1 +33.195
5. 11 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 121.0 +36.989
6. 10 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 120.6 +45.312
7. 9 53 Jasper IWEMA NED Moto FGR FGR Honda 120.1 +58.645
8. 8 89 Alan TECHER FRA Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 119.8 +1’05.022
9. 7 21 Ivan MORENO SPA Andalucia JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 119.7 +1’09.194
10. 6 30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 118.2 +1’45.751
11. 5 94 Jonas FOLGER GER IodaRacing Project Ioda 116.0 1 Lap
12. 4 77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing Mahindra 115.1 1 Lap
13. 3 86 Kevin HANUS GER Thomas Sabo GP Team Honda 114.0 1 Lap
14. 2 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 109.6 2 Laps
15. 1 31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing KTM 100.6 4 Laps
Not Classified
63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 121.4 7 Laps
25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 122.8 8 Laps
44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 122.8 9 Laps
39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 122.3 11 Laps
55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Bankia Aspar Team Kalex KTM 122.6 12 Laps
84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 122.6 12 Laps
32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 119.1 12 Laps
26 Adrian MARTIN SPA JHK T-Shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 119.7 16 Laps
8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology Honda 107.4 16 Laps
15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 120.2 17 Laps
99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 101.9 17 Laps
52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 119.4 19 Laps
5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 113.6 22 Laps
10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology Honda 113.3 23 Laps
51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 108.8 23 Laps
Not Starting
41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 0 Lap
3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 0 Lap
7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK T-Shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 0 Lap

2012 Moto3 Championship Point Standings (After four of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Sandro CORTESE KTM GER 67
2. Maverick VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 55
3. Luis SALOM Kalex KTM SPA 49
4. Romano FENATI FTR Honda ITA 45
5. Alex RINS Suter Honda SPA 44
6. Alberto MONCAYO Kalex KTM SPA 33
7. Louis ROSSI FTR Honda FRA 32
8. Niccolò ANTONELLI FTR Honda ITA 31
10. Arthur SISSIS KTM AUS 23
11. Alexis MASBOU Honda FRA 18
12. Danny KENT KTM GBR 16
13. Alan TECHER TSR Honda FRA 15
14. Hector FAUBEL Kalex KTM SPA 15
15. Efren VAZQUEZ FTR Honda SPA 11
16. Miguel OLIVEIRA Suter Honda POR 11
17. Ivan MORENO FTR Honda SPA 10
18. Jasper IWEMA FGR Honda NED 9
19. Giulian PEDONE Suter Honda SWI 7
20. Jakub KORNFEIL FTR Honda CZE 7
21. Alessandro TONUCCI FTR Honda ITA 7
22. Jonas FOLGER Ioda GER 5
23. Brad BINDER Kalex KTM RSA 5
24. Alex MARQUEZ Suter Honda SPA 5
25. Marcel SCHROTTER Mahindra GER 4
26. Niklas AJO KTM FIN 4
27. Kevin HANUS Honda GER 3